It is currently December 9th, 2021, 3:22 am

S I G M A Suite

A package of skins with a "theme" or by a single author
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4499
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

S I G M A Suite

Post by eclectic-tech »

S I G M A Suite
sigma11.png
S I G M A Suite_1.2021.12.02.rmskin
Latest version: 1.2021.12.02
Skins:
  • Sigma Bar
  • Weather Details (Today & Tomorrow)
  • Media Player (NowPlaying & WebNowPlaying)
  • CPU (All with 1, 4, 8, or 16 core lines & Top Process Tooltip)
  • Net (Current Up/Dn and Cumulative Tooltip, Reset Stats)
  • Analogue Clock (Sweep seconds hand c/o JSMorley)
  • Small, Medium, & Large Analog Clocks with Time, Date, & Uptime Tooltip
  • Rainmeter Forum RSS
  • Rainmeter Forum RSS Marquee (Modified scroll code by Yincognito)
  • BBC International News RSS
  • BBC International News RSS Marquee
  • Marquee Template
  • Reader Template
  • Motivational Quotes
  • Pithy Quotes (based on JSMorley 's work)
  • Sigma Logo
  • ResyncWallpaper
  • ResyncAutomatic
Sigma Bar:
  • Clock (with Multiple Formats)
  • Date (with Multiple Formats)
  • Weather (Fahrenheit, Celsius, Hybrid)
  • Media (NowPlaying and WebNowPlaying)
  • Search (Google, Bing, DuckDuckGo)
and Links to:
  • Documents
  • Downloads
  • Pictures
  • Music
  • Videos
  • This PC
  • Internet
  • and All Your Apps
sigma18.png
A while ago, I posted an alternate blur method versus the Frosted Glass plugin blur which can cause lag on some systems.

Today I am posting a suite based on the MagickMeter plugin by Khanhas that can blurs backgrounds but also add effects such as shadows and transparent text. You need to follow the instructions on his page to install ImageMagick.

Helpful Use Info:
When first loaded, the Sigma skin will activate the ResyncWallpaper config. That will display a resync message for 10 seconds, then minimize all open windows, hide all skins, and take a screenshot of your desktop for use by all the other skins.
The Sigma Bar and Sigma Logo skin will then be displayed. After 10 seconds, the Sigma Logo skin will deactivate.
I added an AutoIt3 script (@Resources\Scripts\ToggleDesktop.exe) to toggle open windows for a screenshot. It simply simulates "Win+D" key press.
To manually restore all minimized windows press "Win+D" key combination.
Or right-click Window's task bar and select 'Show open windows'.

Two major reasons for using the MagickMeter plugin instead of the Frosted Glass plugin (besides the lag issue) are the ability to control the amount of blur (called 'sigma'). Secondly this also lets you create text that has the desktop visible through it.
You can see these completely transparent letters used in several skins: Sigma Logo and the Quote skins.
sigma19.png
When the skin detects a change in the accent color, it will activate the ResyncAutomatic config.
This config will not display anything on your screen, but it WILL minimize all open windows, hide all skins, take a new screenshot, show all skins, unminimize all open windows (simulates "Win+D" key press).

If the color change is not detected, you can manually initial a resync from any skin's context menu; right-click a skin, select 'Custom skin actions', and select 'Resync desktop wallpaper'.

The context menu (right-click any Sigma skin) has options to control the appearance: blur level, text style, edge shadow, etc. It also gives access to the variables file if you want to manually edit settings.

Note: There is a delays built into the re-sync skins which gives time to 'clear' the desktop for a screenshot and refresh all skins. You may need to adjust those in the resync skins if windows consistently are not minimized; currently it is 8 seconds.

If you experience any issues please post a comment in this thread. Thanks and Enjoy!

