It is currently April 19th, 2024, 2:11 pm

How to prevent files/folders going "underneath" Rainmeter?

General topics related to Rainmeter.
Netherspark

How to prevent files/folders going "underneath" Rainmeter?

Post by Netherspark »

Hi, I'm new to Rainmeter and I have a question:

I'm trying to make a vertical dock-type thing for the left side of my screen. The problem is whenever a new file/item is added to my desktop, such as a downloaded file it automatically gets placed in the top left of the screen, and ends up behind/underneath the Rainmeter object. I then have to unload the whole thing to move the file out...

Is there a way to stop files and folders etc from occupying the same space as a Rainmeter object? I know you're prevented from placing them manually, but this happens automatically.

Ideally I want it to occupy space like a line of icons would - with any new items appearing below it.
jsmorley
Developer

Re: How to prevent files/folders going "underneath" Rainmeter?

Post by jsmorley »

No, there is no way to prevent shortcuts or files that Windows adds to the desktop from being "behind" the Rainmeter skins in the same location. That is just a function of Windows, which insists that shortcuts, files or folders on the desktop are always considered "behind" all other windows on the screen.

My best advice is try to avoid having things put icons on the desktop. You can't always prevent this when you install something, but most of the time you can uncheck any "Place shortcut on Desktop" options as you are installing.
Netherspark

Post by Netherspark »

That's a shame. Thanks for the reply though.

I guess I'll have to go with my backup plan - to put a series of empty folders with blank icons behind the bar to take up space :p

Or, is there something else I could place behind the dock that would do the same thing?
Active Colors

Post by Active Colors »