It is currently February 4th, 2023, 3:42 am

How to make weather refresh itself?

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
donkeykong123
Posts: 3
Joined: April 25th, 2010, 4:35 pm

How to make weather refresh itself?

Post by donkeykong123 »

I was wondering if it was possible to make the weather refresh itself every couple minutes?
Usually, it stays the same
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 509
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: How to make weather refresh itself?

Post by maminscris »

if the data did not change can stay the same for 5 hours or more

edit: all weather skins refreshes on a specific interval
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
donkeykong123
Posts: 3
Joined: April 25th, 2010, 4:35 pm

Re: How to make weather refresh itself?

Post by donkeykong123 »

is it possible to make the interval smaller to make the refresh time shorter?
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: How to make weather refresh itself?

Post by dragonmage »

No. The refresh time is set to a specific rate because the website only updates the page at a certain rate. Hitting the site more often than the page updates is uselessly wasting bandwidth and will not make the weather provider very happy.
They could shut off the service to all of us.

If you need up-to-the-minute weather information, you could get a home weather station, and create a skin to access your own data. At least one user here is doing that.
donkeykong123
Posts: 3
Joined: April 25th, 2010, 4:35 pm

Re: How to make weather refresh itself?

Post by donkeykong123 »

ok thanks