It is currently May 20th, 2024, 10:29 am

The problem with starting the program

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
Jeff
Posts: 334
Joined: September 3rd, 2018, 11:18 am

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Jeff »

Smoru wrote: April 20th, 2024, 10:36 pm DSIM I tried it, it's okay. everything is fine. There is no mention of raimeter in the "Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Security and Maintenance\Problem Reports"
Damn this is getting more and more annoying, another thing you could do I guess is enable logging, can you press WIN+R, type %AppData%\Rainmeter open the Rainmeter.ini file and inside the [Rainmeter] section add Debug=1 and Logging=1?
The section will look something like

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Language=1033
HardwareAcceleration=1
Debug=1
Logging=1
After that, run Rainmeter and in the folder you opened earlier a file named Rainmeter.log should appear, open it in Notepad and just send what you have over
It could at least tell us after which load it crashes, maybe it crashes trying to list font names, maybe it crashes after loading a DLL etc.
User avatar
Smoru
Posts: 15
Joined: April 19th, 2024, 7:42 pm

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Smoru »

Jeff wrote: April 21st, 2024, 5:22 pm Damn this is getting more and more annoying, another thing you could do I guess is enable logging, can you press WIN+R, type %AppData%\Rainmeter open the Rainmeter.ini file and inside the [Rainmeter] section add Debug=1 and Logging=1?
The section will look something like

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Language=1033
HardwareAcceleration=1
Debug=1
Logging=1
After that, run Rainmeter and in the folder you opened earlier a file named Rainmeter.log should appear, open it in Notepad and just send what you have over
It could at least tell us after which load it crashes, maybe it crashes trying to list font names, maybe it crashes after loading a DLL etc.
I don't like it myself, I don't want to look for a Rainmeter replacement.
That's what was there:

