It is currently September 24th, 2024, 10:16 am

MSI Afterburner skins broken

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
spaceytoast
Posts: 2
Joined: March 15th, 2022, 7:51 pm

MSI Afterburner skins broken

Post by spaceytoast »

Hi,
I've been using mii system 2 (modified) skin for a while and have noticed recently it doesn't work...

I have read this thread:
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=40034

And it didn't solve my problem - strangely it still shows the GPU name and load % but the temperature, framerate, fan etc are all nulled.
I've tried other skins that use afterburner and they don't work either.

I think it started after I updated afterburner/rivatuner

Rainmeter 4.5.12.3616 (64-bit)
Build time: 2022-03-02 7:13:16
Windows 10 Education 2009 64-bit (build 19042)

Any ideas would be much appreciated,
thanks in advance
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Active Colors
Moderator
Posts: 1315
Joined: February 16th, 2012, 3:32 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: MSI Afterburner skins broken

Post by Active Colors »

So, if you install the previous version, does it work again?
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8217
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: MSI Afterburner skins broken

Post by Yincognito »

spaceytoast wrote: March 15th, 2022, 7:58 pm Hi,
I've been using mii system 2 (modified) skin for a while and have noticed recently it doesn't work...

I have read this thread:
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=40034

And it didn't solve my problem - strangely it still shows the GPU name and load % but the temperature, framerate, fan etc are all nulled.
I've tried other skins that use afterburner and they don't work either.

I think it started after I updated afterburner/rivatuner

Rainmeter 4.5.12.3616 (64-bit)
Build time: 2022-03-02 7:13:16
Windows 10 Education 2009 64-bit (build 19042)

Any ideas would be much appreciated,
thanks in advance
Posting the incriminated code would help. The original version of that skin by abu46 doesn't work for me either in the case of GPU temperature, until I change:

Code: Select all

DataSource=GPU temperature
to:

Code: Select all

GPU=0
SourceId=0
I think the issues are related to either the code, the settings or some unsupported device - don't think they are "broken" since mine still works for the newest version of MSIAB (bar the fans which are not supported for my laptop). Are you sure you monitor the desired data in MSIAB?
MSIAB Monitoring.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
spaceytoast
Posts: 2
Joined: March 15th, 2022, 7:51 pm

Re: MSI Afterburner skins broken

Post by spaceytoast »

Sorry for the super late reply!
So this is the code in question:
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
Group=SystemSK

[Metadata]
Author=deXxterlab97
Version=2.2
Information=Originally created by abu46. Remodified to suits my needs better.
License=Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 3.0

[Variables]
@include=#@#Variables.inc
TempSize=42
GPU=0

[MeasureGPULoad]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
SourceID=48
GPU=#GPU#
MaxValue=100
MinValue=0

[MeasureGPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
SourceID=0
GPU=#GPU#
MaxValue=100
MinValue=0

[MeasureGPUFanSpeed]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
SourceID=16
GPU=#GPU#
MaxValue=100
MinValue=0

[MeasureGPUCore]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
SourceID=32
GPU=#GPU#

[MeasureGPUMem]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
SourceID=34
GPU=#GPU#

[MeasureGPUName]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
GPU=#GPU#
GPUDescriptor=DisplayName

[MeasureFramerate]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
DataSource=Framerate
GPU=#GPU#
MinValue=0
MaxValue=200

[MeasureVRam]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
SourceID=49
GPU=#GPU#

[MeasureVoltage]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
SourceID=64
GPU=#GPU#
MinValue=0
MaxValue=2

[Bar Background]
Meter=Image
X=100
Y=25
H=3
W=270
SolidColor=#BackBarColor#

[MeterBar]
Meter=BAR
MeasureName=MeasureGPULoad
X=100
Y=25
H=3
W=270
BarColor=#BarColor#
BarOrientation=Horizontal

