It is currently May 18th, 2021, 11:32 pm

⭐ Weather.com

Weather skins
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3098
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

Yep, figured out what is the effect that we're seeing (not what is the solution though, apart from designing a 2 format-enabled regex): weather.com is showing it's V2 (version 2) format in the browser's page source, while it delivers its V3 (version 3) format to WebParser and its download option.

One possibility is that weather.com is in the process of "upgrading" to V3. Some people (hint, hint) used to say versions are not important or they don't care about them a while ago though, so... who knows? :D
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3098
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

SilverAzide wrote: May 27th, 2020, 12:29 am This "other" style of JSON data seems fine, but it's missing the chunk with the units of measure, which is super-annoying. Everything else is there, and might be even easier to parse since everything is in uniform arrays.
Yes, I know that already, as I started already working on the new regex a couple of days ago. :D I too find it super-annoying, the missing units. I guess we would have to explicitly set the language of the request in the first place and then set the units from an own small database on the basis of the chosen language...
SilverAzide wrote: May 27th, 2020, 12:25 amAt this current moment, I'm getting two different results. Curl is producing the "bad" format, WebParser is producing the "good" format.
Huh, that's strange indeed.
Last edited by Yincognito on May 27th, 2020, 12:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21694
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

I just think it is too soon to try and draw conclusions. I will say though, that it is getting increasingly hinky over the course of the last few days. This is obviously going somewhere, just not sure where yet.

So far at least, if I lose my weather, I exit Rainmeter, clear the cache / cookies, wait a minute, and restart, and then it's fine. This is impossible to debug at this point.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1251
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by SilverAzide »

My guess is they are rolling this out to the machines in their server farms in stages, so which flavor of JSON you get is a bit of a crapshoot depending on which way their load balancer decides at that particular millisecond. For now. Patience seems like a good plan at this point.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21694
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

SilverAzide wrote: May 27th, 2020, 12:49 am My guess is they are rolling this out to the machines in their server farms in stages, so which flavor of JSON you get is a bit of a crapshoot depending on which way their load balancer decides at that particular millisecond. For now. Patience seems like a good plan at this point.
That may well be indeed.

God, I really don't want to have to parse this thing from scratch again. That is a fair to middling amount of work... ;-)
kring
Posts: 13
Joined: March 26th, 2018, 11:10 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by kring »

Hi everyone - just sharing that Weather gadget isn't working - I've done the IE cache clears and also used 3rd Party app to clear out all the windows stuff to. I cleared IE, Edge & Windows. still no resolution for me.

Let me know if there's anything I can do to help out or test.

I'm East Coast - Connecticut - if this is a regional thing.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21694
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

kring wrote: May 27th, 2020, 5:13 pm Hi everyone - just sharing that Weather gadget isn't working - I've done the IE cache clears and also used 3rd Party app to clear out all the windows stuff to. I cleared IE, Edge & Windows. still no resolution for me.

Let me know if there's anything I can do to help out or test.

I'm East Coast - Connecticut - if this is a regional thing.
Try doing exactly this, no more, no less:

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=118&t=35342#p177064
kring
Posts: 13
Joined: March 26th, 2018, 11:10 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by kring »

jsmorley wrote: May 27th, 2020, 5:18 pm Try doing exactly this, no more, no less:

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=118&t=35342#p177064
OK, so that worked! the only difference was the waiting ~2 minutes. I previously did the same exact clearing multiple times and even did a reboot afterwards with no luck.
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3098
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

Now that's interesting, because I'm not even sure I waited a minute after doing the same...
gerryex
Posts: 37
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

Yincognito wrote: May 27th, 2020, 5:58 pm Now that's interesting, because I'm not even sure I waited a minute after doing the same...
Even more interesting as I already tried this once and it did NOT work. I just tried it again and waited for at least 5 minutes and still no joy!

I was one of the first to post that the Weather.com skins were not working and was told to delete the temps with CCleaner and at that time it DID work. It then was ok for several days and now failed a day or two ago. Since then NONE of the cleaning methods have gotten them working on my system. Very strange.

In the interim I'm using the Yahoo.com weather skin and that has been working just fine!

Gerry