It is currently April 25th, 2024, 10:49 am

How to display animation in Rainmeter

Tips and Tricks from the Rainmeter Community
User avatar
kenz0
Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: July 31st, 2009, 2:23 pm
Location: Tokyo, JPN

How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by kenz0 »

This is a basic solution about how to display animation in Rainmeter.

Step1: Create a multiframe image which becomes the basis of animation.


  • Note:
    To prevent the error in calculation, a vertical image should vertically arrange the frame. Also The horizontal image should horizontally arrange the frame.
  • Tip:
    If you want to make multiframe from animation-GIF, you can easily convert it with Imagemagick.
    If Imagemagick has been installed in your PC, you only execute the following command lines in command prompt.

    Code: Select all

    convert.exe +append animation.gif multiframe.png
    "+append" option means the horizontal arrangement. "-append" means the vertical arrangement. If "-resize" option is added, you can also resize simultaneously.
Step2: Make a config file.

This is an config example of most basic animation method.
  • ######### animation.ini ################
    [Rainmeter]
    Update=100

    [MeasureAnimation]
    Measure=CALC
    Formula=Counter % 5

    [MeterAnimation]
    Meter=BITMAP
    MeasureName=MeasureAnimation
    BitmapImage=silver_horse.png
    BitmapFrames=5
    BitmapExtend=1
    #######################################
  • Note:
    - "Update" means animaton speed.
    - Define the total frame number of multiframe image in "BitmapFrames"
    - Define the same value as "BitmapFrames" in "Formula".
Step3: Try!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Extra example - Try the movement of animation object

This is the interesting applied example which added the following methods.
http://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=1117
  • ######### animation2.ini ################
    [Rainmeter]
    Update=100

    [MeasureTrigger]
    Measure=Calc
    Formula=Counter % 2
    IfEqualValue=1
    IfEqualAction=!Move (Counter % #SCREENAREAWIDTH#) (#WORKAREAHEIGHT# - 86)


    [MeasureAnimation]
    Measure=CALC
    Formula=Counter % 5

    [MeterAnimation]
    Meter=BITMAP
    MeasureName=MeasureAnimation
    BitmapImage=silver_horse.png
    BitmapFrames=5
    BitmapExtend=1
    #######################################
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

» DOWNLOAD

Have fun!
Last edited by kenz0 on August 18th, 2010, 4:53 am, edited 3 times in total.
.
Image
wasky1
Posts: 127
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 8:26 am

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by wasky1 »

how come, SCREENAREAHEIGHT does the same as SREENAREAWIDTH e.g

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=100

[MeasureMove]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Counter % #SCREENAREAHEIGHT#

[MeasureTrigger]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Counter % 2
IfEqualValue=1
IfEqualAction=!RainmeterMove [MeasureMove]

[MeasureAnimation]
Measure=CALC
Formula=Counter % 5

[MeterAnimation]
Meter=BITMAP
MeasureName=MeasureAnimation
BitmapImage=silver_horse.png
BitmapFrames=5
BitmapExtend=1
r3ginald
Posts: 12
Joined: June 12th, 2009, 6:45 pm
Location: California

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by r3ginald »

kenz0 wrote:This is a basic solution about how to display animation in Rainmeter.

Step1: Create a multiframe image which becomes the basis of animation.


  • Note:
    To prevent the error in calculation, a vertical image should vertically arrange the frame. Also The horizontal image should horizontally arrange the frame.
  • Tip:
    If you want to make multiframe from animation-GIF, you can easily convert it with Imagemagick.
    If Imagemagick has been installed in your PC, you only execute the following command lines in command prompt.

    Code: Select all

    convert.exe +append animation.gif multiframe.png
    "+append" option means the horizontal arrangement. "-append" means the vertical arrangement. If "-resize" option is added, you can also resize simultaneously.
Step2: Make a config file.

