It is currently May 1st, 2024, 3:47 am

IPV6 address

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Muff

IPV6 address

Post by Muff »

Hello All,

I am new to Rainmeter, I would like to create a skin that will allow me to display the IPV6 address of the relevant machine.

Whilst this is possible using the webparser plugin, I would like to know if there are any other methods of getting the local IPV6 address without having to connect to a URL, in the same way as IPV4 works.

My task is to develop a widget style icon which would run on a terminal (thin client). This terminal does not have access to the internet (WAN). I have looked at reading from the registry, with no luck.

Hope this makes sense.

R
Muff
KreAch3R

Re: IPV6 address

Post by KreAch3R »

I don't think that is possible, as you need the router's external IP. That can be seen only from the Internet, I think. Besides that, why would you need to display the router's external IP in a machine that ins't connected to the Internet? :???:

I can think of two ways:
  1. Your router configuration page may contain the external IP address. If the thin client is connected to the router, then you might be able to parse that.
  2. If this machine is in some sort of network with another PC that is connected to the Internet, I guess that you could use that PC to write the external IP to a shared file and then parse that file with Webparser in the thin client.
Inactive, due to life changes. Send me a PM for any question.

Desktop DeviartArt
Muff

Post by Muff »

Thank you for replying..

I am beginning to think it's a wasted effort, I was given the task to write a widget style UI for the companies terminals to display local info:

Spec:
· IPV4 Address (30 second refresh)
· IPV6 Address (30 second refresh)
· Host Name
· VNC Install Present (tick or x to confirm)
· Dameware Present (tick or x to confirm)