It is currently May 19th, 2022, 3:20 pm

[Suggestion] Add SolidColor and variations to InlineSettings

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4694
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

[Suggestion] Add SolidColor and variations to InlineSettings

Post by Yincognito »

A String meter's InlineSetting currently has "only" the ability to change the font color, either to a plain color or a gradient on the text parts matching the pattern. It would be nice to have the same ability on that text's background color, aka SolidColor and SolidColor2 / "SolidGradient". If that is technically possible, given that the SolidColor is an option common to all meters, not just String ones (maybe InlineSetting can't be made to change common meter options, but just for String meters?)...

P.S. As a bonus question, I guess it's not possible to have the line spacing able to be modified as well, right? I suppose that is too ingrained into Windows and Rainmeter wouldn't have much control over it? :???:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22519
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Suggestion] Add SolidColor and variations to InlineSettings

Post by jsmorley »

Just FYI, SolidColor operates on the entirely of the meter "container", the rectangular bounds of the meter defined by W and H or implied by the size of the elements in the meter. It really can't be made to be a "background" for individual elements of the meter.
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4694
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: [Suggestion] Add SolidColor and variations to InlineSettings

Post by Yincognito »

jsmorley wrote: March 13th, 2022, 9:56 pm Just FYI, SolidColor operates on the entirely of the meter "container", the rectangular bounds of the meter defined by W and H or implied by the size of the elements in the meter. It really can't be made to be a "background" for individual elements of the meter.
Ah, ok - thanks for making it clear. Well, at least I asked... :D
User avatar
Active Colors
Moderator
Posts: 1120
Joined: February 16th, 2012, 3:32 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: [Suggestion] Add SolidColor and variations to InlineSettings

Post by Active Colors »

Didn't want to create another thread. In InlineSettings there is an option to change spacing between letters. Would be there an option to change spacing between lines?