This is an config example of most basic animation method.
  • ######### animation.ini ################
    [Rainmeter]
    Update=100

    [MeasureAnimation]
    Measure=CALC
    Formula=Counter % 5

    [MeterAnimation]
    Meter=BITMAP
    MeasureName=MeasureAnimation
    BitmapImage=silver_horse.png
    BitmapFrames=5
    BitmapExtend=1
    #######################################
  • Note:
    - "Update" means animaton speed.
    - Define the total frame number of multiframe image in "BitmapFrames"
    - Define the same value as "BitmapFrames" in "Formula".
Step3: Try!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Extra example - Try the movement of animation object

This is the interesting applied example which added the following methods.
http://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=1117
  • ######### animation2.ini ################
    [Rainmeter]
    Update=100

    [MeasureMove]
    Measure=Calc
    Formula=Counter % #SCREENAREAWIDTH#

    [MeasurePositionY]
    Measure=Calc
    Formula=#WORKAREAHEIGHT# - 86

    [MeasureTrigger]
    Measure=Calc
    Formula=Counter % 2
    IfEqualValue=1
    IfEqualAction=!RainmeterMove [MeasureMove] [MeasurePositionY]


    [MeasureAnimation]
    Measure=CALC
    Formula=Counter % 5

    [MeterAnimation]
    Meter=BITMAP
    MeasureName=MeasureAnimation
    BitmapImage=silver_horse.png
    BitmapFrames=5
    BitmapExtend=1
    #######################################
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Attachment:
animation.zip
Have fun!

so what this is, is a bunch of pictures to make it look like an animation?
My Tumblog
Everything I have made is located at my blog. Visit for my latest updates, skins, themes/etc.
-------------------------------------
TEAM V.I.S.O.R.
devART
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by jsmorley »

r3ginald wrote:so what this is, is a bunch of pictures to make it look like an animation?
Is there any OTHER definition of animation I am unaware of?

;-)
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 995
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by Chewtoy »

r3ginald wrote: so what this is, is a bunch of pictures to make it look like an animation?

How else do make an animation? Or a movie for that matter. It's all pictures taken in a series of intervalls, making it like like it's moving...
So eh... Yes. A bunch of pictures. Just like any .gif or .avi (.avi got a sound track with it though...).
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
User avatar
redblack
Posts: 24
Joined: June 21st, 2009, 5:08 am
Location: Australia

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by redblack »

I forgot to mention this at the time, but these animation examples left tens of thousands of lines in my Rainmeter INI! If it were not for Notepad++ I do believe I may have died. :[
smk
Posts: 8
Joined: August 11th, 2009, 9:18 pm

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by smk »

hay this is pretty sweet, my only problum is that the Update value is not changing the speed of the animation, its always changing frame every secound, any way of changing this is it would go faster?
User avatar
kenz0
Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: July 31st, 2009, 2:23 pm
Location: Tokyo, JPN

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by kenz0 »

smk wrote:hay this is pretty sweet, my only problum is that the Update value is not changing the speed of the animation, its always changing frame every secound, any way of changing this is it would go faster?
I am also sure that it is a weak point. I am actually experimenting in whether the speed adjustment which is not dependent on "Update" using "TransitionUpdate" and "BitmapTransitionFrames" is possible. But I have not established as a still decisive method.
.
Image
smk
Posts: 8
Joined: August 11th, 2009, 9:18 pm

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by smk »

ok well keep us informed
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 642
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: How to display animation in Rainmeter

Post by Alex2539 »

In my experience, TransitionUpdate and BitmapTransitionFrames aren't really necessary if you're just trying to show an animation. The method you have works perfectly fine. If it's not speeding up then it's probably because the CPU is under too heavy a load to update the skin often enough.

If you do decided to use transition frames though, then you will need a little bit of planning ahead. If you were to call the frames F and the transition frames T, it would look something like this in the image:

Code: Select all

F T T T T F T T T T F T T T T 
When I first started experimenting, I always left out the trailing transitions after the final frame. The main caveat to this is that the TransitionUpdate has to be small enough that every one of the transition frames can play before the next real frame shows up. If it's too slow, it will get cut off. Conversely, if it's too fast, you'll see a bit of a pause. This restriction isn't really that bad, but it does necessitate a bit of planning. Even still the method isn't perfect. But it's pretty much the best way if the animation isn't the entire skin.

Also, keep in mind that what I've just said is mostly from memory, so the details may be off.
ImageImageImageImage