Code: Select all

NOTE (00:41:41.297) : Rainmeter 4.5.18.3727 (64-bit)
NOTE (00:41:41.298) : Language: Russian (1049)
NOTE (00:41:41.313) : Build time: 2023-07-31 11:58:37
NOTE (00:41:41.326) : Windows 11 Pro 23H2 (build 22631.3447) 64-bit - English (2057)
NOTE (00:41:41.341) : Path: C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\
NOTE (00:41:41.350) : SkinPath: C:\Users\Smoru\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\
NOTE (00:41:41.359) : SettingsPath: C:\Users\Smoru\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\
NOTE (00:41:41.371) : IniFile: C:\Users\Smoru\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.ini
DBUG (00:41:41.387) : ------------------------------
DBUG (00:41:41.400) : * EnumDisplayDevices / EnumDisplaySettings API
DBUG (00:41:41.411) : \\.\DISPLAY1
DBUG (00:41:41.422) :   Name     : Generic PnP Monitor
DBUG (00:41:41.445) :   Adapter  : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
DBUG (00:41:41.456) :   Flags    : ACTIVE PRIMARY (0x00000005)
DBUG (00:41:41.468) :   Handle   : 0x0000000000010040
DBUG (00:41:41.483) :   ScrArea  : L=0, T=0, R=1920, B=1080 (W=1920, H=1080)
DBUG (00:41:41.496) :   WorkArea : L=0, T=0, R=1920, B=1032 (W=1920, H=1032)
DBUG (00:41:41.512) : \\.\DISPLAY2
DBUG (00:41:41.533) :   Adapter  : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
DBUG (00:41:41.553) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.576) : \\.\DISPLAY3
DBUG (00:41:41.588) :   Adapter  : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
DBUG (00:41:41.598) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.609) : \\.\DISPLAY4
DBUG (00:41:41.622) :   Adapter  : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
DBUG (00:41:41.633) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.644) : \\.\DISPLAY5
DBUG (00:41:41.658) :   Name     : Generic PnP Monitor
DBUG (00:41:41.671) :   Adapter  : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
DBUG (00:41:41.685) :   Flags    : ACTIVE (0x00000001)
DBUG (00:41:41.696) :   Handle   : 0x0000000000020001
DBUG (00:41:41.708) :   ScrArea  : L=1920, T=0, R=3840, B=1080 (W=1920, H=1080)
DBUG (00:41:41.721) :   WorkArea : L=1920, T=0, R=3840, B=1032 (W=1920, H=1032)
DBUG (00:41:41.734) : \\.\DISPLAY6
DBUG (00:41:41.757) :   Adapter  : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
DBUG (00:41:41.775) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.794) : \\.\DISPLAY7
DBUG (00:41:41.808) :   Adapter  : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
DBUG (00:41:41.821) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.833) : \\.\DISPLAY8
DBUG (00:41:41.846) :   Adapter  : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
DBUG (00:41:41.857) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.870) : \\.\DISPLAY9
DBUG (00:41:41.882) :   Adapter  : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
DBUG (00:41:41.894) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.906) : \\.\DISPLAY10
DBUG (00:41:41.918) :   Adapter  : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
DBUG (00:41:41.929) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.942) : \\.\DISPLAY11
DBUG (00:41:41.953) :   Adapter  : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
DBUG (00:41:41.968) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:41.980) : \\.\DISPLAY12
DBUG (00:41:41.992) :   Adapter  : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
DBUG (00:41:42.005) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:42.017) : ------------------------------
DBUG (00:41:42.029) : * EnumDisplayMonitors API
DBUG (00:41:42.043) : \\.\DISPLAY1
DBUG (00:41:42.055) :   Flags    : PRIMARY (0x00000001)
DBUG (00:41:42.066) :   Handle   : 0x0000000000010040
DBUG (00:41:42.079) :   ScrArea  : L=0, T=0, R=1920, B=1080 (W=1920, H=1080)
DBUG (00:41:42.099) :   WorkArea : L=0, T=0, R=1920, B=1032 (W=1920, H=1032)
DBUG (00:41:42.115) : \\.\DISPLAY5
DBUG (00:41:42.130) :   Flags    : (0x00000000)
DBUG (00:41:42.141) :   Handle   : 0x0000000000020001
DBUG (00:41:42.155) :   ScrArea  : L=1920, T=0, R=3840, B=1080 (W=1920, H=1080)
DBUG (00:41:42.170) :   WorkArea : L=1920, T=0, R=3840, B=1032 (W=1920, H=1032)
DBUG (00:41:42.182) : ------------------------------
DBUG (00:41:42.195) : * METHOD: EnumDisplayDevices + EnumDisplaySettings Mode
DBUG (00:41:42.211) : * MONITORS: Count=12, Primary=@1
DBUG (00:41:42.225) : @0: Virtual screen
DBUG (00:41:42.237) :   L=0, T=0, R=3840, B=1080 (W=3840, H=1080)
DBUG (00:41:42.250) : @1: \\.\DISPLAY1 (active), MonitorName: Generic PnP Monitor
DBUG (00:41:42.262) :   L=0, T=0, R=1920, B=1080 (W=1920, H=1080)
DBUG (00:41:42.276) : @2: \\.\DISPLAY2 (inactive), MonitorName: 
DBUG (00:41:42.289) : @3: \\.\DISPLAY3 (inactive), MonitorName: 
DBUG (00:41:42.301) : @4: \\.\DISPLAY4 (inactive), MonitorName: 
DBUG (00:41:42.313) : @5: \\.\DISPLAY5 (active), MonitorName: Generic PnP Monitor
DBUG (00:41:42.327) :   L=1920, T=0, R=3840, B=1080 (W=1920, H=1080)
DBUG (00:41:42.339) : @6: \\.\DISPLAY6 (inactive), MonitorName:
Last edited by Brian on April 23rd, 2024, 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [code] tags
User avatar
Jeff
Posts: 334
Joined: September 3rd, 2018, 11:18 am

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Jeff »

Smoru wrote: April 22nd, 2024, 6:46 pm I don't like it myself, I don't want to look for a Rainmeter replacement.
That's what was there:

