It is currently November 29th, 2021, 5:39 am

Unable to create font xy

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Thjodolf
Posts: 2
Joined: April 21st, 2010, 10:31 am

Unable to create font xy

Post by Thjodolf »

Hello,

I have the following problem: I want to use the V5 prophit font in Rainmeter.
You can find it here: http://www.dafont.com/font-comment.php?file=v5prophit_cell

But I get the Error: "Unable to create font: V5 Prophit"
I don't know why Rainmeter has no problems with the other Fonts on my computer.
I have only problems with the V5 Prophit. I could imagine it's perhaps because this
font has got "Accents" and "Euro"-sign in it as you can read on the page.

I hope you can help me. I love this font.
By the way: I use the Rainmeter-Version 1.2 rev380 64bit.
User avatar
JamesAC
Developer
Posts: 318
Joined: July 14th, 2009, 5:57 pm

Re: Unable to create font xy

Post by JamesAC »

I assume you have the font installed in windows. If so go to your font folder, open the font and check the name of it. The font name may not be the same as the file name.
+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22414
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Unable to create font xy

Post by jsmorley »

Worked fine for me. I went to that link above, downloaded it, installed V5PRC___.TTF in Windows. Exited Rainmeter, restarted it. Changed a skin to use:

FontFace=V5 Prophit

Refreshed the skin, and the font was used just fine.

Be sure to follow those steps. The restart of Rainmeter (not a refresh, exit and restart) is required when you install a new font.
Thjodolf
Posts: 2
Joined: April 21st, 2010, 10:31 am

Re: Unable to create font xy

Post by Thjodolf »

Thanx for answering so quick.

I always restart Rainmeter and never had problems with any other font.
And I checked the name of the Font is seems to be correct. And...I use Windows 7

@jsmorley: Which name did you use for the font? I've installed the V5PRC__.TTF-file and have used "V5 Prophit". Using "V5 Phrophit Cell" showed no error but it changed nothing with my Rainmeter-skin.

What's new to me ist the FontFace.

I use the skin-collection Pileus. You can change the Fonts in his skins by editing the PileusVariables.inc found in the Pileus-Package.
I have to change TitleFont there.

What is FontFace and where do I have to edit it?

...waiting for more nice answers... :)

P.S.: I hope you'll forgive me my bad english ;)
Badman
Posts: 2
Joined: April 23rd, 2010, 8:25 am

Re: Unable to create font xy

Post by Badman »

have the same problem here :(

I just installed rainmeter and the first time I run, it shows dialog "Unable to create font: Trebuchet MS"

Can you help me please??
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22414
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Unable to create font xy

Post by jsmorley »

Badman wrote:have the same problem here :(

I just installed rainmeter and the first time I run, it shows dialog "Unable to create font: Trebuchet MS"

Can you help me please??
That error has nothing to do (in spite of what it may sound like) with a bad or missing font.

Here is how Rainmeter behaves:

1) The font is found and loads ok - No problem

2) The font is not found/loaded (bad Family Name in the skin normally, but there are also some badly designed fonts that Rainmeter just hates) - NO ERROR, just defaults to "Arial" and moves on

3) The font is found, but there is an impossible setting like FontSize=NOTHING in a skin - "Unable to create font: Whatever" error.

You are getting number 3. So you have a variable like FontSize or FontColor that is invalid somewhere in a skin. In the Enigma world, this almost certainly means there is a problem with UserVariables.inc.