It is currently May 2nd, 2024, 11:49 pm

@include Breaks InputText Plugin

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
Kaelri
Developer
Posts: 1721
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 4:47 am

@include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by Kaelri »

I just discovered this (or possibly rediscovered it). When an InputText plugin measure is inherited from an @include file, the measure fails to respond to !PluginBangs. No error is logged, and there is no difference in the About entry for the measure.

I don't observe any problem with other plugins - I tested RecycleManager and NowPlaying - so it appears to be specific to InputText, which is something of a relief.
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by dragonmage »

I would almost bet this is one of those situations where a very specific use of quotation marks is required for it to work correctly.
User avatar
Jkon
Posts: 185
Joined: December 4th, 2009, 2:05 am

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by Jkon »

I've been unable to get that to work either.Tried playing with the quotes after reading this but got no where.All I can say is that it has never been possible since the plugin was added,as I did try it soon after.
Image
User avatar
~Faradey~
Posts: 366
Joined: November 12th, 2009, 4:47 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by ~Faradey~ »

Have you tried this?

Code: Select all

!PluginBang "MeasureInput ExecuteBatch 1" "#CURRENTCONFIG#"
User avatar
Kaelri
Developer
Posts: 1721
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 4:47 am

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by Kaelri »

That's not the issue, unfortunately. I think what's happening is that the plugin is actually parsing the skin file independently, and unlike Rainmeter, it has no idea what @include means. If this is the case (and since I really know nothing about C#, this is purely speculative), we would need to either reproduce the @include architecture in the plugin, or change the PluginBang behavior so that it's giving the plugin all of the information it needs without making it parse anything else.
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2872
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by poiru »

This is a limitation of the C# implementation. It parses the entire skin file to find the correct section (and then read all keys from it), which, in this case, obviously doesn't exist in the actual file. The C++ plugins, on the other hand, request each key individually through Rainmeter, which then maps the section correctly.

Never written anything with C# before, but I'll take a look. The plugin will likely blow up, but you got to start somewhere... ;)
User avatar
Jkon
Posts: 185
Joined: December 4th, 2009, 2:05 am

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by Jkon »

I regret to inform everyone that today,we lost a good man in the line of duty.Poiru was caught in the blast radius of a back firing C# implementation.A minutes silence will be held at 1.15pm Gmt on this day and this day every year here after in memoriam.RIP comrade.
Image
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2872
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by poiru »

Jkon wrote:I regret to inform everyone that today,we lost a good man in the line of duty.Poiru was caught in the blast radius of a back firing C# implementation.A minutes silence will be held at 1.15pm Gmt on this day and this day every year here after in memoriam.RIP comrade.
User avatar
AlC
Posts: 329
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 6:46 pm

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by AlC »

Also I had a note skin with @include
[Rainmeter]
Name=El.Alc
Config=Notes.ini
Update=1000
OnRefreshAction=!Execute [!RainmeterHide El.Alc\Notes]

[Style]
@Include=#SKINSPATH#\El.Alc\Variables.inc

[Variables]
@Include=#SKINSPATH#\El.Alc\Variables.inc

[BackgroundNotes]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=#SKINSPATH#\El.Alc\TopNotes.png
AntiAlias=1


[mInput]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=InputText.dll
X=20
Y=300
H=128
W=990
FontColor=#NotesColor#
SolidColor=0,0,0,200
FontFace=#NotesFace#
FontSize=#NotesSize#
FocusDismiss=1
DefaultValue="CRLF#"
UpdateDivider=86400
Command1=!Execute [!RainmeterWriteKeyValue Variables Notes "$UserInput$" "#SKINSPATH#\El.Alc\Variables.inc"]
Command2=!RainmeterRefresh #CURRENTCONFIG#

[Notes]
Meter=String
X=20
Y=27
H=128
W=990
FontColor=#NotesColor#
FontFace=#NotesFace#
FontSize=#NotesSize#
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1
Text=#Notes#
ClipString=1
LeftMouseUpAction=!RainmeterPluginBang "mInput ExecuteBatch 1-2"
and in Variables.inc just have Notes=
worked fine for me
Rainmeter - You are only limited by your imagination and creativity.
User avatar
smurfier
Moderator
Posts: 1931
Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
Location: Willmar, MN

Re: @include Breaks InputText Plugin

Post by smurfier »

The issue is when the InputText measure itself is in the included file.
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .