It is currently September 14th, 2024, 10:06 pm

Weather not working

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
blusclus
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2010, 10:23 pm

Weather not working

Post by blusclus »

Hello everyone. I just started applying a rainmeter skin to my pc a couple of hours ago and I am currently using simple sentence 2.1. I'm just having trouble with the weather and sun application. I put in the weather code but it's still not working.

This is what's in it at the moment:

WeatherCode=USIL1057
City=Space
Font=Light From Behind
Colour=255, 255, 255

;----------MEASURES----------

[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=#USIL1057#&u=f
RegExp=(?siU)<link.*>(.*)</link>.*city=\"(.*)\".*sunrise=\"(.*)\".*sunset=\"(.*)\".*<image>.*<url>(.*)</url>.*<title>.*:.*m .*(.*)</title>.*lat>(.*)<.*long>(.*)<.*yweather:condition.*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*temp=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*
StringIndex=1

**

Am I missing something? Need help on this.

Thanks.
Aarowaim
Posts: 97
Joined: July 25th, 2010, 7:23 am

Re: Weather not working

Post by Aarowaim »

I believe that this needs to be changed to:

Code: Select all

Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=USIL1057&u=f
I do not know where you got the location being a variable, but by entering the website in my code box (without the #), I was able to see the feed. Also, for some weather codes, you need to change the p after http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss? into a w. This is because yahoo weather decided to change that part of the code and they haven't finished applying it to all the weather feeds.
Last edited by Aarowaim on September 12th, 2010, 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Away for a while :(
Programming isn't a hobby, it's a lifestyle choice.
[url=http://www.rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=1207][b]T34M V.1.5.0.|2[/b][/url] <----I'ts l33t, look it up

Coding Skills: [color=#00FFFF]4.5[/color]
Answering Skills: [color=#00FFFF]4[/color]
Image Editing: [color=#00FFFF]3[/color]
Knowledge: [color=#00FFFF]4.5[/color]
Technical Skills: [color=#00FFFF]3[/color]
blusclus
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2010, 10:23 pm

Re: Weather not working

Post by blusclus »

got it. The # isn't part of the code. I erased it and it finally worked.


Thanks. :)
Aarowaim
Posts: 97
Joined: July 25th, 2010, 7:23 am

Re: Weather not working

Post by Aarowaim »

No problem. ;)
If you ever need help again and you can't find any solution, please feel free to ask.
Away for a while :(
Programming isn't a hobby, it's a lifestyle choice.
[url=http://www.rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=1207][b]T34M V.1.5.0.|2[/b][/url] <----I'ts l33t, look it up

Coding Skills: [color=#00FFFF]4.5[/color]
Answering Skills: [color=#00FFFF]4[/color]
Image Editing: [color=#00FFFF]3[/color]
Knowledge: [color=#00FFFF]4.5[/color]
Technical Skills: [color=#00FFFF]3[/color]
blusclus
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2010, 10:23 pm

Re: Weather not working

Post by blusclus »

follow up question cuz I don't wanna clutter up the board with a new post.

How do I set rainmeter up so it loads automatically when I start up the computer?
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2873
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Re: Weather not working

Post by poiru »

blusclus wrote:follow up question cuz I don't wanna clutter up the board with a new post.

How do I set rainmeter up so it loads automatically when I start up the computer?
Run the Rainmeter installer and check 'Start with Windows'. Your settings will be preserved.

(or create a shortcut of Rainmeter.exe into start-up folder)
blusclus
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2010, 10:23 pm

Re: Weather not working

Post by blusclus »

cool. thanks!


another question:

regarding the simplesentence skin: how can I change the font color (white atm, to a black one and vice versa) so it matches some of
my other wallpapers?

thanks again.
User avatar
tru
Posts: 169
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 4:24 am
Location: A Salty Piece of Land...

Re: Weather not working

Post by tru »

blusclus wrote:cool. thanks!


another question:

regarding the simplesentence skin: how can I change the font color (white atm, to a black one and vice versa) so it matches some of
my other wallpapers?

thanks again.
Under Variables change the font color using RGB code
blusclus
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2010, 10:23 pm

Re: Weather not working

Post by blusclus »

Follow up question:

I'm using objectdock and whenever I click "show desktop" the dock disappears and I have to relaunch it again.
How do I configure the dock so it won't get closed whenever I click the "show desktop" icon?
Aarowaim
Posts: 97
Joined: July 25th, 2010, 7:23 am

Re: Weather not working

Post by Aarowaim »

I'm assuming that by saying "show desktop", you mean the button on windows 7 taskbar, right? I believe that they use the same rendering mode as aero peek as they do for show desktop, so I'll quickly go and get the link to a solution to this problem.

EDIT: Here is the link to a topic that has a similiar problem: http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5314. This should fix your problem, I'll make sure in a moment by trying to recreate this problem.
Away for a while :(
Programming isn't a hobby, it's a lifestyle choice.
[url=http://www.rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=1207][b]T34M V.1.5.0.|2[/b][/url] <----I'ts l33t, look it up

Coding Skills: [color=#00FFFF]4.5[/color]
Answering Skills: [color=#00FFFF]4[/color]
Image Editing: [color=#00FFFF]3[/color]
Knowledge: [color=#00FFFF]4.5[/color]
Technical Skills: [color=#00FFFF]3[/color]