Credits:
MagickMeter plugin by Khanhas
Chameleon plugin by Socks the Fox
SysColor plugin by Brian
WebNowPlaying by tjhrulz
Sweep-seconds clock by JSMorley
Pithy Quotes by JSMorley & Smurfier
ImageMagick for Windows
AutoIt3
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
death.crafter
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1208
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by death.crafter »

So... How may we be of help?
:rofl: :rolmfao:
from the Realm of Death
User avatar
death.crafter
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1208
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by death.crafter »

from the Realm of Death
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4499
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by eclectic-tech »

death.crafter wrote: November 13th, 2021, 7:06 pm But, I would just grab the wallpaper path and use that...

https://www.winhelponline.com/blog/find-current-wallpaper-file-path-windows-10/#registry
That is a transcoded image which I have never been able to use :confused:

Will that image reflect the aspects applied to wallpapers by end user; Fit, Fill, Tile, etc.?

If there is a better way to get a n exact copy of the desktop, I'm interested in ideas.
User avatar
death.crafter
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1208
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by death.crafter »

eclectic-tech wrote: November 13th, 2021, 7:13 pm That is a transcoded image which I have never been able to use :confused:

Will that image reflect the aspects applied to wallpapers by end user; Fit, Fill, Tile, etc.?

If there is a better way to get a n exact copy of the desktop, I'm interested in ideas.
Transcoded images are usually resized by windows to fit your desktop. Also there are other ways like themes folder and stuff. My idea is trying then all before getting to extremities.

For example:
Split-Path (Get-ItemProperty -Path 'HKCU:\Control Panel\Desktop' -Name Wallpaper).Wallpaper -Leaf

Grabbed from: https://www.reddit.com/r/PowerShell/comments/2iftae/how_do_i_get_file_name_of_the_current_wallpapers/
from the Realm of Death
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 13533
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by balala »

Maybe I am missing something and sorry if I do, but shouldn't this post go to Suites section of Share Your Creations?
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1678
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by SilverAzide »

death.crafter wrote: November 13th, 2021, 7:17 pm Transcoded images are usually resized by windows to fit your desktop. Also there are other ways like themes folder and stuff. My idea is trying then all before getting to extremities.

For example:
Split-Path (Get-ItemProperty -Path 'HKCU:\Control Panel\Desktop' -Name Wallpaper).Wallpaper -Leaf

Grabbed from: https://www.reddit.com/r/PowerShell/comments/2iftae/how_do_i_get_file_name_of_the_current_wallpapers/
Eclectic-Tech is right, that image path stored in the registry is just the path to the original file, so it is useless. ET is looking to get the wallpaper image after it is cropped/filled/tweaked by Windows.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4499
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by eclectic-tech »

balala wrote: November 13th, 2021, 7:28 pm Maybe I am missing something and sorry if I do, but shouldn't this post go to Suites section of Share Your Creations?
It will eventually... I wanted to throw it here and let you guys beat it up and try to break it or make it better. :D
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4499
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by eclectic-tech »

eclectic-tech wrote: November 13th, 2021, 8:10 pm It will eventually... I wanted to throw it here and let you guys beat it up and try to break it or make it better. :D
Somebody's making moves! ;-)

Okay, I initially starting this in the 'Help' section with the thought of letting people try it out and see how it worked on different setups...
but after adding all the info, you are right, it should be here in 'Share'.

So give it a try and let me know if there ae any issues. I tried to make it as user friendly as possible.

The thing that I would be interested in is a way to restore all minimized windows after capturing the screen shot. I understand the aversion to having skins send keys, and Nircmd is too bulking for my liking, so if anyone knows how this might be done, it would eliminate the end user from having to undo the minimize all action.

Thanks in advance for any ideas. :welcome:
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 13533
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: S I G M A Suite

Post by balala »

eclectic-tech wrote: November 13th, 2021, 8:10 pm It will eventually... I wanted to throw it here and let you guys beat it up and try to break it or make it better. :D
Yeah, I see in meantime you (probably) have moved it.