[GPUName]
MeasureName=MeasureGPUName
Meter=STRING
ToolTipText=%1
X=100
Y=0
H=24
W=215
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#FontSize#
AntiAlias=1
StringCase=Upper
StringAlign=left
ClipString=1
SolidColor=0,0,0,1

[MeterGPULoad]
MeasureName=MeasureGPULoad
Meter=STRING
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#FontSize#
AntiAlias=1
StringAlign=right
MinValue=0
MaxValue=100
Postfix="%"
X=363
Y=0
Percentual=1
ToolTipText="Overall load"
SolidColor=0,0,0,1

[MeasureFan]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
DataSource=Fan speed
MinValue=0
MaxValue=100

[MeterGPUTemp]
MeasureName=MeasureGPUTemp
Meter=String
X=100
Y=19
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#TempSize#
AntiAlias=1
StringAlign=Right
Text="%1°"
Percentual=0
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
ToolTipText="Current temp"

[MeterGPUFrameRate]
MeasureName=MeasureFramerate
Meter=STRING
X=0r
Y=13r
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#FontSize#
AntiAlias=1
StringAlign=Left
Text="Framerate: %1"
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
ToolTipText="Framerate of current window"

[MeterGPUFan]
MeasureName=MeasureFan
Meter=STRING
X=130r
Y=0r
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#FontSize#
AntiAlias=1
StringAlign=Left
Text="Fan: %1%"
Percentual=1
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
ToolTipText="Fan speed"

[MeterGPUCore]
MeasureName=MeasureGPUCore
Meter=String
X=-130r
Y=23r
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#FontSize#
AntiAlias=1
Text="Core: %1 MHz"
Percentual=0
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
ToolTipText="Core clock"

[MeterGPUVoltage]
MeasureName=MeasureVoltage
Meter=String
X=130r
Y=0r
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#FontSize#
AntiAlias=1
Text="Vcore: %1 v"
NumOfDecimals=3
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
ToolTipText="Core voltage"

[MeterGPUMem]
MeasureName=MeasureGPUMem
Meter=String
X=-130r
Y=23r
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#FontSize#
AntiAlias=1
Text="Mem: %1 MHz"
Percentual=0
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
ToolTipText="Memory clock"

[MeterGPUVRam]
MeasureName=MeasureVRam
Meter=String
X=130r
Y=0r
FontFace=#FontName#
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontSize=#FontSize#
AntiAlias=1
Text="VRAM: %1 MB"
Percentual=0
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
ToolTipText="Video RAM"
In afterurner I seem to not have the option for GPU temperature or core clock, so perhaps my graphics card (RX Vega) isn't fully supported?
I definately remember it working before - perhaps I will try rolling back the driver.
Thank you for your help, you've given me a new direction to look in!
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8217
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: MSI Afterburner skins broken

Post by Yincognito »

spaceytoast wrote: March 28th, 2022, 5:23 pm Sorry for the super late reply!
So this is the code in question:
[...]
In afterurner I seem to not have the option for GPU temperature or core clock, so perhaps my graphics card (RX Vega) isn't fully supported?
I definately remember it working before - perhaps I will try rolling back the driver.
Thank you for your help, you've given me a new direction to look in!
Although the code you posted (by the way, you can use the </> button at the top to post code, instead of placing it in a spoiler) misses some additional files holding other variables and such, it was enough to see that it works for me:
MSIAB.jpg
Yep, it might be that your card / driver isn't fully supported, especially if it worked before and you upgraded your computer / driver recently (I was lucky to have my components fully supported when I upgraded mine last year). If it's about the card and not the driver, you can ask (nicely, since the developer is quick to get annoyed given his workload, but otherwise a nice and helpful guy) on their forums how to solve this, or when / if your card will be supported. They made some improvements to support the newest hardware lately, and it's a work in progress.

If you clearly remember it working before, with the same card, it means the problem is on your end and doesn't worth bothering to ask stuff about the card there. For example, like here.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth