It is currently May 19th, 2022, 4:08 pm

Weather Station III

Weather skins
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4738
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Weather Station III

Post by eclectic-tech »

My Big Barometer
bigbarometer315.gif
Weather Station III_1.2022.03.15.rmskin
I always enjoyed setting my barometer dial each night and checking the change in the morning for a fairly accurate daily forecast. ;-)

Displays both Imperial, Metric, and Hybrid(UK) values for atmospheric pressure and temperature and condition details.
Scalable (0.05x to 2x) by scrolling mouse on the background. New size will be remembered.
The display can be minimized to any of the four skin corners selectable from the new context menu.
Preset dial (gold) can be set:
- Middle mouse click center dot to match current pressure
- Scroll over center dot to manually set position
The preset dial will automatically be set to the pressure level at midnight 00:00:00 for comparison in the morning
Details can be toggled by middle mouse click on background

History
v .03.09 Initial Release
v .03.10 Corrected error (thanks SilverAzide) | Corrected code to preset pressure at midnight | Modified scaling by scrolling on background and to remember the size | Details toggle via middle mouse click
v .03.10a Corrected typo preventing setting preset at midnight
v .03.10+ All weather units and languages are supported | Corrected dials for more accuracy | New context menu options
v .03.11 Added options for user colors of dials and face to variables file | refined temperature dial scale
v 03.15 Modified details as small external discs | Added toggle details to context menu
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22519
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Weather Station III

Post by jsmorley »

Wow. That's a cool skin!
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1880
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Weather Station III

Post by SilverAzide »

Neato!

One minor typo:

Code: Select all

MeasureName2=@UnitsTemp is not valid (WeatherStationIII\BigBarometer\weatherstationBB.ini - [MeterFeelsLabel])
Change to @UnitsTemperature and all is well. Well, all's well in Tahiti, anyway. Looking pretty crappy at my house.... ;-)
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 849
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: Weather Station III

Post by CyberTheWorm »

Nice, any chance of not using freedom units
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4738
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Weather Station III

Post by eclectic-tech »

Thanks Jeff, hopefully these last updates make it easier to use and modify (v.1.2022.03.10 updated in first post)

Ugh! :o I noticed the error caused by one of my last-minute additions... corrected (thanks for noticing SilverAzide)

CyberTheWorm "freedom units" ... I am getting slower in my old age and am not sure what you mean? :???:
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1880
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Weather Station III

Post by SilverAzide »

CyberTheWorm wrote: March 10th, 2022, 1:12 am Nice, any chance of not using freedom units
LOL! I assume you want the following, since this skin uses JSMorley's weather.com templates: Open the WeatherComJSONVariables.inc file and check out the following section:

Code: Select all

; Units of measure. This must be one of the following lower case letters:
; e		This is "Imperial", using Fahrenheit for temperatures.
; m		This is "Metric", using Celsius for temperatures.
; h		This is "Hybrid", used primarily in the UK. Celsius for temperatures, but miles for distances.

Units=e
;Units=m
;Units=h
Just (un)comment the lines for the units you prefer.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4738
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Weather Station III

Post by eclectic-tech »

SilverAzide wrote: March 10th, 2022, 3:08 am LOL! I assume you want the following, since this skin uses JSMorley's weather.com templates: Open the WeatherComJSONVariables.inc file and check out the following section:

Code: Select all

; Units of measure. This must be one of the following lower case letters:
; e		This is "Imperial", using Fahrenheit for temperatures.
; m		This is "Metric", using Celsius for temperatures.
; h		This is "Hybrid", used primarily in the UK. Celsius for temperatures, but miles for distances.

Units=e
;Units=m
;Units=h
Just (un)comment the lines for the units you prefer.
Uh-uh-ah! DO NOT MODDIFY THE UNITS TYPE. The barometer dial only function properly by using Units=e
Also, it is best to use Language=en-US

The downside is due to using a dial that shows both Imperial and Metric on the same scale which makes Language and Units conversion directly from TWC problematic.


EDIT: I made an updates version that supports all weather Units types: e, m, and h.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1880
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Weather Station III

Post by SilverAzide »

Oops! :oops:
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4738
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Weather Station III

Post by eclectic-tech »

SilverAzide wrote: March 10th, 2022, 12:21 pm Oops! :oops:
I took CyberTheWorm's suggestion and updated the code to handle Imperial (Freedom :? ), Metric, and Hybrid data from TWC.
It will also display conditions in other languages.

The context menu lets you select:
weather units, anchor point when minimized, and edit weather variables code, to set latitude, longitude and language options.

I will post the updated package later today.

Thanks for the feedback; your comments pushed me to rethink this to what it should have been initially :rosegift:
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 849
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: Weather Station III

Post by CyberTheWorm »

Thanks, by the way I really like the skin even if I have to convert miles to km and F to C, it reminds me on the one I had growing up.
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page