It is currently February 4th, 2023, 3:40 am

Rainmeter update measure=registry problem

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22558
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Rainmeter update measure=registry problem

Post by jsmorley »

mikeyo wrote:Ah, indeed, never spotted that, thanks.
I suppose I just need to use a startup delay type app to ensure rainmeter starts after everest....
That would work. I will poke around with Registry a bit though. It "looks" like it might be checking for the key, and if it is not found at all, is setting some "key doesn't exist" flag so it doesn't keep banging on it for no reason. Might be able to change that behavior.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22558
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Rainmeter update measure=registry problem

Post by jsmorley »

Do me a favor, and get the correct version of this build for your system, install it, and try your skin again with Rainmeter loading before Everest.

Rainmeter-1.2-r390-32bit-beta.exe

Rainmeter-1.2-r390-64bit-beta.exe

Let me know if it now works correctly.
mikeyo
Posts: 6
Joined: April 24th, 2010, 8:53 pm

Re: Rainmeter update measure=registry problem

Post by mikeyo »

jsmorley wrote:Do me a favor, and get the correct version of this build for your system, install it, and try your skin again with Rainmeter loading before Everest.

Rainmeter-1.2-r390-32bit-beta.exe

Rainmeter-1.2-r390-64bit-beta.exe

Let me know if it now works correctly.
wow, wow, wow. Did exactly as you asked and it works a treat, thanks for the really prompt fix!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22558
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Rainmeter update measure=registry problem

Post by jsmorley »

Ok, here is one more version to try:

Rainmeter-1.2-r391-32bit-beta.exe

Rainmeter-1.2-r391-64bit-beta.exe


The one I sent a bit ago fixed the problem when the key didn't exist when the skin was loaded, but still had an issue if the key was deleted while the skin was loaded. So it would properly change to the new value, but not back to "0" if you deleted the key while the skin was running. That is fixed in this new one.

Give it a try and make sure it works for you.

Glad you found this. I think it works better now.

THANKS TO MATTKING FOR MAKING THE FIX IN THE CODE! WE OWE HIM A BEER!
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Rainmeter update measure=registry problem

Post by dragonmage »

jsmorley wrote:
THANKS TO MATTKING FOR MAKING THE FIX IN THE CODE! WE OWE HIM A BEER!
I think we should come up with another type of reward for our devs...

The more work they do the drunker they will be, quality may begin to suffer.

I'm wondering if this type of fix might be possible with the Window Message plugin as well. You know how the title info from media players for example "sticks" after the player is closed?