NOTE (00:41:41.297) : Rainmeter 4.5.18.3727 (64-bit)
NOTE (00:41:41.298) : Language: Russian (1049)
NOTE (00:41:41.313) : Build time: 2023-07-31 11:58:37
NOTE (00:41:41.326) : Windows 11 Pro 23H2 (build 22631.3447) 64-bit - English (2057)
NOTE (00:41:41.341) : Path: C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\
NOTE (00:41:41.350) : SkinPath: C:\Users\Smoru\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\
NOTE (00:41:41.359) : SettingsPath: C:\Users\Smoru\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\
NOTE (00:41:41.371) : IniFile: C:\Users\Smoru\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.ini
...
This seems equally inconclusive as to why it's happening, which is annoying, when I'm comparing my Rainmeter.log file to yours though, I notice that after the EnumDisplay things I get a list of my Network adapters.

My 2 attempts would be to just make it so there are no network things at start, neither skin or calls Rainmeter makes. Can you replace your entire Rainmeter.ini's contents with the code block below?

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Language=1049
HardwareAcceleration=1
Debug=1
Logging=1
DisableVersionCheck=1
DisableAutoUpdate=1

[illustro\Welcome]
Active=1
WindowX=50%
WindowY=50%
AnchorX=50%
AnchorY=50%
ClickThrough=0
Draggable=1
SnapEdges=1
KeepOnScreen=1
AlwaysOnTop=0
Also, can you open Powershell (it comes with Windows, just type it in the Windows search thing) and paste the following line
Get-NetAdapter -Name * -IncludeHidden | format-list -property "Name", "InterfaceDescription", "InterfaceIndex"
to see if network even works, here you don't need to send what Powershell prints out, just say Yes or No if it showed something (interesting).
User avatar
Smoru
Posts: 15
Joined: April 19th, 2024, 7:42 pm

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Smoru »

Jeff wrote: April 22nd, 2024, 8:54 pm This seems equally inconclusive as to why it's happening, which is annoying, when I'm comparing my Rainmeter.log file to yours though, I notice that after the EnumDisplay things I get a list of my Network adapters.

My 2 attempts would be to just make it so there are no network things at start, neither skin or calls Rainmeter makes. Can you replace your entire Rainmeter.ini's contents with the code block below?

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Language=1049
HardwareAcceleration=1
Debug=1
Logging=1
DisableVersionCheck=1
DisableAutoUpdate=1

[illustro\Welcome]
Active=1
WindowX=50%
WindowY=50%
AnchorX=50%
AnchorY=50%
ClickThrough=0
Draggable=1
SnapEdges=1
KeepOnScreen=1
AlwaysOnTop=0
Also, can you open Powershell (it comes with Windows, just type it in the Windows search thing) and paste the following line
Get-NetAdapter -Name * -IncludeHidden | format-list -property "Name", "InterfaceDescription", "InterfaceIndex"
to see if network even works, here you don't need to send what Powershell prints out, just say Yes or No if it showed something (interesting).
I changed the contents of rainmeter.ini, nothing seems to have changed, in rainmeter.log too.

I wrote a command, there was Hyper-V, VirtualBox, Radmin VPN - nothing special

Just in case, I checked Windows Defender, everything is ok. Maybe reinstalling Windows will help? Download the installer from the official installer website :confused:
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7291
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Yincognito »

Smoru wrote: April 23rd, 2024, 3:06 pm I changed the contents of rainmeter.ini, nothing seems to have changed, in rainmeter.log too.

I wrote a command, there was Hyper-V, VirtualBox, Radmin VPN - nothing special

Just in case, I checked Windows Defender, everything is ok. Maybe reinstalling Windows will help? Download the installer from the official installer website :confused:
I would also try to temporarily use English instead of Russian in Rainmeter.ini, and why not, also when installing, if possible, if by any chance this is something language related - see if it makes any change for the better. Also, try with Hardware Acceleration off, see if it helps. Less likely, but worth to try, use a single main monitor, just to eliminate that possibility from the potential culprits.

