It is currently October 22nd, 2021, 10:52 am

Alien v1.1.0

Skins that monitor system information
User avatar
AliciaBrownSugar
Posts: 4
Joined: September 3rd, 2021, 8:44 pm

Re: Alien v1.1.0

Post by AliciaBrownSugar »

SilverAzide wrote: September 3rd, 2021, 9:18 pm Glad you are enjoying the skin and having fun tweaking it! :great:

If you REALLY want a cool desktop setup, get the matching Amplifi Alien router, too, LOL. I tried to make the skin look as close as possible to the real thing, but I could not get the network activity histogram running as smoothly. It's kind of expensive, but it has the most insanely over-the-top display of any router ever, LOL...
I do have a question... is there an option to display GPU info too? I really love your design and it'd be cool to have it show that in the same type of template as your Alien theme.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1616
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Alien v1.1.0

Post by SilverAzide »

AliciaBrownSugar wrote: September 3rd, 2021, 11:36 pm I do have a question... is there an option to display GPU info too? I really love your design and it'd be cool to have it show that in the same type of template as your Alien theme.
I didn't add GPU info to this skin, but it is definitely doable. This would require using a third-party utility like HWiNFO, since Rainmeter (and Windows) can only query a limited amount of GPU info. This would add a lot of complexity to the skin (and to the configuration), so I skipped it for the v1.x version. If there is interest I can add it as an enhancement at some point.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
AliciaBrownSugar
Posts: 4
Joined: September 3rd, 2021, 8:44 pm

Re: Alien v1.1.0

Post by AliciaBrownSugar »

SilverAzide wrote: September 3rd, 2021, 11:49 pm I didn't add GPU info to this skin, but it is definitely doable. This would require using a third-party utility like HWiNFO, since Rainmeter (and Windows) can only query a limited amount of GPU info. This would add a lot of complexity to the skin (and to the configuration), so I skipped it for the v1.x version. If there is interest I can add it as an enhancement at some point.
I could just use GPU Tweak to show it. It's already there. I could arrange it something like this:
Image
Then add a background to my extra screen tying the two together or something. I can find something to go to the other side or just not put the extra gpu tweak box on the left. Maybe I'll do FPS or something. The extra screen hasn't even shipped yet so I don't know how it'll all look on the screen yet. Lol, I literally just bought the screen today off amazon.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1616
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Alien v1.1.0

Post by SilverAzide »

AliciaBrownSugar wrote: September 4th, 2021, 12:00 am I could just use GPU Tweak to show it. It's already there. I could arrange it something like this:
Image
Then add a background to my extra screen tying the two together or something. I can find something to go to the other side or just not put the extra gpu tweak box on the left. Maybe I'll do FPS or something. The extra screen hasn't even shipped yet so I don't know how it'll all look on the screen yet. Lol, I literally just bought the screen today off amazon.
All the data shown in the Asus app in your screenshot is accessible from HWiNFO, which in turn means Rainmeter can get it and display it since Rainmeter can talk to HWiNFO. So it can be done and it's not super difficult either... it's actually more of a pain to build the configuration routine than it is to actually show the GPU info, LOL.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
AliciaBrownSugar
Posts: 4
Joined: September 3rd, 2021, 8:44 pm

Re: Alien v1.1.0

Post by AliciaBrownSugar »

SilverAzide wrote: September 4th, 2021, 12:12 am All the data shown in the Asus app in your screenshot is accessible from HWiNFO, which in turn means Rainmeter can get it and display it since Rainmeter can talk to HWiNFO. So it can be done and it's not super difficult either... it's actually more of a pain to build the configuration routine than it is to actually show the GPU info, LOL.
yeah, the area under the fan speed technically shows the GPU temp. I'd just need to find how to get the VRAM usage/CPU speed to show there too. Maybe when I'm less noobish I'll be able to figure it out. I found the colors, so I'm not thaaaattttt terrible at this. I just don't know the code stuff yet, haha.