It is currently July 4th, 2022, 5:15 am

Market Prices

RSS, ATOM and other feeds, GMail, Stocks, any information retrieved from the internet
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1923
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by SilverAzide »

FreeRaider wrote: June 8th, 2022, 12:03 pm In my Internet Option applet there is not an option "Use TLS 1.3 (experimental)"
Interesting. Perhaps this is the source of the error. The devs might need to chime in, but I thought I read (either in the docs or mentioned in a thread someplace) that WebParser hooks into Windows APIs or libraries that are essentially those used by IE. So if CNBC is using TLS 1.3, perhaps this is why both IE and WebParser can't hit that site.

If you open a PowerShell prompt and enter the command:

Code: Select all

Invoke-WebRequest -Uri "https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/.DJI" -Method Get -OutFile "C:\TEMP\out.html"
(Change the output filename as needed.) Just curious to see if Windows can hit this site this way (via .NET instead of IE).
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
FreeRaider
Posts: 826
Joined: November 20th, 2012, 11:58 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by FreeRaider »

SilverAzide wrote: June 8th, 2022, 2:55 pm Interesting. Perhaps this is the source of the error. The devs might need to chime in, but I thought I read (either in the docs or mentioned in a thread someplace) that WebParser hooks into Windows APIs or libraries that are essentially those used by IE. So if CNBC is using TLS 1.3, perhaps this is why both IE and WebParser can't hit that site.

If you open a PowerShell prompt and enter the command:

Code: Select all

Invoke-WebRequest -Uri "https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/.DJI" -Method Get -OutFile "C:\TEMP\out.html"
(Change the output filename as needed.) Just curious to see if Windows can hit this site this way (via .NET instead of IE).
In my Windows 7 64-bit machine Invoke-WebRequest is an ObjectNotFound: (Invoke-WebRequest:String)
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1923
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by SilverAzide »

FreeRaider wrote: June 9th, 2022, 11:26 am In my Windows 7 64-bit machine Invoke-WebRequest is an ObjectNotFound: (Invoke-WebRequest:String)
Ohhh... Windows 7. Maybe that's the problem. ;)
Invoke-WebRequest was added in Powershell 3.0, which came with Windows 8. I was trying to think of different way to test if your machine could hit that site, but I'm out of ideas... maybe it's a topic for another thread.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
parkerh80
Posts: 1
Joined: June 9th, 2022, 11:24 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by parkerh80 »

Hi! I appear to be in the same boat as FreeRaider - I'm still using Windows 7... and I am having the same issues that they are having (Don't have a TLS 1.3 option, Invoke-WebRequest throws an error, etc). Other Skins work for me - Enigma properly fetches the Moon phase, and NOVAWeather properly fetches weather data. IE is un-insatalled on my system, and I instead use either Firefox or Chrome. I can access https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/.DJI from either of these browsers without issue. I have tried re-installing the skin, and leaving all of the default setting as is. However, with all of that, the two default stocks look roughly like:

coming soon.. - (0.00%)
loading.... - (0.00%)


Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dhruvkharwar
Posts: 1
Joined: June 29th, 2022, 2:17 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by dhruvkharwar »

Mordasius wrote: February 15th, 2021, 1:52 am horizontal-2.jpg

How about this?

You can edit the font size, colours, spacings and a bunch of other stuff in the MarketPrices-Horizontal.ini file. Change HideColoredPrices=0 to HideColoredPrices=1 to toggle the up/down/steady colour for prices.


MarketPrices-Horizontal_150221.rmskin
How can we add the day's change in points and percentage also to be displayed along with the price?
User avatar
Mordasius
Posts: 1095
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 4:23 pm
Location: GMT +8

Re: Market Prices

Post by Mordasius »

dhruvkharwar wrote: June 29th, 2022, 2:19 pm How can we add the day's change in points and percentage also to be displayed along with the price?
I think that is already there in the default skin.