It is currently May 18th, 2024, 6:51 am

[Resolved]How to use Measure=Time for more than 60 seconds?

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
CABO053
Posts: 4
Joined: March 13th, 2012, 8:21 am

[Resolved]How to use Measure=Time for more than 60 seconds?

Post by CABO053 »

I'm new to using Rainmeter and I'm trying to write a skin that will allow me to display a series of sequential pictures at a speed of one per second.
I looked up several clock skins and practiced with the "Measure=Time, Format=%S" method in which I simply bind one picture to each consecutive second. However, I'm having trouble getting more than 60 pictures to work this way, since the seconds value goes from :59 back to :00, restarting the series. Here is the code I've got thus far (I realize it's about as simplistic as it gets, but once again, I'm just starting out here):

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Author=CABO053

[Variables]
Width=1600
Height=900
Angle=0

[MeasureSecond]
Measure=Time
Format=%S
Substitute="00":"00","01":"01","02":"02","03":"03","04":"04","05":"05","06":"06",
"07":"07","08":"08","09":"09","10":"10","11":"11","12":"12","13":"13","14":"14",
"15":"15","16":"16","17":"17","18":"18","19":"19","20":"20","21":"21",
"22":"22","23":"23","24":"24","25":"25","26":"26","27":"27","28":"28",
"29":"29","30":"30","31":"31","32":"32","33":"33","34":"34","35":"35",
"36":"36","37":"37","38":"38","39":"39","40":"40","41":"41","42":"42",
"43":"43","44":"44","45":"45","46":"46","47":"47","48":"48","49":"49",
"50":"50","51":"51","52":"52","53":"53","54":"54","55":"55","56":"56",
"57":"57","58":"58","59":"59","60":"60","61":"61","62":"62","63":"63",
"64":"64","65":"65","66":"66","67":"67","68":"68","69":"69","70":"70"

[MeterSecond]
Meter=IMAGE
Measurename=MeasureSecond
ImageName=%1.jpg
W=#Width#
H=#Height#
ImageRotate=#Angle#
AntiAlias=1
As you can see, I simply labeled the pictures I wanted displayed the same as the value of the second they should appear on. However, as I said earlier, I have no idea on how to make images 60-70 appear since the second value apparently never reaches :60-:70.


Another, somewhat related issue I'm having is trying to get the pictures to display once every tenth of a second instead of once per second. But I don't know how to do that either.

If anybody could answer either of these I'd be extremely grateful.

PS. If you know how to answer both, please explain them separately.
Last edited by CABO053 on March 26th, 2012, 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AlC
Posts: 329
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 6:46 pm

Re: How to use Measure=Time in seconds for more than 60 seco

Post by AlC »

You could try it with a counter.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[Variables]
NumOfPic=70

[cCounter]
Measure=Calc
Formula=cCounter%#NumOfPic#+1

[MeterSecond]
Meter=IMAGE
Measurename=cCounter
ImageName=%1.jpg
W=#Width#
H=#Height#
ImageRotate=#Angle#
AntiAlias=1
The counter counts from 1 to your NumOfPic's value.
And with the Update rate (Update= under [Rainmeter]) you can control the speed of the counter. Because the counter counts every update +1, so with an
Update=1000 -> every second
Update=100 -> every 100ms
Update=10000 -> every 10 seconds

Of course you can change 70 in the [Variables].

PS: You know all of the picture slide-shows skins, like these. With these you wouldn't need to rename all of your pictures to 1.jpg,2.jpg,3.jpg ...
Rainmeter - You are only limited by your imagination and creativity.
User avatar
MerlinTheRed
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 889
Joined: September 6th, 2011, 6:34 am

Re: How to use Measure=Time in seconds for more than 60 seco

Post by MerlinTheRed »

If you're trying to do an animation slideshow skins won't be very helpful as they tend to display images randomly. As AlC said, counters are the way to go here. If you want to display 10 images / second you should make sure that the UpdateDividers on all measures that don't need to be updated that often are set to some appropriate value or your CPU usage might increase significantly.

P.S. what is that giant substitute for that seemingly doesn't do anything?
Have more fun creating skins with Sublime Text 2 and the Rainmeter Package!
CABO053
Posts: 4
Joined: March 13th, 2012, 8:21 am

Re: How to use Measure=Time in seconds for more than 60 seco

Post by CABO053 »

Thanks guys, the counter should work perfectly.
MerlinTheRed wrote:P.S. what is that giant substitute for that seemingly doesn't do anything?
I honestly have no idea. Even as I was writing it I thought it was stupid. But nothing would display without it if I tried removing it, so I just left it there.
User avatar
AlC
Posts: 329
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 6:46 pm

Re: How to use Measure=Time in seconds for more than 60 seco

Post by AlC »

And if you want to make an animation you could look at Bitmap Meters + Animation Tip.
Rainmeter - You are only limited by your imagination and creativity.
User avatar
JoBu
Posts: 271
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 12:46 am
Location: California

Re: How to use Measure=Time in seconds for more than 60 seco

Post by JoBu »

I honestly have no idea. Even as I was writing it I thought it was stupid. But nothing would display without it if I tried removing it, so I just left it there.
It's official. You are one of us.