It's really not how we roll here in RainmeterLand. The combination of using that key, with a UserAgent string of "Rainmeter WebParser plugin" is enough to give us a bad name with their Web Master... We don't ever tell anyone what they should or shouldn't do to be good netizins, that's up to you and your karma. As a "project", we like to keep our noses clean, our pants pulled up, and our hats turned around the right way. If they meant for their API to be public, it wouldn't need a key. Scraping what the website returns to any user is more fair game, you can't complain that your neighbors saw your butt if you sunbath in your front yard.Yincognito wrote: ↑February 9th, 2020, 12:42 am You're probably right. We wouldn't be the first ones to use it though - I came up upon a large discussion about some (probably) similar software to "ours" and they were pasting keys left and right (though only 2 of them). That was from last year, yet it still works. The key is also present on the main page source itself (I discovered it while getting an error section on Sevastopol - I just wanted to know if the city was described as a disputed territory, LOL -, and found out that it's there even without any error anyway). My impression is that it's the very key used to display the data on the main page, available to all users (hence why I said it's not "hacked").
It is currently October 5th, 2024, 3:25 pm
⭐ Weather.com - Parsing the V3 JSON
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22819
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 8350
- Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
- Location: Terra Yincognita
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
Apparently, not in the eyes of Google though, which is why they don't allow Chrome extensions to download YouTube videos. That's the main reason why I never registered or posted my image scraping extension on their WebStore, although it's good looking and vastly superior to others, querying up to various levels for linked images. I reserved it for my personal use (which is why I made it in the first place).
But as I said, I get what you mean, and I agree. Didn't know the WebParser "plugin" has its own UserAgent though. Nice!
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22819
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
I get the location information from here:
With:
So I'm getting the "first" adminDistrict, then country, then displayName.
If there is a more accurate or reliable way, I'm all ears... However, as I said, If it involves worrying about what kind of location code the user uses, I'm not interested. If at all possible, I want the same behavior if they use USVA0944, b48efc57780b9849d26b01c8abf4cc4e268471cb02e8054dfd9801206d2f9add, or 22308.
The only thing I have a high degree of confidence in is that there will always be a displayName.
Code: Select all
"Location":{"language:en-US:locationType:locid:locid:USVA0944:1:US":{"loading":false,"loaded":true,"data":{"location":{"latitude":38.733,"longitude":-77.058,"city":null,"locale":{"locale1":null,"locale2":"Fort Hunt","locale3":null,"locale4":null},"neighborhood":null,"adminDistrict":"Virginia","adminDistrictCode":"VA","postalCode":"22308","postalKey":"22308:US","country":"United States of America","countryCode":"US","ianaTimeZone":"America\u002FNew_York","displayName":"Fort Hunt",
Code: Select all
(?siU)"Location":{.*"latitude":(.*),.*"longitude":(.*),.*"adminDistrict":(.*),.*"adminDistrictCode":(.*),.*"country":(.*),.*"countryCode":(.*),.*"displayName":(.*),
If there is a more accurate or reliable way, I'm all ears... However, as I said, If it involves worrying about what kind of location code the user uses, I'm not interested. If at all possible, I want the same behavior if they use USVA0944, b48efc57780b9849d26b01c8abf4cc4e268471cb02e8054dfd9801206d2f9add, or 22308.
The only thing I have a high degree of confidence in is that there will always be a displayName.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22819
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
Added the following two bits of information:
[@CurrentPrecipitationLast24Hours] : Use [@UnitsAccumulation]
[@CurrentSnowDepth] : Use [@UnitsAccumulation]
Might be of more interest if global warming ever lets it snow here...
[@CurrentPrecipitationLast24Hours] : Use [@UnitsAccumulation]
[@CurrentSnowDepth] : Use [@UnitsAccumulation]
Might be of more interest if global warming ever lets it snow here...
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 8350
- Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
- Location: Terra Yincognita
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
It has nothing to do with the location code or anything like that, don't worry (since the first regex below is capturing the same displayName).jsmorley wrote: ↑February 9th, 2020, 1:22 am I get the location information from here:
With:Code: Select all
"Location":{"language:en-US:locationType:locid:locid:USVA0944:1:US":{"loading":false,"loaded":true,"data":{"location":{"latitude":38.733,"longitude":-77.058,"city":null,"locale":{"locale1":null,"locale2":"Fort Hunt","locale3":null,"locale4":null},"neighborhood":null,"adminDistrict":"Virginia","adminDistrictCode":"VA","postalCode":"22308","postalKey":"22308:US","country":"United States of America","countryCode":"US","ianaTimeZone":"America\u002FNew_York","displayName":"Fort Hunt",
So I'm getting the "first" adminDistrict, then country, then displayName.Code: Select all
(?siU)"Location":{.*"latitude":(.*),.*"longitude":(.*),.*"adminDistrict":(.*),.*"adminDistrictCode":(.*),.*"country":(.*),.*"countryCode":(.*),.*"displayName":(.*),
If there is a more accurate or reliable way, I'm all ears... However, as I said, If it involves worrying about what kind of location code the user uses, I'm not interested. If at all possible, I want the same behavior if they use USVA0944, b48efc57780b9849d26b01c8abf4cc4e268471cb02e8054dfd9801206d2f9add, or 22308.
I misunderstood when you said that you use displayName, then adminDistrict - I thought "then" implied that you captured adminDistrict after you captured displayName (which would have made the 2nd occurence of adminDistrict the one that got retrieved, hence the one that wasn't null in some of my tests).
