It is currently April 28th, 2024, 11:04 am

[SOLVED] Need help with RunCommand to ping a computer in home LAN

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
nmdelrio

[SOLVED] Need help with RunCommand to ping a computer in home LAN

Post by nmdelrio »

I am aiming to make a skin to find out if a target computer on my home network is ON or OFF, and send an email if computer is OFF, the latter not being a Rainmeter chore though. I figure pinging it would be a good way. I sought help from ChatGPT 3.5 on iPhone, as I am not good at DOS commands, etc., and here's what I got. (It was interesting to know that ChatGPT can write Rainmeter scripts).

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[MeasureRunScript]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=RunCommand
Program="check_status.bat"
OutputType=ANSI
OutputFile=#@#status.txt
DynamicVariables=1
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterDisplay]
[code]Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureRunScript
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,255
Text=Status: %1
check_status.bat

@echo off
ping -n 1 computer_name >nul
if errorlevel 1 (
    echo DOWN > "%APPDATA%\status.txt"
    powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File send_email.ps1
) else (
    echo UP > "%APPDATA%\status.txt"
)
send_email.ps1

# PowerShell script to send an email using Gmail's SMTP server
$EmailFrom = "your_gmail@gmail.com"
$EmailTo = "recipient_email@example.com"
$Subject = "Computer DOWN Alert"
$Body = "The computer is DOWN. Please check."

$SMTPServer = "smtp.gmail.com"
$SMTPClient = New-Object Net.Mail.SmtpClient($SMTPServer, 587)
$SMTPClient.EnableSsl = $true
$SMTPClient.Credentials = New-Object System.Net.NetworkCredential($EmailFrom, "your_gmail_password")

$SMTPClient.Send($EmailFrom, $EmailTo, $Subject, $Body)
Both check_status.bat and send_email.ps1 are saved in skin's directory.

Changed all the necessary paramaters --- computer name, email addresses, etc. in check_status.bat and send_email.ps1.