It is currently June 15th, 2024, 6:52 am

Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

General topics related to Rainmeter.
sgtevmckay

Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by sgtevmckay »

Hello Folks

Apologies for my lack of presences, been dealing with a lot of issues.

Either way: withe some of the advents in the latest Beta release
I am curious if we could replicate PolarClock???
http://blog.pixelbreaker.com/polarclock

This has been listed as one of the neatest do-hickeys for Mac systems for years....I am thinking that it is about time to bring it to Windows via Rainmeter.

Anyone want to take a whack at it???
User avatar
Benjamin Linus
Posts: 163
Joined: July 12th, 2009, 4:05 pm
Location: The Island

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by Benjamin Linus »

NICE :!:
I still enjoy master kenz0's linear clock a lot.
Sure someone will take a look at this tho'.
Image
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22637
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by jsmorley »

Getting a clock to look like that should not be that hard. There are several now that get close. Getting that smooth animation on the "second" circle is going to be tricky. It will be a CPU Killer to get a smooth movement rather than a "tick, tock, tick, tock" effect.
User avatar
karmat
Posts: 329
Joined: July 7th, 2009, 11:10 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by karmat »

Haven't seen that one before, pretty cool. Have you seen the clock in Varelse's WIP? http://varelse42.deviantart.com/art/Seclorum-Preview-2-156308624
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 642
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by Alex2539 »

Been there, done that.

I did this a while ago. I decided not to copy it exactly, which is why it looks the way it does. Originally there was also colour and the numbers showed by default. I stripped the colour, added a background and hid the numbers, which are now revealed when the skin is right-clicked.
ImageImageImageImage
sgtevmckay

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by sgtevmckay »

Alex2539 wrote:Been there, done that.

I did this a while ago. I decided not to copy it exactly, which is why it looks the way it does. Originally there was also colour and the numbers showed by default. I stripped the colour, added a background and hid the numbers, which are now revealed when the skin is right-clicked.

Ack...I feel like an idiot....I forgot all about that.....my deepest apologies Alex :Embarrassed:
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 642
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by Alex2539 »

It's alright. It was a long time ago.
ImageImageImageImage
sgtevmckay

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by sgtevmckay »

Now all I needs do is figure out how to add the color changes with the new RGB stuff in the beta :-)
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 642
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by Alex2539 »

It's actually already completely doable with version 1.1. Thanks to this topic, I went back and looked at the clock to fix some stuff up. First and foremost, it's not more efficient, mostly that to the fact that I found a better way to achieve he smooth seconds ring. As a side effect it now also swings all the way back when it reaches maximum, just like the screensaver does. Also, I added in color, as well as an option to greyscale it. By using the colours, it will pick a random starting colour, then transition through the rest of them as time passes. Grey will just shift from a dark-ish grey (96,96,96) all the way to white.

I'll have updated the original topic in a minute or two.
ImageImageImageImage
sgtevmckay

Re: Who thinks we can take a run at replicating PolarDock

Post by sgtevmckay »

LOL...thanks...I have been pouring over the code in that last hour, and I just snapped how to make it all work...I will have to compare notes when you are done :p