It is currently December 3rd, 2022, 4:05 pm

SysColor plugin 2.0.0

Plugins and Addons popular with the Community
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2535
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

SysColor plugin 2.0.0

Post by Brian »

SysColor plugin
Version 2.0
Image

This is a simple plugin to get some of the current system colors from Windows, like the current Accent color.

Options include:
  • Hex - When Hex=1, color output is in hex form. Otherwise, the color output is comma-separated. Hex=0 is default.
  • DisplayType - This option will format the color space to an individual channel. Options include: Red, Green, Blue, Alpha, All (default), and RGB (same as "All", but minus the alpha channel).
  • ColorType - Type of color to retrieve from the system. Valid values include: Accent, WIN8, Aero, Desktop, Menu, Window, ButtonFace, TooltipBackground, and more. You can also get the "raw" DWM values.
When using ColorType=WIN8, I recommend DisplayType=RGB.

Note: For modern versions of Windows (10 or 11), the only real reliable color is ColorType=Accent, although in my testing the ColorType=WIN8 color (without the alpha channel) is still used to draw the border of windows in most cases.

Image
Image

-Brian
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: SysColor plugin

Post by dragonmage »

So this should not work on XP?
User avatar
moshi
Posts: 1740
Joined: November 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Re: SysColor plugin

Post by moshi »

quite the contrary. this should work best on XP.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4884
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: SysColor plugin

Post by eclectic-tech »

moshi wrote:quite the contrary. this should work best on XP.
Here's what I get...(?)

Just a white square box, with an invisible action in the lower left corner...
Changed appearance settings, but never got anything but this...

I need help again Brian ;-)

Running: XP SP3 / 1.5G RAM / Rainmeter 2.5.0.1706
(Running virus scan, that's why CPU @ 100...)
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2535
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: SysColor plugin

Post by Brian »

Sorry, I made a mistake with with supporting windows XP (thanks poiru!). Should be fixed now.

http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=14202&p=80787#p80787

Also, for XP users, my test skin uses the "Aero" color type for its background, so you may have to edit it.

-Brian
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4884
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: SysColor plugin

Post by eclectic-tech »

Works great on XP... WOW! Thanks for this plugin, Brian!

Being able to match skins to user settings should be great addition!
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2535
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: SysColor plugin

Post by Brian »

Glad it works!

-Brian
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: SysColor plugin

Post by dragonmage »

This will be really handy for alternate shell users on XP. Rainmeter can now auto adjust colors when changing themes.
Unight
Posts: 19
Joined: November 20th, 2012, 5:12 am

Re: SysColor plugin

Post by Unight »

Thanks!It's useful.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2535
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: SysColor plugin 1.0.2

Post by Brian »

Updated to version 1.0.2 to fix a bug when using ColorType=Aero across multiple skins. :D

http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=80787#p80787

-Brian