It is currently May 3rd, 2024, 10:52 pm

Newbie having problems with quote

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
mike_dowler
Posts: 2
Joined: June 4th, 2011, 8:23 am

Newbie having problems with quote

Post by mike_dowler »

Hiya,
I'm just getting started with Rainmeter, and I am having problem getting a slideshow to work.

THe following works (to show a static image), so I know it's not a problem with server access:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
; This section contains general settings that can be used to change how Rainmeter behaves.
Author=mike_dowler
Update=1000
BackgroundMode=2

[MeterShowPicture]
Meter=Image
Path=\\SERVER\SharedPictures\Our Pictures
ImageName=Picturename.jpg
X=0
Y=0
W=200
H=200
PreserveAspectRatio=1
The following does not work (I just get a grey background, with no image:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
; This section contains general settings that can be used to change how Rainmeter behaves.
Author=mike_dowler
Update=1000
BackgroundMode=2

[MeasureMyPictures]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\QuotePlugin.dll
PathName=\\SERVER\SharedPictures\Our Pictures
Subfolders=0
FileFilter=*.jpg;*.jpeg

[MeterShowPicture]
Meter=Image
MeasureName=MeasureMyPictures
X=0
Y=0
W=200
H=200
PreserveAspectRatio=1
Also, is there any way to get the quote plugin to output the random filename to the debug log, so I can see whether it is trying to get the correct file?

Thx, Mike
User avatar
Seahorse
Posts: 1175
Joined: June 9th, 2010, 5:56 pm
Location: Locks heath, UK

Re: Newbie having problems with quote

Post by Seahorse »

There is a gap in the path, try encasing it with brackets?

"\\SERVER\SharedPictures\Our Pictures"
"Regrettably your planet is one of those scheduled for demolition"
Mike

My Skins at DeviantArt

mike_dowler
Posts: 2
Joined: June 4th, 2011, 8:23 am

Re: Newbie having problems with quote

Post by mike_dowler »

Hi Mike, Thanks for your suggestion. Unfortunately, it didn't help. I've managed a workaround though - it looks like the Quote plugin was unable to access the server. By mapping the folder to a network drive, and setting the skin to use that local address instead, it is working just fine.

I would have no idea how to even begin to see whether the plugin could be updated to fix this, so this will have to do for now. If anyone has an idea though, please let me know!