It is currently May 2nd, 2024, 1:14 am

Adjust Container Height Help

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Masterchi
Posts: 5
Joined: May 28th, 2012, 4:29 am
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Adjust Container Height Help

Post by Masterchi »

So I'm leaving the default Illustro Skin theme that came installed with Rainmeter (i like it and its fine). My issue is that I'm adding extra columns to the containers. Once instance is the Network container. It originally contained External IP, Upload, Download. I added an extra line (that works fine) for Internal IP but it obviously pushed everything down and now Download Rate is outside of the "Network" container. I've looked through many INI files and i can't seem to find a section that sets the container values such as height.

Let me know if you needed script posted here but its not really a scripting issue, just lack of finding which script to edit to adjust height. I have attached a screen shot so you can understand in case there is any confusion. Thanks for any help you can provide as this is my first jump into this product.

http://flic.kr/p/c6H7Mo

IPs erased for obvious reasons but hopefully you can see the "Download" outside of the container. My goal is to resize the Network container to include "Download" in it.
User avatar
AlC
Posts: 329
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 6:46 pm

Re: Adjust Container Height Help

Post by AlC »

It's under the [Rainmeter] section.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
; This section contains general settings that can be used to change how Rainmeter behaves.
Author=poiru
AppVersion=2003000
Update=1000
Background=#@#Background.png
; #@# is equal to Rainmeter\Skins\illustro\@Resources
BackgroundMode=3
BackgroundMargins=0,34,0,14
Here is the link to the manual site.

But I think it should scale automatically the Background image, because you have BackgroundMode=3.
Maybe you should post your code here, or use instead of BackgroundMode under the [Rainmeter] section just an image meter where you can set the W= and H= values (+ScaleMargins).
Rainmeter - You are only limited by your imagination and creativity.
Masterchi
Posts: 5
Joined: May 28th, 2012, 4:29 am
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Re: Adjust Container Height Help

Post by Masterchi »

ok, i tried "BackgroundMode=3;BackgroundMargins=0,34,0,14" and it changed nothing. Below is the code as requested and another screenshot....this is for my CPU/System stats which is a much bigger issue.

Code: Select all

; Lines starting ; (semicolons) are commented out.
; That is, they do not affect the code and are here for demonstration 

purposes only.
; ----------------------------------

[Rainmeter]
; This section contains general settings that can be used to change how 

Rainmeter behaves.
Author=poiru
AppVersion=2000000
Update=1000


[Metadata]
; Contains basic information of the skin.
Description=Displays basic system stats.
License=Creative Commons BY-NC-SA 3.0
Version=1.0.0

[Variables]
; Variables declared here can be used later on between two # characters 

(e.g. #MyVariable#).
fontName=Trebuchet MS
textSize=8
colorBar=235,170,0,255
colorText=255,255,255,205

; ----------------------------------
; MEASURES return some kind of value
; ----------------------------------

[MeasureCPUALL]
;[measureCPU](Default)
; This measure returns the average CPU load between all cores.
Measure=CPU
Processor=0


[MeasureCPUCore1]
Measure=CPU
Processor=1
[MeasureCPUCore2]
Measure=CPU
Processor=2
[MeasureCPUCore3]
Measure=CPU
Processor=3
[MeasureCPUCore4]
Measure=CPU
Processor=4
[MeasureCPUCore5]
Measure=CPU
Processor=5
[MeasureCPUCore6]
Measure=CPU
Processor=6
[MeasureCPUCore7]
Measure=CPU
Processor=7
[MeasureCPUCore8]
Measure=CPU
Processor=8
;MeasureCPUCOre1-8 was not here by default

[measureRAM]
; Returns the amount of RAM used in bytes.
Measure=PhysicalMemory
UpdateDivider=20
; UpdateDivider sets the rate at which the value of the measure is updated. 

