It is currently December 7th, 2023, 5:56 pm
Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: May 10th, 2013, 1:21 am
Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
Is there a way to code a rainmeter skin so that it gains focus over other skins/windows on mouse over?
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: May 28th, 2010, 8:42 pm
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
http://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/mouse-actions
"Mouse Hover Options
MouseOverAction
Action to execute when the mouse cursor is moved over the meter or skin.
MouseLeaveAction
Action to execute when the mouse cursor leaves the meter or skin."
EDIT: didn't understand the full question, I do not know if you can change the position in terms of top, bottom, ect with API commands.
"Mouse Hover Options
MouseOverAction
Action to execute when the mouse cursor is moved over the meter or skin.
MouseLeaveAction
Action to execute when the mouse cursor leaves the meter or skin."
EDIT: didn't understand the full question, I do not know if you can change the position in terms of top, bottom, ect with API commands.
-
- Posts: 32
- Joined: January 17th, 2013, 1:45 pm
- Location: Canada
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
The MouseOverActions seem to be the way to do it, But I would like to know what is the actual command/bang that would be executed on mouseover to take focus? !Refresh seems like overkill, so maybe a simple !Update or !Redraw would do it?
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: May 10th, 2013, 1:21 am
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
Nope, tried putting MouseOverAction=!Redraw in both the [Rainmeter] and in the main background images block, neither would bring it to focus when the mouse was over the skin.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: May 28th, 2010, 8:42 pm
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
redraw wouldn't work. You need to figure out a way to change the skin's position. If you have an active skin and you right click it and under i think settings -> position there are options such as "top-most" "top" "bottom" "bottom-most".
If on mouse over you could change the desired skin to "top-most" and then on mouse off go back to whatever position is was before you should get the desired result. Having said that I do not know how to change skin position in this way with the API.
If on mouse over you could change the desired skin to "top-most" and then on mouse off go back to whatever position is was before you should get the desired result. Having said that I do not know how to change skin position in this way with the API.
-
- Posts: 366
- Joined: November 12th, 2009, 4:47 pm
- Location: Ukraine
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
Wrote a little utility RainFocus.exe
On loading it checks if Rainmeter window under mouse pointer, if True --> bring skin (not skins) into focus --> Exit, if False --> Exit.
Try it)
where PATH_TO_RAINFOCUS full path to RainFocus.exe
Download:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/7oqsko
On loading it checks if Rainmeter window under mouse pointer, if True --> bring skin (not skins) into focus --> Exit, if False --> Exit.
Try it)
Code: Select all
[Rainmeter]
Author=Faradey
Update=1000
MouseOverAction=[PATH_TO_RAINFOCUS]
Download:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/7oqsko
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 5231
- Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
- Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
Thanks ~Faradey~!~Faradey~ wrote:Wrote a little utility RainFocus.exe
On loading it checks if Rainmeter window under mouse pointer, if True --> bring skin (not skins) into focus --> Exit, if False --> Exit.
Try it)
...

This simple utility comes in very handy for my fileview.dll menus...
Now I just need to edit 100 ini files to add this line

Thanks again!
:: My DA Gallery :: Rainmeter DA Gallery :: Rainmeter Workshops :: Rainmeter Documentation :: BBCode Guide ::
-
- Posts: 366
- Joined: November 12th, 2009, 4:47 pm
- Location: Ukraine
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
eclectic-tech
glad you liked it, let me know if you need to add or change something in utility
glad you liked it, let me know if you need to add or change something in utility
-
- Posts: 478
- Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
Faradey, any hope of getting this as an addon for Rainmeter, and allow focus to be set on specific call? Such as LeftMouseUpAction=[!CommandMeasure "MeasureFocus" "SkinName\SkinName.ini"]
Droptop Four
Dropdown menu bar & app launcher for Windows & Rainmeter
Dropdown menu bar & app launcher for Windows & Rainmeter
-
- Posts: 944
- Joined: May 7th, 2016, 7:32 am
Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus
Anyone have this utility still/
The link is dead.
It would really help in my Blackout skin, which seems to need a focus assert - on mouseover is exactly what I needs.
The link is dead.
It would really help in my Blackout skin, which seems to need a focus assert - on mouseover is exactly what I needs.
My DevArt Gallery
There are many ways to be different - there is only one way to be yourself - be amazing at it
The law of averages says what it means; even if you get everything right, you will get something wrong. Therefore; self managing error trapping initiates another set of averages - amongst the errors, some of them will not be errors, instead those instances will appear to be "luck". One cannot complain of the 'appearance' of 'infinite regress of causation', even if it does not have a predictable pattern, only that it requires luck to achieve.
There are many ways to be different - there is only one way to be yourself - be amazing at it
The law of averages says what it means; even if you get everything right, you will get something wrong. Therefore; self managing error trapping initiates another set of averages - amongst the errors, some of them will not be errors, instead those instances will appear to be "luck". One cannot complain of the 'appearance' of 'infinite regress of causation', even if it does not have a predictable pattern, only that it requires luck to achieve.