It is currently May 7th, 2024, 4:03 pm

Modify Enigma CPU graph

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Fox Fire
Posts: 2
Joined: November 18th, 2011, 4:26 am

Modify Enigma CPU graph

Post by Fox Fire »

First off, I love the Enigma skin.

One thing I've noticed is a lot of cpu graphs for rainmeter in general are for dual cores and maybe a quad

Nowadays, a lot of us are running the new i7's, and soon, AMD's Bulldozer

This requires graphs that can show up to 8 or more cores

I like the Enigma cpu graph in the latest version, but would like to mod it to an 8 core version. I'm sure I'm not alone in this desire for better cpu graphs

I do have some programming skills, but only in Java, so help would be greatly appreciated in learning code for Rainmeter
User avatar
Seahorse
Posts: 1175
Joined: June 9th, 2010, 5:56 pm
Location: Locks heath, UK

Re: Modify Enigma CPU graph

Post by Seahorse »

Fox Fire wrote:Nowadays, a lot of us are running the new i7's, and soon, AMD's Bulldozer

This requires graphs that can show up to 8 or more cores
I think you are mixing up thread with cores, Sandybridge i7s (the current ones) have 4 cores, and given the disappointing press reviews AMD Bulldozers 8 aren't worth owning.

Assuming the CPU monitoring plugin that the skin uses supports a bulldozer, it's fairly straightforward to add the additional measures & meters using the existing skin as a template, of course you might be better off posting your query in the dedicated Enigma Support Thread... :sly:

As for learning Rainmeter you should go read through Rainmeter 101 to familiarise yourself with the concepts, the manual is linked on the same page... :D
"Regrettably your planet is one of those scheduled for demolition"
Mike

My Skins at DeviantArt

Fox Fire
Posts: 2
Joined: November 18th, 2011, 4:26 am

Re: Modify Enigma CPU graph

Post by Fox Fire »

This was something I wanted to work on myself to start learning the programming behind it

I have read the documentation and have been doing some messing around and will continue to do so

I re-wrote it for 4 cores just till I at least get this working. The 3rd core shows up, but in the wrong spot, So I'm going to have to do some messing around. The 4th doesn't show up at all. I don't know if it is the color it choose on my background or needing to change the plugin to something that supports it.

Here is my code. If anyone has some tips or hints as to help set up the 3rd graph so it goes below the 2nd and not on top of the 1st, that would be great. I haven't set up the borders to go with the new graphs yet, but I'm trying to do 1 thing at a time.

Edit: All 4 graphs have been aligned correctly now. CPU X text and the percent to go with it are not correct and borders for the new graph are not implemented yet.

Code: Select all

;---------------------------------------------------------------------
; ENIGMA SYSTEM

[Rainmeter]
Author=Kaelri
AppVersion=2001000
Group=EnigmaSidebar
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=!Execute [!WriteKeyValue Variables Variant1 #Variant2#][!WriteKeyValue Variables Variant2 #Variant1#][!Refresh]

[Variables]
@include=#SKINSPATH#Enigma\Resources\Variables\UserVariables.inc

;---------------------------------------------------------------------
; STYLES

@include2=#SKINSPATH#Enigma\Resources\Styles\#Stylesheet#\Variables.inc
@include3=#SKINSPATH#Enigma\Resources\Styles\#Stylesheet#\SidebarSystem.inc
Variant1=Graph
Variant2=Normal

;---------------------------------------------------------------------
; MEASURES

[MeasureCPU]
Measure=CPU

[MeasureRAM]
Measure=PhysicalMemory

[MeasureHD]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=#Drive1#:
UpdateDivider=60

[MeasurePower]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\PowerPlugin.dll
PowerState=PERCENT

[MeasureCore1]
Measure=CPU
Processor=1

[MeasureCore2]
Measure=CPU
Processor=2

[MeasureCore3]
Measure=CPU
Processor=3

[MeasureCore4]
Measure=CPU
Processor=4

;---------------------------------------------------------------------
; METERS

;-----------------------
; FRAME

[Background]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Background

[Border1]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Border | StyleSystem#Variant1#Border1

[VerticalBorderA]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#VerticalBorderA

[VerticalBorderB]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#VerticalBorderB

[Border2]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Border | StyleSystem#Variant1#Border2

;-----------------------
; LABELS & TEXT

[LabelCPU]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Label | StyleSystem#Variant1#Label1
Text="CPU"

[CPU]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Text | StyleSystem#Variant1#Text1
MeasureName=MeasureCPU
Text="%1%"

[LabelRAM]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Label | StyleSystem#Variant1#Label2
Text="RAM"

[RAM]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Text | StyleSystem#Variant1#Text2
MeasureName=MeasureRAM
Text="%1%"
Percentual=1
AutoScale=1

[LabelHD]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Label | StyleSystem#Variant1#Label3
Text="HDD"

[HD]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Text | StyleSystem#Variant1#Text3
MeasureName=MeasureHD
Text="%1B"
AutoScale=1
NumOfDecimals=0

[LabelPower]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Label | StyleSystem#Variant1#Label4
Text="PWR"

[Power]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Text | StyleSystem#Variant1#Text4
MeasureName=MeasurePower
Text="%1%"

;-----------------------

;-----------------------
; GRAPH FRAME

[Border3]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Border | StyleSystem#Variant1#Border3

[VerticalBorderC]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#VerticalBorderC

[Border4]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Border | StyleSystem#Variant1#Border4

[Border5]
Meter=IMAGE
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Border | StyleSystem#Variant1#Border5

;-----------------------
; HISTOGRAMS

[Core1Graph]
Meter=Histogram
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Graph | StyleSystem#Variant1#Graph1
MeasureName=MeasureCore1
Autoscale=1

[Core2Graph]
Meter=Histogram
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Graph | StyleSystem#Variant1#Graph2
MeasureName=MeasureCore2
Autoscale=1

[Core3Graph]
Meter=Histogram
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Graph | StyleSystem#Variant1#Graph3
MeasureName=MeasureCore3
Autoscale=1

[Core4Graph]
Meter=Histogram
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#Graph | StyleSystem#Variant1#Graph4
MeasureName=MeasureCore4
Autoscale=1

;-----------------------
; LOWER TEXT

[Core1Label]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphLabel | StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphLabel1
; Prefix="· "
Text="1"

[Core1Number]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphText | StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphText1
MeasureName=MeasureCore1
Postfix="%"

[Core2Label]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphLabel | StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphLabel2
Text="2"
; Postfix=" ·"

[Core2Number]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphText | StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphText2
MeasureName=MeasureCore2
Postfix="%"

[Core3Label]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphLabel | StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphLabel3
Text="3"
; Postfix=" ·"

[Core3Number]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphText | StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphText3
MeasureName=MeasureCore3
Postfix="%"

[Core4Label]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphLabel | StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphLabel4
Text="4"
; Postfix=" ·"

[Core4Number]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphText | StyleSystem#Variant1#GraphText4
MeasureName=MeasureCore4
Postfix="%"

;---------------------------------------------------------------------
; METADATA

[Metadata]
Name=Enigma System
Config=Enigma | Sidebar | System
Description=This skin reads your current CPU, RAM, hard drive, and laptop battery usage.
Instructions=· Middle-click to refresh. | · Load Enigma\Options.ini to change options for this skin.
Version=3.1
Tags=Sidebar | System
License=Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 3.0
Preview=#SKINSPATH#Enigma\Resources\Images\Preview.png