It is
; calculated as follows: UpdateDivider x Update. In this case, Update is 

set to
; 1000 milliseconds (in the [Rainmeter] section). 1000 x 20 = 20000 ms or 

20 seconds.

[MeasurePhysMemTotal]
Measure=PhysicalMemory
Total=1
UpdateDivider=2
[MeasurePhysMemUsed]
Measure=PhysicalMemory
UpdateDivider=2
;MeasurePhysmemTotal and Memused not here by default

;[measureSWAP]
; Returns the amount of SWAP (pagefile) used in bytes.
;Measure=SWAPMemory
;UpdateDivider=20

; ----------------------------------
; STYLES are used to "centralize" options
; ----------------------------------

[styleTitle]
StringAlign=CENTER
StringCase=UPPER
StringStyle=BOLD
StringEffect=SHADOW
FontEffectColor=0,0,0,50
FontColor=#colorText#
FontFace=#fontName#
FontSize=10
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1

[styleLeftText]
StringAlign=LEFT
; Meters using styleLeftText will be left-aligned.
StringCase=NONE
StringStyle=BOLD
StringEffect=SHADOW
FontEffectColor=0,0,0,20
FontColor=#colorText#
FontFace=#fontName#
FontSize=#textSize#
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1

[styleRightText]
StringAlign=RIGHT
StringCase=NONE
StringStyle=BOLD
StringEffect=SHADOW
FontEffectColor=0,0,0,20
FontColor=#colorText#
FontFace=#fontName#
FontSize=#textSize#
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1

[styleBar]
BarColor=#colorBar#
BarOrientation=HORIZONTAL
SolidColor=255,255,255,15

; ----------------------------------
; METERS display images, text, bars, etc.
; ----------------------------------

[meterBackground]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=#SKINSPATH#\illustro\SHARED\Background3Line.png
; #SKINSPATH# is a global variable that stands for your skin path. It is
; usually Documents\Rainmeter\Skins.
X=0
Y=0


[meterTitle]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleTitle
; Using MeterStyle=styleTitle will basically "copy" the
; contents of the [styleTitle] section here during runtime.
X=100
Y=12
W=190
H=18
Text="System"
; Even though the text is set to System, Rainmeter will display
; it as SYSTEM, because styleTitle contains StringCase=UPPER.
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute ["taskmgr.exe"]
; Left-clicking this meter will launch taskmgr.exe (the Task Manager).
ToolTipText="Open Task Manager"
; Hovering over this meter will display a tooltip with the text above.

[meterLabelCPU]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=40
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Average Usage"

[meterLabelCPU1]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=60
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Core 1 Usage"

[meterLabelCPU2]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=80
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Core 2 Usage"

[meterLabelCPU3]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=100
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Core 3 Usage"

[meterLabelCPU4]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=120
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Core 4 Usage"

[meterLabelCPU5]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=140
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Core 5 Usage"

[meterLabelCPU6]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=160
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Core 6 Usage"

[meterLabelCPU7]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=180
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Core 7 Usage"

[meterLabelCPU8]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=200
W=190
H=14
Text="CPU Core 8 Usage"
;MeterLabelCPU1-8 was not here by default


[meterValueCPU]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUAll
;MeasureName=measureCPU(Default)
X=200
Y=40
; r stands for relative. In this case, the Y postition of meterValueCPU is 

0 pixels
; below the Y value of the previous meter (i.e it's the same as in 

meterLabelCPU).
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"
; %1 stands for the value of MeasureName (measureCPU in this case).

