It is currently June 5th, 2023, 8:05 pm
Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: March 4th, 2023, 8:16 am
Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
Hi! I recently got a new laptop and installed all the skins and fonts I use from my previous laptop. The issue I am facing is that whenever Rainmeter loads for the first time after turning on the laptop, some skins don't show up the font they are supposed and instead just display default font as if the actual font is not available on the device. After refreshing the skins, they work just fine displaying the font they are supposed to. This happens with some skins like the Mond date and not with others. Sometimes even from the same skin folder, some remember their font while others don't until refreshed. Been a week and I still can't figure out what is going on. Any help would be appreciated.
-
- Moderator
- Posts: 1229
- Joined: February 16th, 2012, 3:32 am
- Location: Berlin, Germany
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
What is your system?
Can you pack one of your faulty skins and upload here so we could investigate it?
Can you pack one of your faulty skins and upload here so we could investigate it?
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: March 4th, 2023, 8:16 am
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
This is the code for Elegant clock, one of the skins with the font issue. I am using a custom downloaded font Trade Winds. One meter is purposely disabled in case that creates confusion.Active Colors wrote: ↑May 18th, 2023, 7:27 am What is your system?
Can you pack one of your faulty skins and upload here so we could investigate it?
Code: Select all
;Elegance
;Clock Skin - Black
;Created by TwistLemon
[Rainmeter]
Author=TwistLemon
Update=1000
[Variables]
Size1=74
Size2=18
ClockSize=150
WhiteHands=255,255,255,255
BlackHands=0,0,0,245
;-----------MEASURES------------
[MeasureTime]
Measure=Time
Format=%I:%M
[MeasureDate]
Measure=Time
Format=%A, %d %B %Y
;-----------METERS------------
[MeterTime]
MeasureName=MeasureTime
Meter=STRING
X=150
Y=0
FontColor=150,150,150
FontSize=74
FontFace=Trade Winds
StringAlign=CENTER
;StringStyle=BOLD
AntiAlias=1
#[MeterDate]
MeasureName=MeasureDate
Meter=STRING
X=r
Y=125r
FontColor=#Colour#
FontSize=18
FontFace=Ink Free
StringAlign=CENTER
;StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
-
- Moderator
- Posts: 1229
- Joined: February 16th, 2012, 3:32 am
- Location: Berlin, Germany
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
Can you perhaps pack your whole skin folder into a .zip archive? By whole I mean including any additional files inside besides the main ini file. This would be more practical and accurate to debug as we will have close to the exact same codition as you have.BlackChadhar wrote: ↑May 18th, 2023, 8:24 am This is the code for Elegant clock, one of the skins with the font issue. I am using a custom downloaded font Trade Winds. One meter is purposely disabled in case that creates confusion.
Code: Select all
;Elegance ;Clock Skin - Black ;Created by TwistLemon [Rainmeter] Author=TwistLemon Update=1000 [Variables] Size1=74 Size2=18 ClockSize=150 WhiteHands=255,255,255,255 BlackHands=0,0,0,245 ;-----------MEASURES------------ [MeasureTime] Measure=Time Format=%I:%M [MeasureDate] Measure=Time Format=%A, %d %B %Y ;-----------METERS------------ [MeterTime] MeasureName=MeasureTime Meter=STRING X=150 Y=0 FontColor=150,150,150 FontSize=74 FontFace=Trade Winds StringAlign=CENTER ;StringStyle=BOLD AntiAlias=1 #[MeterDate] MeasureName=MeasureDate Meter=STRING X=r Y=125r FontColor=#Colour# FontSize=18 FontFace=Ink Free StringAlign=CENTER ;StringStyle=Bold AntiAlias=1
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: March 4th, 2023, 8:16 am
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
The skin folder just contains this main ini file. This is the font I am using.Active Colors wrote: ↑May 18th, 2023, 12:04 pm Can you perhaps pack your whole skin folder into a .zip archive? By whole I mean including any additional files inside besides the main ini file. This would be more practical and accurate to debug as we will have close to the exact same codition as you have.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 2388
- Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
So this skin is not in a folder that contains a @Resources\Fonts folder that contains the font? Where did you install that Trade Winds font?BlackChadhar wrote: ↑May 18th, 2023, 12:41 pm The skin folder just contains this main ini file. This is the font I am using.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 15316
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
Just as a side note, here is something related to the fonts used in Rainmeter skins. Those fonts may be located into two different places. They have to be either installed onto your computer, or the .ttf or .otf files have to be placed into the @Resources\Fonts folder of your config. In both cases Rainmeter is able to use those fonts, but there is something else to be kept in mind: in the code of your skin, when you want to use a font, you have to use the name of the font family, as shown in the Font name line, in the dialog of the font (which opens when you double click the .ttf file of the font).
When the fonts are placed into the @Resources\Fonts folder, they are distributed with the skin if you create a skin installer.
When the fonts are placed into the @Resources\Fonts folder, they are distributed with the skin if you create a skin installer.
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: March 4th, 2023, 8:16 am
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
The skin folder just contains this skin file.Here. I installed the Trade Winds on my laptop like how you normally do with any font.SilverAzide wrote: ↑May 18th, 2023, 2:26 pm So this skin is not in a folder that contains a @Resources\Fonts folder that contains the font? Where did you install that Trade Winds font?
I installed the Trade Winds on my laptop like how you normally do with any font. But only some skins cant seem to recognize the font until refreshed whereas the others do. The font name is not the issue as after refreshing the skin once, it recognizes the font and displays it correctly.balala wrote: ↑May 18th, 2023, 2:27 pm Just as a side note, here is something related to the fonts used in Rainmeter skins. Those fonts may be located into two different places. They have to be either installed onto your computer, or the .ttf or .otf files have to be placed into the @Resources\Fonts folder of your config. In both cases Rainmeter is able to use those fonts, but there is something else to be kept in mind: in the code of your skin, when you want to use a font, you have to use the name of the font family, as shown in the Font name line, in the dialog of the font (which opens when you double click the .ttf file of the font).
When the fonts are placed into the @Resources\Fonts folder, they are distributed with the skin if you create a skin installer.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 15316
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
Could you please post links where we can download both fonts, used by the posted skin?BlackChadhar wrote: ↑May 18th, 2023, 3:49 pm I installed the Trade Winds on my laptop like how you normally do with any font. But only some skins cant seem to recognize the font until refreshed whereas the others do. The font name is not the issue as after refreshing the skin once, it recognizes the font and displays it correctly.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 5365
- Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
- Location: Terra Yincognita
Re: Fonts reset after Rainmeter startup
I can't reproduce the issue. Rainmeter loads just fine displaying your skin using the said font, both on startup and regular load. Are you usign the latest Rainmeter version? Which operating system are you using? Are other skins loaded or loaded at the same time when you load the skin(s) exhibiting the problem, and if so, which ones are they?BlackChadhar wrote: ↑May 18th, 2023, 3:49 pmI installed the Trade Winds on my laptop like how you normally do with any font. But only some skins cant seem to recognize the font until refreshed whereas the others do. The font name is not the issue as after refreshing the skin once, it recognizes the font and displays it correctly.