It is currently September 25th, 2022, 1:23 pm

[Suggestion] Line spacing between lines in string meter

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
Jax
Posts: 100
Joined: June 7th, 2021, 11:46 am

[Suggestion] Line spacing between lines in string meter

Post by Jax »

Line spacing between lines. There isn't a way to add spacing between lines right now without separating the string into multiple string meters.

Maybe something like this?

Code: Select all

[String]
Meter=String
Text=One#CRLF#Two#CRLF#Three
Spacing=10
User avatar
Infideluxe
Posts: 9
Joined: December 30th, 2021, 1:37 am

Re: [Suggestion] Line spacing between lines in string meter

Post by Infideluxe »

Hi Jax,
(hijacks!)

Good request.
This is a typographical measure called LEADING (but it's pronounced LEDDING; I know, weird). But "Spacing" makes perfect sense as well.

A shorter and more common syntax (in software circles) for what you're asking for would be: One\nTwo\nThree

In the next five minutes, I'm going to request a better KERNING (intercharacter spacing) control as well.

Typographic layout controls are important.
User avatar
death.crafter
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1398
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: [Suggestion] Line spacing between lines in string meter

Post by death.crafter »

Infideluxe wrote: December 30th, 2021, 11:28 pm Hi Jax,
(hijacks!)

Good request.
This is a typographical measure called LEADING (but it's pronounced LEDDING; I know, weird). But "Spacing" makes perfect sense as well.

A shorter and more common syntax (in software circles) for what you're asking for would be: One\nTwo\nThree

In the next five minutes, I'm going to request a better KERNING (intercharacter spacing) control as well.

Typographic layout controls are important.
There already is, see: https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/string/inline/#InlineCharacterSpacing
from the Realm of Death
User avatar
Infideluxe
Posts: 9
Joined: December 30th, 2021, 1:37 am

Re: [Suggestion] Line spacing between lines in string meter

Post by Infideluxe »

Yes! I realized that after I wrote to you.
I had been using it incorrectly, it turns out.
However, I still can't figure out how to use the third parameter.

Thank you.
User avatar
killall-q
Posts: 299
Joined: August 14th, 2009, 8:04 am

Re: [Suggestion] Line spacing between lines in string meter

Post by killall-q »

I discovered a way to customize line spacing/leading to be anything you wish without needing a new feature.

Code: Select all

[Variables]
FontSize=10

[SomeText]
Meter=String
FontSize=#FontSize#
Text=First line#CRLF#Second line#CRLF#Third line
InlineSetting=Size | (#FontSize#*1.2)
InlinePattern=\R
What we're doing here is adjusting the font size of newline characters. (#FontSize#*1.2) gives you a gap between each line of font height * 0.2.