It is currently September 19th, 2024, 9:23 am

Rainmeter Skin Editor

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
KianM

Rainmeter Skin Editor

Post by KianM »

Hello,

I'm a developer and I was thinking about making a Rainmeter skin editor
It would allow you to load in your skins, preview them, add meters, and meta data, in a relatively simple manner.
It's not a replacement for the simple text editors - however, one would be included - perhaps with syntax hi-lighting.

How many people would be interested?

---
KianM
jsmorley
Developer

Re: Rainmeter Skin Editor

Post by jsmorley »

I understand the impulse behind this thinking. It has come up repeatedly before with our users and developers, and we have decided not to pursue it.

I'd have to hear more details about what you have in mind, but suspect that I for one would not be interested, as much for principled as practical reasons. I think any attempt to make a GUI for creating skins is doomed to be a half-baked effort and the only effect would be to stop new users from learning Rainmeter, and being useless to users who do know Rainmeter. This has long been the agreed opinion of the team here.

Rainmeter is infinitely flexible and capable. No GUI is ever going to approach 10% of what is the tool is capable of, and I am not interested in supporting an application that just knocks out cookie cutter code. Rainmeter is not a programming language or something that lends itself to "drag and drop" or other WYSIWYG type of editing. a Meter or Measure is not a "control" that you can just drop somewhere, size with the mouse, and then set attributes with "properties". It's not how Rainmeter was envisioned nor how it is designed. By the time you build in the infinite flexibility and power of what is capable in Rainmeter, you are going to basically be back to a text editor. Notepad++ with RainLexer works really well and in my personal opinion, is the right tool for the job. That and having the manual close at hand.