Other than that, since I personally can't test (being on Win 10), generally I see as possible the following:
- language / keyboard (not always, but I noticed some language related Event Viewer notification in what you posted earlier)
- improper Windows (weird cracks, patches, and other lower level alterations of the Windows installation package - better copy the package from MS itself)
- missing or improperly configured .NET Framework, C++ Redistributable, DirectX 2010, potentially Java SE Runtime Environment versions
- other software limiting access to files or folders, e.g. AVs and such
- Windows related file or folder access limitations, e.g. folder ownership, permissions, other Windows Settings including Windows Defender
- hard drive or various other driver issues, e.g. video card and such
- some unknown Windows 11 bug for your version (can't say for sure as it might be a coincidence, but some reports also referrred to Win 11 installations)
- some other unknown particularity of your system or setup
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
User avatar
Smoru
Posts: 15
Joined: April 19th, 2024, 7:42 pm

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Smoru »

Yincognito wrote: April 23rd, 2024, 3:55 pm I would also try to temporarily use English instead of Russian in Rainmeter.ini, and why not, also when installing, if possible, if by any chance this is something language related - see if it makes any change for the better. Also, try with Hardware Acceleration off, see if it helps. Less likely, but worth to try, use a single main monitor, just to eliminate that possibility from the potential culprits.

Other than that, since I personally can't test (being on Win 10), generally I see as possible the following:
- language / keyboard (not always, but I noticed some language related Event Viewer notification in what you posted earlier)
- improper Windows (weird cracks, patches, and other lower level alterations of the Windows installation package - better copy the package from MS itself)
- missing or improperly configured .NET Framework, C++ Redistributable, DirectX 2010, potentially Java SE Runtime Environment versions
- other software limiting access to files or folders, e.g. AVs and such
- Windows related file or folder access limitations, e.g. folder ownership, permissions, other Windows Settings including Windows Defender
- hard drive or various other driver issues, e.g. video card and such
- some unknown Windows 11 bug for your version (can't say for sure as it might be a coincidence, but some reports also referrred to Win 11 installations)
- some other unknown particularity of your system or setup
I temporarily changed the language in the system to English (UK), but I have no idea how to change it in rainmeter.ini (there are numbers instead of language).

I disabled hardware acceleration, everything is not fine.

Back in January, when I had one video card, I tried to run rainmeter, but it didn’t work either.

In February I manually downloaded C++ 2005, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015-2022 (all of them are x64 and x86)

NET Framework seems to be ok with it, directX and java too.

Of the other software, I only have Advanced systemcare, nothing interferes with it.
I looked at Windows Defender before I wrote on the forum, it’s clean.

Drivers are updated and correct. Everything is fine with the ssd, crystaldiskinfo condition is 100%, bought in January

I don’t know about any other settings, since I didn’t configure anything. I have suspicions about Windows itself since I don’t even know from which site the iso for the installation flash drive was taken
Last edited by Smoru on April 24th, 2024, 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Smoru
Posts: 15
Joined: April 19th, 2024, 7:42 pm

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Smoru »

Smoru wrote: April 24th, 2024, 3:21 pm I temporarily changed the language in the system to English (UK), but I have no idea how to change it in rainmeter.ini (there are numbers instead of language).

I disabled hardware acceleration, everything is not fine.

Back in January, when I had one video card, I tried to run rainmeter, but it didn’t work either.

In February I manually downloaded C++ 2005, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015-2022 (all of them are x64 and x86)

NET Framework seems to be ok with it, directX and java too.

Of the other software, I only have Advanced systemcare, nothing interferes with it.
I looked at Windows Defender before I wrote on the forum, it’s clean.