[meterValueCPU1]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUCore1
X=200
Y=60
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"

[meterValueCPU2]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUCore2
X=200
Y=80
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"

[meterValueCPU3]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUCore3
X=200
Y=100
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"

[meterValueCPU4]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUCore4
X=200
Y=120
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"

[meterValueCPU5]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUCore5
X=200
Y=140
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"

[meterValueCPU6]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUCore6
X=200
Y=160
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"

[meterValueCPU7]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUCore7
X=200
Y=180
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"

[meterValueCPU8]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureCPUCore8
X=200
Y=200
W=190
H=14
Text="%1%"
;MeterValueCPU1-8 was not here by default

[meterBarCPU]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUAll
;MeasureName=measureCPU(Default)
X=10
Y=52
W=190
H=1

[meterBarCPU1]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUCore1
X=10
Y=72
W=190
H=1

[meterBarCPU2]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUCore2
X=10
Y=92
W=190
H=1

[meterBarCPU3]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUCore3
X=10
Y=112
W=190
H=1

[meterBarCPU4]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUCore4
X=10
Y=132
W=190
H=1

[meterBarCPU5]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUCore5
X=10
Y=152
W=190
H=1

[meterBarCPU6]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUCore6
X=10
Y=172
W=190
H=1

[meterBarCPU7]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUCore7
X=10
Y=192
W=190
H=1

[meterBarCPU8]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureCPUCore8
X=10
Y=212
W=190
H=1
;MeterBarCPU1-8 was not here by default

[meterLabelRAM]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=220
;Y=60(Default)
W=190
H=14
Text="RAM"

[meterValueRAM]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=styleRightText
;MeasureName=measureRAM(Default)
MeasureName=MeasurePhysMemTotal
MeasureName2=MeasurePhysMemUsed
X=200
Y=0r
W=190
H=14
Text="%2B Used/%1B Total"
Percentual=0
;Percentual=1(Default)
; Percentual=1 needs to be added her because measureRAM returns the amount
; of RAM used in bytes. Using Percentual=1 will convert that into a 

percentual value.
AutoScale=1

[meterBarRAM]
Meter=BAR
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=MeasurePhysMemUsed
;MeasureName=measureRAM(Default)
X=10
Y=232
;Y=72(Default)
W=190
H=1

;[meterLabelSWAP]
;Meter=STRING
;MeterStyle=styleLeftText
;X=10
;Y=80
;W=190
;H=14
;Text="SWAP Usage"

;[meterValueSWAP]
;Meter=STRING
;MeterStyle=styleRightText
;MeasureName=measureSWAP
;X=200
;Y=0r
;W=190
;H=14
;Text="%1%"
;Percentual=1

;[meterBarSWAP]
;Meter=BAR
;MeterStyle=styleBar
;MeasureName=measureSWAP
;X=10
;Y=92
;W=190
;H=1
SS - http://flic.kr/p/c75KEq

By the screenshot you can see the Clock and Disk spanned just fine (though they really didn't need to span as they were like that by default with RainMeter). Since I added my additional CPU cores it runs outside the box. Help please. Again this is the Rainmeters default Illustro theme that is built in with the install.
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Adjust Container Height Help

Post by dragonmage »

You are using an older version of illustro that used an image meter as the backgrounds. I'd suggest updating Rainmeter to the latest beta. You will have to re-add your changes but the background will automatically resize as you add more meters. If you do not wish to do that you can just change which image is used in your current skins.

Code: Select all

[meterBackground]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=#SKINSPATH#\illustro\SHARED\Background3Line.png
; #SKINSPATH# is a global variable that stands for your skin path. It is
; usually Documents\Rainmeter\Skins.
X=0
Y=0

Change Background3Line.png to Background4Line.png or whatever is needed.

As I said though the newer version uses a much better method that only requires one image and makes it much easier to add lines to.
Masterchi
Posts: 5
Joined: May 28th, 2012, 4:29 am
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Re: Adjust Container Height Help

Post by Masterchi »

Thanks Dragon. I used the Beta (hopefully its stable) and converted my scripts over without issue. Looking much better now. Thanks again.
ozyus
Posts: 1
Joined: September 12th, 2012, 2:50 pm

Re: Adjust Container Height Help

Post by ozyus »

Id like to see the code you changed to add the Internal IP Address.. I'm sure its something that i can figure out.. but its more of a time thing. Any way you could post that? Thanks

Ozyus