It is currently December 7th, 2022, 7:59 pm

Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

General topics related to Rainmeter.

How much RAM (in megabytes) and CPU does Rainmeter use for you?

RAM: 0-15
30
28%
RAM: 15-25
13
12%
RAM: 25-35
7
6%
RAM: 35-45
3
3%
RAM: 45+
1
1%
CPU: 0-5%
42
39%
CPU: 5-10%
5
5%
CPU: 10-20%
4
4%
CPU: 20-30%
1
1%
CPU: 30%+
2
2%
 
Total votes: 108
User avatar
Kaelri
Developer
Posts: 1721
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 4:47 am

Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by Kaelri »

After seeing this thread, I thought it would be interesting to collect some actual sample data from our users about Rainmeter's resource usage.

The poll above allows you to select 2 options, so pick the range of RAM and CPU that matches Rainmeter as it's running for you. To find out how much this is, press Ctrl-Alt-Delete and find "Rainmeter.exe" in the Processes tab. If you can provide it, a screenshot would be great, too, so we can see just what is using all those bits and cycles.

For me, the following setup (just the bar at the bottom, grand total of five skins) is using 11 megabytes of memory, and a maximum of 3% CPU (out of a 1.7GHz processor).

User avatar
bendenfield
Posts: 98
Joined: July 30th, 2009, 12:17 am
Location: Germany

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by bendenfield »

CPU (2x 2.0Ghz): highest 2%. mostly 0%.
RAM: around 8MB. i couldn't vote for the RAM since the option was not given.

with 22 configs running 8-). hehe.
Visit my new homepage. Finally a TLD ;D
http://bendenfield.com
User avatar
Kaelri
Developer
Posts: 1721
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 4:47 am

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by Kaelri »

bendenfield wrote:with 22 configs running 8-). hehe.
Ah, heh. I'll change the first option to be 0-15.
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 509
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by maminscris »

when iTunes is not playing cpu is 0-2 mostly 0, and ram at 12-14. when iTunes is playing cpu is at 0-3 and ram at 16-18. I have an iTunes config open.

long ado i use konfabulator, now yahoo widget engine, witch was a memory hog, every widget was eating cpu and ram, you have 5 widgets it is 5*cpu and 5*ram, plus the program itself soooo

rainmeter is not even close a memory hog, i drink for that :beer:
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
User avatar
bendenfield
Posts: 98
Joined: July 30th, 2009, 12:17 am
Location: Germany

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by bendenfield »

maminscris wrote:rainmeter is not even close a memory hog, i drink for that :beer:
that smiley is just awesome, huh? :beer:


kaelri wrote:Ah, heh. I'll change the first option to be 0-15.
thanks. i adjusted my vote. from what i see in the results Rainmeter really does not use much resource.
Visit my new homepage. Finally a TLD ;D
http://bendenfield.com
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 995
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by Chewtoy »

The CPU-usage is registerd as 0% for me... So... heh.. I'm on a Intel quad-core Q8200 2.33GHz.
Using 9k-10k of RAM. And I assume that it's sopposed to be a "K" after all the options with RAM in the poll. ;)

This is my desk so... It's not all the much I got. But get's the job done. ^^
RandomScreen1.JPG
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
User avatar
Kaelri
Developer
Posts: 1721
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 4:47 am

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by Kaelri »

Chewtoy wrote:Using 9k-10k of RAM. And I assume that it's sopposed to be a "K" after all the options with RAM in the poll. ;)
You must be misreading your task manager... Rainmeter uses at least 4-5 M even without a single skin loaded. I don't even have processes under 200k, and that's stuff like Google Crash Handler...
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 995
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by Chewtoy »

Kaelri wrote: You must be misreading your task manager... Rainmeter uses at least 4-5 M even without a single skin loaded. I don't even have processes under 200k, and that's stuff like Google Crash Handler...
...Indeed. You are correct. "9 978 K" be the writing. ==~10M. Stupid misstake. -.-'
But. I would still assume that we are not talking "15" but indeed "15M".
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 509
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by maminscris »

here is the task manager
processor intel core 2 duo E7300 @2.66 GHz and 2 GB of ram
left with no skin, right with my theme

attachment deleted

here is the desktop, 8 skins.

attachment deleted
Last edited by maminscris on January 19th, 2010, 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
User avatar
JamesAC
Developer
Posts: 318
Joined: July 14th, 2009, 5:57 pm

Re: Poll: Rainmeter Resource Usage

Post by JamesAC »

hmm, my RAM usage is not very high at around 8MB but my CPU is averageing about 13%

Im not sure why though, I dont have many skins open and as far as i can tell none are refreshing more often than necassary

EDIT: Rainmeter is now running at between 0 and 2% CPU but im not sure what has changed :?
Last edited by JamesAC on November 8th, 2009, 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?