It is currently May 7th, 2024, 10:29 pm

Update notifier in skin

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Kirito

Update notifier in skin

Post by Kirito »

ok umm hello everyone, im new here but have so far made 2 very simple skins (they are on my deviant page), the question i have is one of my skins, i add updates every now and again and re release it as a new version, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 , what im wondering is, can i add a feature that will (like the gmail notifier skin) keep an eye on the deviant page where i post the updates, whatch the number in the name, say like skin ver 1.1, if 1.1 is higher than its own version it will pop up a message to the user and let them know there is a new version??

any help would be appreciated, im new to coding my own skins and still have alot to learn, any help or advice would be much appreciated, currently im trying to study the rss features and webparser options to learn how they fully work.
Art is the ultimate sense of freedom, u cant learn art like u do science, instead learn and adapt it to what u like and what feels best
jsmorley
Developer

Re: Update notifier in skin

Post by jsmorley »

Yes, you will need to use WebParser to accomplish this.

What I would do is some variant of:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1

[Variables]
Version=1.0

[MeasureVersion]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
URL=http://jsmorley.deviantart.com/art/JSWeather-2-0-339282232
RegExp="(?siU)<meta name="description" content="\[Version: (.*)\]"
StringIndex=1
FinishAction=!EnableMeasure CheckVersion

[CheckVersion]
Measure=Calc
Formula=MeasureVersion > #Version# ? 1 : 0
IfEqualValue=1
IfEqualAction=!ShowMeter MeterOldVersion
Disabled=1

[MeterOldVersion]
Meter=String
FontSize=12
FontColor=168,59,61,255
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text=Your skin version is out of date!#CRLF#Click here to get new version
LeftMouseUpAction=["http://jsmorley.deviantart.com/art/JSWeather-2-0-339282232"]
Hidden=1