It is currently April 24th, 2024, 7:36 pm

Specific Windows version, build and bit

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
KT Administrator
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2021, 6:50 am

Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by KT Administrator »

Hi all

I am in the process of making a skin for my work so that the support can quickly see which Windows version, buildversion and bitversion the users have.

I made the following code, but it will not show which version of Windows you have. It onlu show buildversion.

Code: Select all

####################
#-- Operating System--#
####################
[MeasureVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=ProductName
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureWindowsVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=CurrentBuild
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureOsBits]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SysInfo
SysInfoType=OS_BITS
SysInfoData=1
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterOS]
Meter=String
MesaureName=MeasureVersion
MeasureName=MeasureWindowsVersion
MeasureName2=MeasureOsBits
Y=77
X=140
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
Text="%1 %2-bit"

[MeterLabelOS]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleLeftTextBold
Y=77
X=0
Text="Operating system"
Is there anyone who can help / guide me with the correct code? :)

Thanks.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by jsmorley »

I use this:

Code: Select all

[MeasureProductName]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=ProductName
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureDisplayVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=DisplayVersion
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureCurrentBuild]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=CurrentBuild
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureUBR]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=UBR
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureWinBits]
Measure=String
String=%ProgramFiles(x86)%
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.+)$":"64","^$":"32"
UpdateDivider=-1


1.png

2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
KT Administrator
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2021, 6:50 am

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by KT Administrator »

Hi jsmorley

Thanks for your reply.

Unfortunaetely I can not make it work - or yes, I can see the Measure under "About Rainmeter > Skins" but unfortunately I can not get it to display correctly. Do you have a possible solution?

Please see attached images.

#Edit: I am running Rainmeter 4.3.1.3321 (64-bit)

Code: Select all

###################
#-- Operatingsystem--#
###################

#New
[MeasureProductName]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=ProductName
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureDisplayVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=DisplayVersion
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureCurrentBuild]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=CurrentBuild
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureUBR]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=UBR
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureWinBits]
Measure=String
String=%ProgramFiles(x86)%
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.+)$":"64","^$":"32"
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterOS]
Meter=String
MesaureName=MeasureProductName
MeasureName2=MeasureDisplayVersion
MeasureName3=MeasureCurrentBuild
MesaureName4=MeasureUBR
MesaureName5=MeasureWinBits
Y=77
X=140
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
Text="%1 %2 %3 %4 %5"

[MeterLabelOS]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleLeftTextBold
Y=77
X=0
Text="Operatingsystem"
#--
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by jsmorley »

You just need to spell MeasureName correctly in the meter.

Code: Select all

[MeterOS]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureProductName
MeasureName2=MeasureDisplayVersion
MeasureName3=MeasureCurrentBuild
MeasureName4=MeasureUBR
MeasureName5=MeasureWinBits
Y=77
X=140
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
Text=%1 %2 %3 %4 %5
KT Administrator
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2021, 6:50 am

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by KT Administrator »

Hi jsmoryley

No, how tiring! I'm so sorry about that. :Whistle

With the change it seems to be working flawlessly, thanks! :)

Take care and thanks for your help. :bow:

Note! If there is anyone else who would like the finished code (with some mod), then it is here: :great:

Code: Select all

###################
#-- Operatingsystem --#
###################

#New
[MeasureProductName]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=ProductName
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureDisplayVersion]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=DisplayVersion
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureCurrentBuild]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
RegValue=CurrentBuild
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureWinBits]
Measure=String
String=%ProgramFiles(x86)%
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.+)$":"64","^$":"32"
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterOS]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureProductName
MeasureName2=MeasureDisplayVersion
MeasureName3=MeasureCurrentBuild
MeasureName4=MeasureWinBits
Y=77
X=140
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
Text="%1 %2 %3 %4-bit"

[MeterLabelOS]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleLeftTextBold
Y=77
X=0
Text="Operatingsystem"
#--
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by jsmorley »

Glad to help. One thing I would recommend is that you consider getting Notepad++ as a text editor, and install the RainLexer addon that will color-code Rainmeter syntax. That will really help to have typos in a lot of things (which are inevitable) jump out at you.

https://notepad-plus-plus.org/
RainLexer


1.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
KT Administrator
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2021, 6:50 am

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by KT Administrator »

Hi jsmorley (and others)

I have to write again because I have now received information that there must be an info button one can click on to get all the information - so the information about computer, IP-adress and etc. are "hidden".

Does this mean that I have to make a skin or do you think I can use some skin that comes with when installing Rainmeter?

Thanks.

Best regards.
User avatar
David8192
Posts: 246
Joined: July 8th, 2021, 11:30 pm
Location: The King's Avenue, Golden Kingdom

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by David8192 »

KT Administrator wrote: October 5th, 2021, 9:04 am Hi jsmorley (and others)

I have to write again because I have now received information that there must be an info button one can click on to get all the information - so the information about computer, IP-adress and etc. are "hidden".

Does this mean that I have to make a skin or do you think I can use some skin that comes with when installing Rainmeter?

Thanks.

Best regards.
I think it's best if you build one yourself. But, if you find one that might be what you are looking for, you can use it instead.
the DA GALLERY 8-) For some Reason, the square root of X2 does not involve X
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5406
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Specific Windows version, build and bit

Post by eclectic-tech »

KT Administrator wrote: October 5th, 2021, 9:04 am Hi jsmorley (and others)

I have to write again because I have now received information that there must be an info button one can click on to get all the information - so the information about computer, IP-adress and etc. are "hidden".

Does this mean that I have to make a skin or do you think I can use some skin that comes with when installing Rainmeter?

Thanks.

Best regards.
Take a look at this separate skin package in the default illustro style with a toggle skin if desired.
illustroSysSpecs.png
This may suite your needs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.