It is currently February 5th, 2023, 1:59 pm

Gadgets 7.5.0 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

A package of skins with a "theme" or by a single author
wildrun
Posts: 4
Joined: December 26th, 2022, 12:12 pm

Re: Gadgets 7.5.0 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by wildrun »

SilverAzide wrote: December 30th, 2022, 9:58 pm The All CPU Meter gadget knows which cores are multi-threaded and which aren't. If you look closely at the skin, the temps are duplicated for each of the P-cores. The skin is showing logical cores (not physical), so this is why it is done this way.
But i7-13700k have 16 cores and 24 Threads, only 8 cores should be doubled, or 32 doubled temperatures should be seen, but if we see 24 doubled temperatures it is as if it only took the temperature of 12 cores
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2250
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 7.5.0 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

wildrun wrote: December 31st, 2022, 3:13 am But i7-13700k have 16 cores and 24 Threads, only 8 cores should be doubled, or 32 doubled temperatures should be seen, but if we see 24 doubled temperatures it is as if it only took the temperature of 12 cores
Sorry, no, that is not correct. Your 13700K has 8P+8E cores. Each P core is hyper-threaded (2 threads/physical core), each E core is single-threaded (1 thread/physical core). Thus, (8 * 2) + (8 * 1) = 24 threads. A "thread" corresponds to a "logical core" (the terms are interchangeable). There is only 1 temperature sensor per physical core, so 16 total sensors (as shown in HWiNFO).

Thread 1 and 2 are running on physical core 1, thus the CPU Meter will show the same temp for both logical cores. Look at your screenshot again. The first 16 logical cores are showing temps in pairs, the last 8 logical cores are showing unique temps (not clearly shown in this particular snapshot).

Does this make sense now?
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
wildrun
Posts: 4
Joined: December 26th, 2022, 12:12 pm

Re: Gadgets 7.5.0 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by wildrun »

SilverAzide wrote: December 31st, 2022, 5:13 am Sorry, no, that is not correct. Your 13700K has 8P+8E cores. Each P core is hyper-threaded (2 threads/physical core), each E core is single-threaded (1 thread/physical core). Thus, (8 * 2) + (8 * 1) = 24 threads. A "thread" corresponds to a "logical core" (the terms are interchangeable). There is only 1 temperature sensor per physical core, so 16 total sensors (as shown in HWiNFO).

Thread 1 and 2 are running on physical core 1, thus the CPU Meter will show the same temp for both logical cores. Look at your screenshot again. The first 16 logical cores are showing temps in pairs, the last 8 logical cores are showing unique temps (not clearly shown in this particular snapshot).

Does this make sense now?
ok, I understand this, thank you very much for the clarification, my confusion was because the logical cores seem to have very similar temperatures, I imagine it is because they are small and close together, thanks
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2250
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 7.5.0 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

wildrun wrote: December 31st, 2022, 1:54 pm ok, I understand this, thank you very much for the clarification, my confusion was because the logical cores seem to have very similar temperatures, I imagine it is because they are small and close together, thanks
Yes, that happens on my i9-12950HX (8P+8E) too. There are stress-test tools and optimization utilities (like Process Lasso, here) you can find that will let you force apps to run on specific cores. If you were super curious, you could force an app to run on one of the E-cores to see the effect (and maybe the see effect on nearby unused E-cores too).
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
Menschefreund
Posts: 2
Joined: December 29th, 2022, 12:35 pm

Re: Gadgets 7.5.0 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by Menschefreund »

SilverAzide wrote: December 29th, 2022, 4:21 pm Is it possible that you are not an administrator on your PC? If not, you will need to run Rainmeter as the same user as HWiNFO.

The reason this error is happening is that Rainmeter is either unable to read the registry entries where HWiNFO is writing the sensor data, or the registry entries are not present at all.

You can check for a registry issue by opening RegEdit and navigating to \\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HWiNFO64\VSB (HWiNFO must be running). If you don't see this key, then this is the source of your problem.

This can be due to a number of conditions. One is that you forgot to check the "Enable reporting to Gadget" option on the "HWiNFO Gadget" tab in the HWiNFO Sensor Settings dialog. Another reason is you didn't configure any sensors to be reported on this same tab. Both these issues will mean nothing is being written to the registry. However, the usual reason is that Rainmeter can not read the registry because it is not running as a user with admin privileges. HWiNFO runs elevated, so if you are not an admin, you must run Rainmeter elevated too, using the same user account so the registry key is accessible.
Thanks for helping :thumbup: