It is currently April 27th, 2024, 10:58 pm

Search bars not working.

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
wayte
Posts: 11
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:35 pm

Search bars not working.

Post by wayte »

I've been looking for a way to directly search google via rainmeter for ages, found this http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=6554 thread and I can't get it to work at all.

I checked the log and it's triggering the warning "ImputText: Exception System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format." when I left click.

I checked the manual and I can't get the example code to work either.

What am I missing here?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by jsmorley »

What version of Rainmeter are you on? What version / architecture of Windows?
wayte
Posts: 11
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:35 pm

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by wayte »

Rainmeter 2.0.0 rev 745 (according to the log) and Vista 32bit
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by jsmorley »

Can you copy / paste the skin you got that error on into "" tags here?
wayte
Posts: 11
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:35 pm

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by wayte »

Both

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Author=Yelleke
Update=36000

[Variables]

[Formule]
Measure=Calc
Formula=1
UpdateDivider=3600
Substitute=".0":""

[InputField]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=InputText.dll
Command1=!Execute ["https://encrypted.google.com/search?q=$UserInput$"]
;Command1=!Execute ["http://www.bing.com/search?q=$UserInput$"]
FocusDismiss=1
DefaultValue=""
StringStyle=Bold
SolidColor=63, 63, 63
FontColor=153, 153, 153
X=14
Y=2
H=14
W=110

[Search-BG-Start]
Meter=ROUNDLINE
MeasureName=Formule
X=0
Y=-19
H=38
W=38
StartAngle=-4.7123889
RotationAngle=1.5707963
LineLength=19
LineColor=0, 0, 0, 100
Solid=1
AntiAlias=1

[Search-BG]
Meter=Image
AntiAlias=1
X=19
Y=0
H=19
W=100
SolidColor=0, 0, 0, 100
LeftMouseUpAction=!RainmeterPluginBang "InputField ExecuteBatch 1"

[Search-BG-End]
Meter=ROUNDLINE
MeasureName=Formule
X=-19R
Y=-19r
H=38
W=38
StartAngle=0
RotationAngle=1.5707963
LineLength=19
LineColor=0, 0, 0, 100
Solid=1
AntiAlias=1

[OpenTheBox]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=StyleTitel
StringAlign=Center
FontColor=255,255,255,100
StringStyle=Bold
FontSize=8
Text=Google This
X=69
Y=2
LeftMouseUpAction=!RainmeterPluginBang "InputField ExecuteBatch 1"
and

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1

[Variables]
FirstVar=!RainmeterWriteKeyValue
SecondVar=!RainmeterSetVariable
FontSize=14

[MeterBackground]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=1E3A69FF
W=250
H=105

[MeasureInput]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=InputText.dll
SolidColor=76A0E8FF
FontColor=FFFFFF
FontFace=Seqoe UI
StringStyle=Italic
FontSize=#FontSize#
X=5
Y=5
H=25
W=240
DefaultValue="Change Me!"

Command1=!RainmeterWriteKeyValue Variables FirstVar "$UserInput$" "#CURRENTPATH#InputText.inc"
Command2=!RainmeterRefresh

Command3=!RainmeterSetVariable SecondVar "$UserInput$" Y=40 DefaultValue="Change Me Too!"

Command4=!Execute ["$UserInput$"] Y=75 DefaultValue="Text file path and name"

[MeterWriteKeyValue]
Meter=String
X=5
Y=5
FontSize=15
FontColor=255,255,255,255
AntiAlias=1
Text=#FirstVar#
LeftMouseUpAction=!RainmeterPluginBang "MeasureInput ExecuteBatch 1-2"

[MeterSetVariable]
Meter=String
X=5
Y=10R
FontSize=15
FontColor=255,255,255,255
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1
Text=#SecondVar#
LeftMouseUpAction=!RainmeterPluginBang "MeasureInput ExecuteBatch 3"

[MeterOpenEditor]
Meter=String
X=5
Y=10R
FontSize=15
FontColor=255,255,255,255
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1
Text=Open Text File
LeftMouseUpAction=!RainmeterPluginBang "MeasureInput ExecuteBatch 4"
are causing it.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by jsmorley »

And exactly what are you typing into the input box?
wayte
Posts: 11
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:35 pm

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by wayte »

The input box doesn't appear?

Using the first code:
Load the skin and inside the background it says "Google This"
When I left click the log shows the warning and nothing changes on the skin.

edit: for grammar
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by jsmorley »

Well, not sure. I copy / pasted that second skin (the sample from the manual) into a new skin in a folder under \Skins, and created an empty InputText.inc file that the first example needs. Then used all three samples and they worked just fine.

Other than being Vista, what else about your system is unusual? You running any software that might do any kind of window management or anything like that?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by jsmorley »

Just for grins, can you install this and then try that "sample" skin?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4991063/Rainmeter/Build/Rainmeter-2.1-r774-beta.exe
wayte
Posts: 11
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:35 pm

Re: Search bars not working.

Post by wayte »

Oh, I didn't create that extra file. What is it and how do I make one? Is it just like an .ini?