It is currently December 1st, 2021, 6:58 pm

Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
Sid1968
Posts: 3
Joined: September 12th, 2021, 11:38 am

Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Post by Sid1968 »

on my PC Rainmeter freezed for seconds . I have the newest Rainmeter installed. My Log is fine. thx Sid
User avatar
death.crafter
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1204
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Post by death.crafter »

Sid1968 wrote: September 24th, 2021, 12:11 pm on my PC Rainmeter freezed for seconds . I have the newest Rainmeter installed. My Log is fine. thx Sid
What skins you are using? If one of them has PowershellRM or MagickMeter plugin then it might be so that the environment took a little time to start, blocking the Rainmeter thread.

Unload all the skins to see if it still happens.
from the Realm of Death
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 13511
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Post by balala »

death.crafter wrote: September 24th, 2021, 12:17 pm What skins you are using? If one of them has PowershellRM or MagickMeter plugin then it might be so that the environment took a little time to start, blocking the Rainmeter thread.

Unload all the skins to see if it still happens.
Other skins as well might cause the same issue. For sure the culprit is a skin. Has to be identified which one.
So unloading as proposed above by death.crafter and loading them one-by-one, might identify the problematic skin.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22416
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Post by jsmorley »

It's also possible that Rainmeter was being updated to the latest version when you started it today. That can sometimes take a few seconds while Windows runs SmartScreen and Defender on it during the install.
Sid1968
Posts: 3
Joined: September 12th, 2021, 11:38 am

Re: Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Post by Sid1968 »

THX, I have found the failure. I have open the File Settings save it an close . That was it. now the freezed are away. thx Sid
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 13511
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Post by balala »

Sid1968 wrote: September 24th, 2021, 1:06 pm I have open the File Settings save it an close . That was it. now the freezed are away. thx Sid
Sorry, but what "File Settings" is?
Sid1968
Posts: 3
Joined: September 12th, 2021, 11:38 am

Re: Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Post by Sid1968 »

File setting = open skin.ini
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 13511
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Rainmeter freezed for 10, 14 Seconds

Post by balala »

Sid1968 wrote: September 24th, 2021, 2:34 pm File setting = open skin.ini
So this is a skin, right? I don't know it, however makes not too much sense for me, because you said:
Sid1968 wrote: September 24th, 2021, 1:06 pm THX, I have found the failure. I have open the File Settings save it an close . That was it. now the freezed are away. thx Sid
If you had the code of skin open in any text editor (which I suppose you had, because otherwise what have you saved?), the text editor theoretically shouldn't have to freeze Rainmeter. So finally am not sure what you did, but if the issue has been fixed, it's good, I suppose.