It is currently April 27th, 2024, 2:42 pm

Help With Ram Meter

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
OH SNAP998
Posts: 18
Joined: December 27th, 2012, 6:17 am

Help With Ram Meter

Post by OH SNAP998 »

hi, i have a really stupid question: how do I find My total RAM\memory?
here is the code im using:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[MeasureFreeDisk]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=C:
InvertMeasure=1

[MeasureTotalDisk]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=C:
Total=1

[MeterTotalDisk]
Meter=Roundline
MeasureName=MeasureTotalDisk
X=0
Y=0
W=120
H=120
StartAngle=4.712
RotationAngle=6.283
LineLength=60
linestart=45
LineColor=255,255,255,80
Solid=1
AntiAlias=1

[MeterFreeDisk]
Meter=Roundline
MeasureName=MeasureFreeDisk
X=0
Y=0
W=120
H=120
StartAngle=4.712
RotationAngle=6.283
LineLength=60
linestart=45
LineColor=255,255,255,255
Solid=1
AntiAlias=1

[MeterTotalText]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureTotalDisk
X=60
Y=30
FontFace=Segoe UI
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,120
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=Center
AntiAlias=1
AutoScale=1
;Text=Total: %1

[MeterFreeText]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureFreeDisk
X=60
Y=10R
FontFace=Segoe UI
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,150
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=Center
AntiAlias=1
AutoScale=1
;Text=Free: %1

[Line]
meter=line
w=80
h=7
x=20
y=55
linecolor=255,255,255,255
it is supposed to have a roundline graph and in the center show used/total memory, but nothing shows up for total.
no power in the verse can stop me...
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5407
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Help With Ram Meter

Post by eclectic-tech »

Works here (for Drive usage [not memory])...

Don't know why your text is not showing...
I added measures and meters for memory to your code (2nd circle in above image)...

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[MeasureFreeMemory]
Measure=Memory
;Total=
;UpdateDivider=

[MeasureTotalMemory]
Measure=Memory
Total=1
;UpdateDivider=

[MeasureFreeDisk]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=C:
InvertMeasure=1

[MeasureTotalDisk]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=C:
Total=1

[MeterTotalDisk]
Meter=Roundline
MeasureName=MeasureTotalDisk
X=0
Y=0
W=120
H=120
StartAngle=4.712
RotationAngle=6.283
LineLength=60
linestart=45
LineColor=255,255,255,80
Solid=1
AntiAlias=1

[MeterFreeDisk]
Meter=Roundline
MeasureName=MeasureFreeDisk
X=0
Y=0
W=120
H=120
StartAngle=4.712
RotationAngle=6.283
LineLength=60
linestart=45
LineColor=255,255,255,255
Solid=1
AntiAlias=1

[MeterTotalText]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureTotalDisk
X=60
Y=30
FontFace=Segoe UI
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,120
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=Center
AntiAlias=1
AutoScale=1
;Text=Total: %1

[MeterFreeText]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureFreeDisk
X=60
Y=10R
FontFace=Segoe UI
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,150
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=Center
AntiAlias=1
AutoScale=1
;Text=Free: %1

[Line]
meter=line
w=80
h=7
x=20
y=55
linecolor=255,255,255,255

[MeterTotalMem]
Meter=Roundline
MeasureName=MeasureTotalMemory
X=150
Y=150
W=120
H=120
StartAngle=4.712
RotationAngle=6.283
LineLength=60
linestart=45
LineColor=255,255,255,80
Solid=1
AntiAlias=1

[MeterFreeMem]
Meter=Roundline
MeasureName=MeasureFreeMemory
X=150
Y=150
W=120
H=120
StartAngle=4.712
RotationAngle=6.283
LineLength=60
linestart=45
LineColor=255,255,255,255
Solid=1
AntiAlias=1

[MeterTotalTextMem]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureTotalMemory
X=210
Y=180
FontFace=Segoe UI
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,120
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=Center
AntiAlias=1
AutoScale=1
;Text=Total: %1

[MeterFreeTextMem]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureFreeMemory
X=210
Y=10R
FontFace=Segoe UI
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,150
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=Center
AntiAlias=1
AutoScale=1
;Text=Free: %1

[LineMem]
meter=line
w=80
h=7
x=170
y=205
linecolor=255,255,255,255
User avatar
OH SNAP998
Posts: 18
Joined: December 27th, 2012, 6:17 am

Re: Help With Ram Meter

Post by OH SNAP998 »

thanks, i knew it was simple. however, now it says total is 16.4 gb, but i only have 6gb. i can fix this easily, but i want to know whats causing it. thanks
no power in the verse can stop me...
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5407
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Help With Ram Meter

Post by eclectic-tech »

OH SNAP998 wrote:thanks, i knew it was simple. however, now it says total is 16.4 gb, but i only have 6gb. i can fix this easily, but i want to know whats causing it. thanks
Reading this section of the manual on memory measures should help you get what you want.

There are several types of memory and ways to read it... the one I used combines all types (Virtual Memory : RAM + RAM + Pagefile.sys).
User avatar
OH SNAP998
Posts: 18
Joined: December 27th, 2012, 6:17 am

Re: Help With Ram Meter

Post by OH SNAP998 »

thanks so much. I changed measure=memory > measure=physicalmemory. i knew it was a super simple solution but thanks for your help. what is the difference? i didnt really understand that page's explanation.
no power in the verse can stop me...
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5407
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Help With Ram Meter

Post by eclectic-tech »

OH SNAP998 wrote:thanks so much. I changed measure=memory > measure=physicalmemory. i knew it was a super simple solution but thanks for your help. what is the difference? i didnt really understand that page's explanation.
Short layman's answer: Any computer operating system needs to setup several types of memory areas and reserve them for operations; swap, virtual, etc. are memory areas that are defined when the system boots, and may be from drive space, special areas of RAM, etc. together they will total more than your PHYSICALMEMORY.