Drivers are updated and correct. Everything is fine with the ssd, crystaldiskinfo condition is 100%, bought in January

I don’t know about any other settings, since I didn’t configure anything. I have suspicions about Windows itself since I don’t even know from which site the iso for the installation flash drive was taken
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7291
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Yincognito »

Smoru wrote: April 24th, 2024, 3:21 pmI have suspicions about Windows itself since I don’t even know from which site the iso for the installation flash drive was taken
I see. Well, all the other things seem fine according to your description, although unfortunately the problem still remains. Maybe others have better ideas that could fix the issue without having to take more elaborated measures. Me, just like you, had no issues with Rainmeter on Win 10 and there are plenty of Win 11 users having no issue with Rainmeter, but obviously it's a bit difficult to advise on this without knowing the particularities of your system first hand. :confused:

Regarding the Win 11 ISO, generally speaking one can download it directly from the Microsoft site, see:
https://www.microsoft.com/software-download/windows11
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/windows-11-23h2-iso-for-enterprise-missing/6c62590b-8208-4933-9d3e-3e9158fe8e3d
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/get-started/kms-client-activation-keys
Then you'd use Rufus to write the bootable Windows installation ISO downloaded above to an USB flash drive for a clean install. After installation and proper activation (that's up to you), one can check the activation status of the operating system by running: C:\Windows\System32\slmgr.vbs /xpr in a Command Prompt window (not sure if as an administrator or not, it's been a while since I last installed a Win 10 this way). From my experience, it won't exactly be the very latest version, but from my point of view this is better since the very latest version can have unknown bugs and such that haven't been yet fixed.
Smoru wrote: April 24th, 2024, 3:21 pmbut I have no idea how to change it in rainmeter.ini (there are numbers instead of language).
Yes, it's a Locale ID (LCID). Here's a list of them:
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/openspecs/office_standards/ms-oe376/6c085406-a698-4e12-9d4d-c3b0ee3dbc4a



The above are just in case nothing works and you want to try things clean and see if it makes a difference for the better. Naturally, this would be a last resort measure, ideally you should be able to make Rainmeter work without going to such lengths...
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
User avatar
Smoru
Posts: 15
Joined: April 19th, 2024, 7:42 pm

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Smoru »

Yincognito wrote: April 24th, 2024, 4:57 pm I see. Well, all the other things seem fine according to your description, although unfortunately the problem still remains. Maybe others have better ideas that could fix the issue without having to take more elaborated measures. Me, just like you, had no issues with Rainmeter on Win 10 and there are plenty of Win 11 users having no issue with Rainmeter, but obviously it's a bit difficult to advise on this without knowing the particularities of your system first hand. :confused:

Regarding the Win 11 ISO, generally speaking one can download it directly from the Microsoft site, see:
https://www.microsoft.com/software-download/windows11
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/windows-11-23h2-iso-for-enterprise-missing/6c62590b-8208-4933-9d3e-3e9158fe8e3d
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/get-started/kms-client-activation-keys
Then you'd use Rufus to write the bootable Windows installation ISO downloaded above to an USB flash drive for a clean install. After installation and proper activation (that's up to you), one can check the activation status of the operating system by running: C:\Windows\System32\slmgr.vbs /xpr in a Command Prompt window (not sure if as an administrator or not, it's been a while since I last installed a Win 10 this way). From my experience, it won't exactly be the very latest version, but from my point of view this is better since the very latest version can have unknown bugs and such that haven't been yet fixed.


Yes, it's a Locale ID (LCID). Here's a list of them:
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/openspecs/office_standards/ms-oe376/6c085406-a698-4e12-9d4d-c3b0ee3dbc4a



The above are just in case nothing works and you want to try things clean and see if it makes a difference for the better. Naturally, this would be a last resort measure, ideally you should be able to make Rainmeter work without going to such lengths...
But I can't download it, he writes that it is not available in my region, and the VPN that I used for some reason stopped working. I have already downloaded the "Win 11 pro" iso for rufus and made a new installation flash drive. Let's see if reinstalling can really help.

I also changed the language in the program, without results
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7291
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: The problem with starting the program

Post by Yincognito »

Smoru wrote: April 24th, 2024, 5:34 pmLet's see if reinstalling can really help.
Well, like I said, it's a long shot and doesn't guarantee success, but good luck with it - hopefully it will have a positive impact. ;-)
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth