It is currently May 2nd, 2024, 2:08 am

Show Desktop Funtionality?

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
jem0208
Posts: 1
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 3:00 pm

Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by jem0208 »

Hi!

I am completely new to making skins and I was wondering how (or even if it's possible) to create a button which does the same thing as the "Show Desktop" button in Windows.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by jsmorley »

Not with native Rainmeter, but you could have a mouse action that calls an AutoHotKey script or AutoIt executable that emulates the keystrokes needed to do "Show Desktop".
User avatar
UnforgivenRevival
Posts: 310
Joined: June 7th, 2012, 2:25 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by UnforgivenRevival »

When using vista.. You can copy the "show desktop" shortcut from the taskbar, and save it to your skin folder and make the button activate that shortcut. I copied it from vista to 7 and still works. If you know someone that has vista, thats the way to do it. If you need to, I can upload the windows shortcut.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by jsmorley »

UnforgivenRevival wrote:When using vista.. You can copy the "show desktop" shortcut from the taskbar, and save it to your skin folder and make the button activate that shortcut. I copied it from vista to 7 and still works. If you know someone that has vista, thats the way to do it. If you need to, I can upload the windows shortcut.
It is an entirely different animal in Window 7, and that approach will not work. Nice tip for the 11 people in the world using Vista though... ;-)
User avatar
UnforgivenRevival
Posts: 310
Joined: June 7th, 2012, 2:25 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by UnforgivenRevival »

I use it everyday in windows 7, Copied from my old windows vista installation. It works every time I click it.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by jsmorley »

UnforgivenRevival wrote:I use it everyday in windows 7, Copied from my old windows vista installation. It works every time I click it.
Well, that's a good point. It is just a shortcut that isn't set up in Win7 and could be copied from Vista.
User avatar
UnforgivenRevival
Posts: 310
Joined: June 7th, 2012, 2:25 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by UnforgivenRevival »

You can try to create the shortcut yourself in Windows 7, But Im not sure if it will work this way. It might not be a valid path or something. Here is what is in the properties from the show desktop shortcut from Windows Vista.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
UnforgivenRevival
Posts: 310
Joined: June 7th, 2012, 2:25 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by UnforgivenRevival »

https://www.dropbox.com/s/cvsexrakfntnnln/ShowDesktop.zip

Better yet, Heres the shortcut from Vista.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2689
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by Brian »

You can use the shell command with a CLSID.

Code: Select all

[ShowDesktop]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=255,0,0
W=100
H=50
LeftMouseUpAction=[shell:::{3080F90D-D7AD-11D9-BD98-0000947B0257}]
I don't think this will work for Windows XP, but it does work with Windows 7 (probably Windows Vista and Windows 8 as well).

-Brian
User avatar
smurfier
Moderator
Posts: 1931
Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
Location: Willmar, MN

Re: Show Desktop Funtionality?

Post by smurfier »

Brian wrote:You can use the shell command with a CLSID.

Code: Select all

[ShowDesktop]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=255,0,0
W=100
H=50
LeftMouseUpAction=[shell:::{3080F90D-D7AD-11D9-BD98-0000947B0257}]
I don't think this will work for Windows XP, but it does work with Windows 7 (probably Windows Vista and Windows 8 as well).

-Brian
I spent three hours trying to google this the other day...
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .