It is currently May 18th, 2021, 11:40 pm

⭐ Weather.com

Weather skins
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3098
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

gerryex wrote: May 27th, 2020, 6:08 pm Even more interesting as I already tried this once and it did NOT work. I just tried it again and waited for at least 5 minutes and still no joy!

I was one of the first to post that the Weather.com skins were not working and was told to delete the temps with CCleaner and at that time it DID work. It then was ok for several days and now failed a day or two ago. Since then NONE of the cleaning methods have gotten them working on my system. Very strange.

In the interim I'm using the Yahoo.com weather skin and that has been working just fine!

Gerry
That could help in isolating the problem, if lucky. Would you mind (if privacy concerns or whatever aren't an issue, of course) sharing:
- which browser do you use, or if you use more than one browser, also, if you're using Win10.
- use one of the tools I linked here to save / share what and how many cookies you have from weather.com recently? The NirSoft one is light and portable, so it might be preferable, as the latter one is more of a professional one, requiring installation and some light registering. I saved my cookies after making weather.com work again, so maybe some comparison between the two scenarios could help.
- just to make sure, use your latitude and longitude in this skin and let me know if you're getting a temperature.

P.S. You can send me a PM if those privacy concerns are high, by the way.
gerryex
Posts: 37
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

Yincognito wrote: May 27th, 2020, 7:39 pm That could help in isolating the problem, if lucky. Would you mind (if privacy concerns or whatever aren't an issue, of course) sharing:
- which browser do you use, or if you use more than one browser, also, if you're using Win10.
- use one of the tools I linked here to save / share what and how many cookies you have from weather.com recently? The NirSoft one is light and portable, so it might be preferable, as the latter one is more of a professional one, requiring installation and some light registering. I saved my cookies after making weather.com work again, so maybe some comparison between the two scenarios could help.
- just to make sure, use your latitude and longitude in this skin and let me know if you're getting a temperature.

P.S. You can send me a PM if those privacy concerns are high, by the way.
Hi!

One thing i can quickly answer: I am using Win 10 with all the latest updates. I haven't used IE in a long time. I was using MS Edge and an now using MS Chrome Edge (or whatever they are calling it!).

The other things I won't be able to get to today but will try to do them tomorrow and either post them or PM them to you.

Gerry
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3098
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

gerryex wrote: May 27th, 2020, 7:44 pm Hi!

One thing i can quickly answer: I am using Win 10 with all the latest updates. I haven't used IE in a long time. I was using MS Edge and an now using MS Chrome Edge (or whatever they are calling it!).

The other things I won't be able to get to today but will try to do them tomorrow and either post them or PM them to you.

Gerry
Okeydokey. Hopefully they'll be of some help.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1251
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by SilverAzide »

gerryex wrote: May 27th, 2020, 7:44 pm One thing i can quickly answer: I am using Win 10 with all the latest updates. I haven't used IE in a long time. I was using MS Edge and an now using MS Chrome Edge (or whatever they are calling it!).

The other things I won't be able to get to today but will try to do them tomorrow and either post them or PM them to you.
Hi Gerry... If you have a moment for some debugging, once you exit Rainmeter and clear the cache per the instructions, go into the @Resources folder for the skin you are using, and edit the file WeatherComJSONMeasures.inc file. At the top of the file, add the following lines to the [@EntireSiteSuperParent] measure:

Code: Select all

UserAgent="Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/83.0.4103.61 Safari/537.36"
ForceReload=1
THEN restart Rainmeter and see what happens.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
gerryex
Posts: 37
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

SilverAzide wrote: May 27th, 2020, 9:24 pm Hi Gerry... If you have a moment for some debugging, once you exit Rainmeter and clear the cache per the instructions, go into the @Resources folder for the skin you are using, and edit the file WeatherComJSONMeasures.inc file. At the top of the file, add the following lines to the [@EntireSiteSuperParent] measure:

Code: Select all

UserAgent="Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/83.0.4103.61 Safari/537.36"
ForceReload=1
THEN restart Rainmeter and see what happens.

I will definitely give that a try tomorrow. But I already changed the whole [@EntireSiteSuperParent] section based on jsmorley's post from yesterday and it did not help. But i do see that your UserAgent is different than what he had. I saved the old code as comments so should i restore the old code and just change the UserAgent and add the ForceReload=1 or should I keep his new code and just change the UserAgent?

Again, I'll have more time tomorrow and I'll be able to try that out and any other suggestions.

Gerry
User avatar
katyggls
Posts: 1
Joined: May 27th, 2020, 9:54 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by katyggls »

I've been following this thread since I've been having the same issue with the weather widget in the Omnimo 10 suite. I tried doing cookie clearing process that was given here about a dozen times, to no avail. I tried waiting anywhere from 1 to 10 minutes before restarting rainmeter and it didn't work. But this last time, before I exited rainmeter, I closed the non-working weather skin first, then exited rainmeter, then cleared the cookies using internet options, waited roughly 2 minutes, and then restarted rainmeter. Then I reloaded the weather skin. It worked! Closing the weather skin prior to exiting rainmeter is really the only thing I did differently, so not sure if this helps any troubleshooting measures, or just as a clue for those that have had trouble getting that process to work for them.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1251
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by SilverAzide »

gerryex wrote: May 27th, 2020, 9:36 pm I will definitely give that a try tomorrow. But I already changed the whole [@EntireSiteSuperParent] section based on jsmorley's post from yesterday and it did not help. But i do see that your UserAgent is different than what he had. I saved the old code as comments so should i restore the old code and just change the UserAgent and add the ForceReload=1 or should I keep his new code and just change the UserAgent?

Again, I'll have more time tomorrow and I'll be able to try that out and any other suggestions.

Gerry
Oh, I see... in that case, stick with what JSMorley says. :)
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1251
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by SilverAzide »

katyggls wrote: May 27th, 2020, 10:05 pm .... But this last time, before I exited rainmeter, I closed the non-working weather skin first, then exited rainmeter, then cleared the cookies using internet options, waited roughly 2 minutes, and then restarted rainmeter. Then I reloaded the weather skin. It worked! Closing the weather skin prior to exiting rainmeter is really the only thing I did differently, so not sure if this helps any troubleshooting measures, or just as a clue for those that have had trouble getting that process to work for them.
Huh, interesting! I did that too, and it worked for me as well. However, I did this on my first try, so I didn't think anything of it and assumed it was the cookie-clearing and other stuff that did it. Hopefully someone who's having a persistent problem can try this (I'm no longer getting the error).
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
AllBlackZebras
Posts: 4
Joined: May 23rd, 2020, 2:12 am

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by AllBlackZebras »

I noticed the problem today, this time on one of my Windows 10 machines. The fix for my Windows 7 device four days ago was to unload the affected skin, then go to Control Panel -> Internet Options/Properties -> Delete Browsing History, and delete everything that way.

This time, trying the same fix on the other computer did nothing. The skin would not connect after loading it. My next attempt, which was successful, was to do the same except for the following: instead of simply unloading the skin, I unloaded it and then closed Rainmeter. After the browsing history deletions, I started Rainmeter and loaded the skin. Problem solved...for now.
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3098
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

I'm thinking, based on your reports, could this be influenced by the UpdateRate of your WebParser parent measure? Mine is set to update every hour (yeah, I know, but really, I don't need it to update more frequently), and I didn't have to specifically unload my weather skin followed by exiting Rainmeter, I just exited Rainmeter directly (with my whole skin suite still active), did the fix, came back and all well. :confused: