It is currently May 7th, 2024, 2:39 am

Network SSID cut off

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
ParoxysmX
Posts: 9
Joined: May 9th, 2010, 8:26 am

Network SSID cut off

Post by ParoxysmX »

Hey guys,

I did my own wifi statistics bar the other day to fit the theme of my system monitoring skins. One thing that keeps happening though, is that the SSID name is not displaying properly. Only the first two letters will display, but if I refresh the skin, the rest will pop up. I'm also wondering how you can get the SSID meter to display nothing when you're not connected to any network.

Cheers.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2689
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by Brian »

Without seeing your code its a bit hard to diagnose your problem. Could you post your code so that we can assist you better?

-Brian
ParoxysmX
Posts: 9
Joined: May 9th, 2010, 8:26 am

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by ParoxysmX »

Code: Select all

[Metadata]
Name= Wi-Fi
Description= Stats on wifi connection
INSTRUCTIONs= n/a
Version= 1.0
Tags= wifi
Variant=1

;End of added Metadata

[Variables]
FontColor=0,0,0,255
FontColor2=0,0,0,150
FontName=Century Gothic
FontHeight1=9
FontHeight2=9
AntiAlias=1
: -------------

[MeasureWifi1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=QUALITY

[MeasureWifi2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=SSID

[MeasureWifi3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=ENCRYPTION

[Label Wifi]
Meter=STRING
X=0
Y=-1
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight2#
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
Text="  Wi-Fi Strength            |"
AntiAlias=1

[Wifi]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=MeasureWifi1
X=95r
Y=0r
FontColor=#FontColor2#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight2#
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text="%1%"

[Label ENCRYPTION]
Meter=STRING
X=135
Y=-1
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight2#
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
Text="  Encryption          |"
AntiAlias=1

[ENCRYPTION]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=MeasureWifi3
X=74r
Y=0r
FontColor=#FontColor2#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight2#
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text="%1"

[Label SSID]
Meter=STRING
X=245
Y=-1
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight2#
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
Text="  SSID       "
AntiAlias=1

[SSID]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=MeasureWifi2
X=40r
Y=0r
FontColor=#FontColor2#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight2#
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text=""
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2689
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by Brian »

The first thing I would try is removing the Text="" from your SSID meter. If you still have problems, then try adding a DynamicWindowSize=1 in the [Rainmeter] section of your skin.

That should fix the problem of your SSID not showing up. As I understand things, if you are not connected to any network, you won't have an SSID, but I may be wrong on that one. However, since I do not connect through WIFI, I cannot test it.

-Brian
User avatar
smurfier
Moderator
Posts: 1931
Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
Location: Willmar, MN

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by smurfier »

For Reference:
If you're not connected to a wireless network the SSID returned is -1.
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2689
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by Brian »

Ok, so if you don't want the "-1" to show, then put a Substitute="-1":"" in your "MeasureWifi2" measure.

-Brian
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2689
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by Brian »

smurfier wrote:For Reference:
If you're not connected to a wireless network the SSID returned is -1.
When I use the Enigma network skin, it shows an SSID of 0 for me, and nothing in its code tells me it is substituting anything.

-Brian
User avatar
smurfier
Moderator
Posts: 1931
Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
Location: Willmar, MN

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by smurfier »

Brian wrote:When I use the Enigma network skin, it shows an SSID of 0 for me, and nothing in its code tells me it is substituting anything.

-Brian
Do you have a wireless card installed? It always shows -1 for me when I'm not connected to a wireless network.
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2689
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by Brian »

No I don't. So maybe its 0 when nothing is installed, but -1 when installed but not connected.

-Brian
ParoxysmX
Posts: 9
Joined: May 9th, 2010, 8:26 am

Re: Network SSID cut off

Post by ParoxysmX »

Ok, that sorted it. Cheers guys.