It is currently May 20th, 2024, 8:45 am

Again? Major Weather Obsession

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
janos33
Posts: 9
Joined: June 8th, 2010, 8:40 pm

Again? Major Weather Obsession

Post by janos33 »

Hello. I have another weather skin that I would like to configure, and this is not easy to edit. It's called Simple or Simply Weather, and it is my understanding that Chewtoy, along with somebody else, is the author of it. Thing is, it is full of Accuweather stuff, and that is probably why it doesn't work, since accuweather cut rainmeter off, unless I am mistaken. Is there a replacement for the original accuweather config or notepad file? I tried to monkey and edit it, but it still doesn't work. The one I am talking about is Simple Weather H. I probably sound like I have an obsession with the weather. I also tried to configure the weather for the Starlight skin and for the Taranbeer skin, but no luck. Well, let's take one item at a time. Let's just focus on Simple weather or simply weather H. If anyone would care to help, that would be really cool and very much appreciated. Please and thank you! :shock:
janos33
Posts: 9
Joined: June 8th, 2010, 8:40 pm

Re: Again? Major Weather Obsession

Post by janos33 »

On second thought, I am going to delete the simple weather skin. It's too much for me to deal with right now. I am now trying to configure the weather for the starlight skin, this is what I have currently:

[Rainmeter]
10-Foot HUD (White) - Created by Stephen R Gibson, based on MoxaWeather.
W=700

[Variables]
;Find your weather code at Weather.com (like UKXX0296 below) and replace the one in this URL.
;To have the temperature display in Farenheit, delete "&unit=m" from the URL.
URL=http://xml.weather.com/weather/local/USCA0780?cc=*&unit=#SCALE#&dayf=6
Font=Eurostile LT ExtendedTwo

And on the Taranbeer skin weather widget:

[Rainmeter]
Original Author=moxamax
Editby=Simieski

[Variables]
;!!!Please replace your location code of Weather.com below, e.g: Vienna, VA is USVA0791.
;!!!You can check it here: http://aspnetresources.com/tools/locid.aspx

URL=http://xml.weather.com/weather/local/#dest#?cc=*&unit=#SCALE#&dayf=6

;!!!You need to replace the "22182" with your own zip code. e.g; Vienna, VA's zip code is 22812
CurrentDay=http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/wxdetail/USCA0780?from=36hr_fcst_business
Day1=http://www.weather.com/weather/wxdetail/121001?dayNum=1&from=36hr_topnav_undeclared
Day2=http://www.weather.com/weather/wxdetail/121001?dayNum=2&from=36hr_topnav_undeclared
Day3=http://www.weather.com/weather/wxdetail/121001?dayNum=3&from=36hr_topnav_undeclared


;!!!Change it to whatever you want!
location=Northridge, CA

Font=Segoe UI Light
color=225, 226, 226
color2=255,255,255

Wish there was a standard that all skin makers would follow, but there isn't. Oh, well. Easy come, easy go I guess.
Any help would be mucho appreciato.
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Again? Major Weather Obsession

Post by dragonmage »

What are you having trouble with?
janos33
Posts: 9
Joined: June 8th, 2010, 8:40 pm

Re: Again? Major Weather Obsession

Post by janos33 »


Hello. I am just trying to figure out how to modify and configure or edit the skin so that I can get the weather feed on 2 skins to work correctly. I have the URL correctly but something else is not the way it should be. I have already copied and pasted the code, and I don't know what is missing and or needs to be corrected or modified. This weather stuff is tricky, I tell you.
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 995
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Again? Major Weather Obsession

Post by Chewtoy »

Well... If it's in any interest, here's the update of SimpleWeather. http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/70482
It uses Weather.com instead of AccuWeather.

As for your own coding. You got multiple sections with the same name. That will confuse rainmeter to no ending.
All the info that is in [Rainmeter]-section should be in just ONE [Rainmeter]-section. The variables should be in ONE [Variables]-section. That's at least a start. Don't know what you you got problems with. It's a tad messy...
I don't think, therefore I'm not.