It is currently September 29th, 2022, 4:38 pm

Known bug? If a config's meters/measures are updated simultanously with its deactivation, causes crash?

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
Cariboudjan
Posts: 229
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

Known bug? If a config's meters/measures are updated simultanously with its deactivation, causes crash?

Post by Cariboudjan »

Known bug? If a config's meters/measures are updated simultanously with its deactivation, causes crash?

Can't replicate it easily, but it seems that if a bang to Update a single or multiple measures/meters at the exact same time as the command is executed to deactivate that config, it can cause Rainmeter to hang.

Is there a solution for this?
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2049
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Known bug? If a config's meters/measures are updated simultanously with its deactivation, causes crash?

Post by SilverAzide »

Cariboudjan wrote: August 18th, 2022, 8:07 pm Known bug? If a config's meters/measures are updated simultanously with its deactivation, causes crash?

Can't replicate it easily, but it seems that if a bang to Update a single or multiple measures/meters at the exact same time as the command is executed to deactivate that config, it can cause Rainmeter to hang.

Is there a solution for this?
A work-around I use is to simply add a short !Delay bang in front of the !Deactivate. Seems to prevent the crash. :confused:
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4806
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Known bug? If a config's meters/measures are updated simultanously with its deactivation, causes crash?

Post by Yincognito »

This might have the same or related root cause as my currently very hard to reproduce unloaded / loaded / missing skin state bug... in that case, delays, while slightly alleviating the problem, didn't make it dissapear. Fortunately, it's rare and has a solution that doesn't involve restarting Rainmeter. Not in this case, but in other situations I also encountered crashes that were not really crashes when it came to Rainmeter, where a click or right click somewhere makes things "reset to normal", so you might as well explore such options, if nothing else works.