It is currently March 19th, 2024, 11:49 am

Show active Language

Post reviews, recommendations and questions about other software.
wtfigo
Posts: 3
Joined: November 19th, 2020, 10:55 am

Show active Language

Post by wtfigo »

Hello to all.
does anyone know a widget that shows me the currently active language?
thank you.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16091
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Show active Language

Post by balala »

wtfigo wrote: November 19th, 2020, 10:58 am does anyone know a widget that shows me the currently active language?
What "active language" is? The language of Windows? Or something else?
wtfigo
Posts: 3
Joined: November 19th, 2020, 10:55 am

Re: Show active Language

Post by wtfigo »

input methods.
I have 3 languages set up on my keyboard.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22632
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Show active Language

Post by jsmorley »

I'm still not sure exactly what language value you are looking for, and Windows is full of them, but I think this should cover all the bases:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1
AccurateText=1
OnRefreshAction=[!CommandMeasure MeasureCulture "Run"]

[MeasureCulture]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=RunCommand
OutputType=ANSI
Program=PowerShell
Parameter=-NoProfile -ExecutionPolicy Bypass Get-Culture | Format-List -Property *
FinishAction=[!UpdateMeasure *][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]

[MeasureKeyboardLayoutId]
Measure=String
String=[MeasureCulture]
DynamicVariables=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="(?siU)^.*KeyboardLayoutId.*: (.*)\n.*$":"\1","#CRLF#":""

[MeasureName]
Measure=String
String=[MeasureCulture]
DynamicVariables=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="(?siU)^.*Name.*: (.*)\n.*$":"\1","#CRLF#":""

[MeasureDisplay]
Measure=String
String=[MeasureCulture]
DynamicVariables=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="(?siU)^.*DisplayName.*: (.*)\n.*$":"\1","#CRLF#":""

[MeasureTwoLetter]
Measure=String
String=[MeasureCulture]
DynamicVariables=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="(?siU)^.*TwoLetterISOLanguageName.*: (.*)\n.*$":"\1","#CRLF#":""

[MeasureThreeLetter]
Measure=String
String=[MeasureCulture]
DynamicVariables=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="(?siU)^.*ThreeLetterISOLanguageName.*: (.*)\n.*$":"\1","#CRLF#":""

[MeterMyLanguage]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureKeyboardLayoutId
MeasureName2=MeasureName
MeasureName3=MeasureDisplay
MeasureName4=MeasureTwoLetter
MeasureName5=MeasureThreeLetter
FontSize=11
FontWeight=400
FontColor=255,255,255,255
SolidColor=47,47,47,255
Padding=5,5,5,5
AntiAlias=1
Text=KeyBoard ID: %1#CRLF#Locale Name: %2#CRLF#Display Name: %3#CRLF#Two Letter Code: %4#CRLF#Three Letter Code: %5

1.jpg



-NoProfile -ExecutionPolicy Bypass Get-Culture | Format-List -Property *

PowerShell will return something like this:

Code: Select all

Parent                         : en
LCID                           : 1033
KeyboardLayoutId               : 1033
Name                           : en-US
IetfLanguageTag                : en-US
DisplayName                    : English (United States)
NativeName                     : English (United States)
EnglishName                    : English (United States)
TwoLetterISOLanguageName       : en
ThreeLetterISOLanguageName     : eng
ThreeLetterWindowsLanguageName : ENU
CompareInfo                    : CompareInfo - en-US
TextInfo                       : TextInfo - en-US
IsNeutralCulture               : False
CultureTypes                   : SpecificCultures, InstalledWin32Cultures, FrameworkCultures
NumberFormat                   : System.Globalization.NumberFormatInfo
DateTimeFormat                 : System.Globalization.DateTimeFormatInfo
Calendar                       : System.Globalization.GregorianCalendar
OptionalCalendars              : {System.Globalization.GregorianCalendar, System.Globalization.GregorianCalendar}
UseUserOverride                : True
IsReadOnly                     : False
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16091
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Show active Language

Post by balala »

jsmorley wrote: November 19th, 2020, 1:36 pm I'm still not sure exactly what language value you are looking for, and Windows is full of them,
I suppose wtfigo want to know the keyboard input language (there might be a better term for this), which is set near the clock in taskbar. This one:
Lang.png
wtfigo
Posts: 3
Joined: November 19th, 2020, 10:55 am

Re: Show active Language

Post by wtfigo »

Hi.
Thank you balala.
Yes that's exactly what I meant.
I have 3 screens, and the language icon shows on only one of them. And I use autohide so I thought I could use a widget to shorten the time I need to look for what is the set language at the current time.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16091
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Show active Language

Post by balala »

wtfigo wrote: November 20th, 2020, 10:36 am Yes that's exactly what I meant.
Unfortunately I don't know a way to achieve this. Maybe someon else?
User avatar
deflore08
Posts: 209
Joined: July 12th, 2020, 7:47 am
Location: Ada, Garden City
Contact:

Re: Show active Language

Post by deflore08 »

A necroposter here! There is no way to display tray and language bar for additional screens. Many people asking this feature since years but Microsoft still ignoring this fact. :) :confused:
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16091
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Show active Language

Post by balala »

deflore08 wrote: February 26th, 2021, 6:28 pm A necroposter here! There is no way to display tray and language bar for additional screens. Many people asking this feature since years but Microsoft still ignoring this fact. :) :confused:
What do you mean by "additional screens"?
User avatar
Active Colors
Moderator
Posts: 1250
Joined: February 16th, 2012, 3:32 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Show active Language

Post by Active Colors »

deflore08 wrote: February 26th, 2021, 6:28 pm A necroposter here! There is no way to display tray and language bar for additional screens. Many people asking this feature since years but Microsoft still ignoring this fact. :) :confused:
Kinda strange. The active input language is based per active window. For instance, if you open a browser and switch to a language B, when you focus on desktop it will be a language A. But Windows still can detect a current focused "window" and tell what is an active keyboard language right now anyhow.

All I know is that the taskhost.exe is related to the language bar and C:/Windows/system32/input.dll is related to the input.
Post Reply