It is currently October 26th, 2021, 5:59 pm

Specific Windows version, build and bit

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
KT Administrator
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2021, 6:50 am

Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by KT Administrator »

Hi all

I am in the process of making a skin for my work so that the support can quickly see which Windows version, buildversion and bitversion the users have.

I made the following code, but it will not show which version of Windows you have. It onlu show buildversion.

Code: Select all

####################
#-- Operating System--#
####################
[MeasureVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=ProductName
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureWindowsVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=CurrentBuild
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureOsBits]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SysInfo
SysInfoType=OS_BITS
SysInfoData=1
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterOS]
Meter=String
MesaureName=MeasureVersion
MeasureName=MeasureWindowsVersion
MeasureName2=MeasureOsBits
Y=77
X=140
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
Text="%1 %2-bit"

[MeterLabelOS]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleLeftTextBold
Y=77
X=0
Text="Operating system"
Is there anyone who can help / guide me with the correct code? :)

Thanks.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22374
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by jsmorley »

I use this:

Code: Select all

[MeasureProductName]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=ProductName
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureDisplayVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=DisplayVersion
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureCurrentBuild]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=CurrentBuild
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureUBR]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=UBR
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureWinBits]
Measure=String
String=%ProgramFiles(x86)%
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.+)$":"64","^$":"32"
UpdateDivider=-1


1.png

2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
KT Administrator
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2021, 6:50 am

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by KT Administrator »

Hi jsmorley

Thanks for your reply.

Unfortunaetely I can not make it work - or yes, I can see the Measure under "About Rainmeter > Skins" but unfortunately I can not get it to display correctly. Do you have a possible solution?

Please see attached images.

#Edit: I am running Rainmeter 4.3.1.3321 (64-bit)

Code: Select all

###################
#-- Operatingsystem--#
###################

#New
[MeasureProductName]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=ProductName
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureDisplayVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=DisplayVersion
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureCurrentBuild]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=CurrentBuild
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureUBR]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=UBR
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureWinBits]
Measure=String
String=%ProgramFiles(x86)%
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.+)$":"64","^$":"32"
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterOS]
Meter=String
MesaureName=MeasureProductName
MeasureName2=MeasureDisplayVersion
MeasureName3=MeasureCurrentBuild
MesaureName4=MeasureUBR
MesaureName5=MeasureWinBits
Y=77
X=140
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
Text="%1 %2 %3 %4 %5"

[MeterLabelOS]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleLeftTextBold
Y=77
X=0
Text="Operatingsystem"
#--
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22374
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by jsmorley »

You just need to spell MeasureName correctly in the meter.

Code: Select all

[MeterOS]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureProductName
MeasureName2=MeasureDisplayVersion
MeasureName3=MeasureCurrentBuild
MeasureName4=MeasureUBR
MeasureName5=MeasureWinBits
Y=77
X=140
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
Text=%1 %2 %3 %4 %5
KT Administrator
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2021, 6:50 am

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by KT Administrator »

Hi jsmoryley

No, how tiring! I'm so sorry about that. :Whistle

With the change it seems to be working flawlessly, thanks! :)

Take care and thanks for your help. :bow:

Note! If there is anyone else who would like the finished code (with some mod), then it is here: :great:

Code: Select all

###################
#-- Operatingsystem --#
###################

#New
[MeasureProductName]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=ProductName
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureDisplayVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=DisplayVersion
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureCurrentBuild]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=CurrentBuild
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureWinBits]
Measure=String
String=%ProgramFiles(x86)%
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.+)$":"64","^$":"32"
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterOS]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureProductName
MeasureName2=MeasureDisplayVersion
MeasureName3=MeasureCurrentBuild
MeasureName4=MeasureWinBits
Y=77
X=140
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
Text="%1 %2 %3 %4-bit"

[MeterLabelOS]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleLeftTextBold
Y=77
X=0
Text="Operatingsystem"
#--
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22374
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by jsmorley »

Glad to help. One thing I would recommend is that you consider getting Notepad++ as a text editor, and install the RainLexer addon that will color-code Rainmeter syntax. That will really help to have typos in a lot of things (which are inevitable) jump out at you.

https://notepad-plus-plus.org/
RainLexer


1.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
KT Administrator
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2021, 6:50 am

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by KT Administrator »

Hi jsmorley (and others)

I have to write again because I have now received information that there must be an info button one can click on to get all the information - so the information about computer, IP-adress and etc. are "hidden".

Does this mean that I have to make a skin or do you think I can use some skin that comes with when installing Rainmeter?

Thanks.

Best regards.
User avatar
David8192
Posts: 50
Joined: July 8th, 2021, 11:30 pm
Location: The King's Avenue, Golden Kingdom

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by David8192 »

KT Administrator wrote: October 5th, 2021, 9:04 am Hi jsmorley (and others)

I have to write again because I have now received information that there must be an info button one can click on to get all the information - so the information about computer, IP-adress and etc. are "hidden".

Does this mean that I have to make a skin or do you think I can use some skin that comes with when installing Rainmeter?

Thanks.

Best regards.
I think it's best if you build one yourself. But, if you find one that might be what you are looking for, you can use it instead.
For some Reason, the square root of X2 does not involve X

the DA GALLERY 8-)
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4438
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by eclectic-tech »

KT Administrator wrote: October 5th, 2021, 9:04 am Hi jsmorley (and others)

I have to write again because I have now received information that there must be an info button one can click on to get all the information - so the information about computer, IP-adress and etc. are "hidden".

Does this mean that I have to make a skin or do you think I can use some skin that comes with when installing Rainmeter?

Thanks.

Best regards.
Take a look at this separate skin package in the default illustro style with a toggle skin if desired.
illustroSysSpecs.png
This may suite your needs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.