Take this example of a source (it only happened to me once or twice, but it did happen nevertheless):
Code: Select all
"Location":{"language:en-GB:locationType:locid:locid:ROXX4613:1:RO":{"loading":false,"loaded":true,"data":{"location":{"latitude":47.95,"longitude":26.4,"city":null,"locale":{"locale1":null,"locale2":"Dorohoi","locale3":null,"locale4":null},"neighborhood":null,"adminDistrict":null,"adminDistrictCode":null,"postalCode":"715200","postalKey":"715200:RO","country":"Romania","countryCode":"RO","ianaTimeZone":"Europe\u002FBucharest","displayName":"Dorohoi","dstEnd":"2019-10-27T04:00:00+0200","dstStart":"2020-03-29T03:00:00+0300","dmaCd":null,"placeId":"308812117dc37d5579836cb12451d875f7d56d0f6110b0039d6f7dd92ca06004","disputedArea":false,"canonicalCityId":"de6a0e21dc1d414329278dfa9961435380b25b76a2cfeb7b7b6156364e9afcbb","countyId":null,"locId":"47.950\u002F26.400:29:RO","locationCategory":null,"pollenId":null,"pwsId":null,"regionalSatellite":"eur","tideId":null,"type":"locid","zoneId":"RO005"}},"ttl":86400,"date":1580559384000},"canonicalCityId:de6a0e21dc1d414329278dfa9961435380b25b76a2cfeb7b7b6156364e9afcbb:language:en-GB":{"loading":false,"loaded":true,"data":{"location":{"latitude":47.96,"longitude":26.4,"city":"Dorohoi","locale":{"locale1":null,"locale2":"Dorohoi","locale3":null,"locale4":null},"neighborhood":null,"adminDistrict":"Botoșani County","adminDistrictCode":null,"postalCode":"715200","postalKey":"715200:RO","country":"Romania","countryCode":"RO","ianaTimeZone":"Europe\u002FBucharest","displayName":"Dorohoi","dstEnd":"2019-10-27T04:00:00+0200","dstStart":"2020-03-29T03:00:00+0300","dmaCd":null,"placeId":"15bc0d7380e2eb48a62bf7775bf74c3d5e7239934fd863d0827a029a5433f320","disputedArea":false,"canonicalCityId":"de6a0e21dc1d414329278dfa9961435380b25b76a2cfeb7b7b6156364e9afcbb","countyId":null,"locId":null,"locationCategory":null,"pollenId":null,"pwsId":null,"regionalSatellite":"eur","tideId":null,"type":"city","zoneId":"RO005"}},"ttl":86400,"date":1580559385000}}
So, your regex would be instead:
Code: Select all
(?siU)"Location":{.*"displayName":(.*),.*"latitude":(.*),.*"longitude":(.*),.*"adminDistrict":(.*),.*"adminDistrictCode":(.*),.*"country":(.*),.*"countryCode":(.*),
Personally, given the fact that I included most of the parathesis in my regexes, I use something along these lines:
Code: Select all
(?siU)"Location":.*,".*":{.*{.*{.*"latitude":(.*),.*"longitude":(.*),.*"adminDistrict":(.*),.*"adminDistrictCode":(.*),.*"country":(.*),.*"countryCode":(.*),.*"displayName":(.*),
It's up to you which one of these you would prefer - if you prefer any, that is. Me, I don't like to have missing values in my skin, especially when the actual values do exist in the source.
I recently read in a TWC paper that the units for accumulation can be either mm (for rain) or cm (for snow) - so 2 alernative units -, for those employing a metric system. The "imperialists" have nothing to worry about, as they measure even their noses in inches.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22819
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
Ok, I changed the order as you suggested. For my location, it works the same, but I will test with some others.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22819
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
Ah right... It should be:Yincognito wrote: ↑February 9th, 2020, 2:56 am I recently read in a TWC paper that the units for accumulation can be either mm (for rain) or cm (for snow) - so 2 alernative units -, for those employing a metric system. The "imperialists" have nothing to worry about, as they measure even their noses in inches.
[@CurrentPrecipitationLast24Hours] : Use [@UnitsPrecipitation]
[@CurrentSnowDepth] : Use [@UnitsAccumulation]
I'll fix the docs...
Give me an inch, and I'll take a mile...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 8350
- Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
- Location: Terra Yincognita
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
Yeah. And some docs that might be helpful:
- the icons and their description here
- the API usage (where I got the unit info from) here
EDIT: No, it's 2 units for Accumulation, not 1, in the case of the metric system. It's either mm if the precipType is "rain" (and probably the default "precip"), and cm if the type is "snow". At least that's how I understand it - correct me if I'm wrong. I know, even more trouble, LOL...
The TWC data and structure seem to be much more volatile and adaptive than the "old" wxdata one.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22819
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
I don't think that is right. The "units" are static, based on your language code. I firmly believe that amount of rain is measured in @UnitsPrecipitation, and amount of snow is measured in @UnitsAccumulation.Yincognito wrote: ↑February 9th, 2020, 3:14 am Yeah. And some docs that might be helpful:
- the icons and their description here
- the API usage (where I got the unit info from) here
EDIT: No, it's 2 units for Accumulation, not 1, in the case of the metric system. It's either mm if the precipType is "rain" (and probably the default "precip"), and cm if the type is "snow". At least that's how I understand it - correct me if I'm wrong. I know, even more trouble, LOL...
The TWC data and structure seem to be much more volatile and adaptive than the "old" wxdata one.
Guess I'll find out for sure if it ever snows here.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22819
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: ⭐ weather.com - Parsing the JSON
You may be right now that I look at it.
If you get this information from each day/night "forecast":
"precipPct":10,"precipAmt":0,"precipType":"rain"
Then perhaps if precipType is "rain / precip" it is measured in @UnitsPrecipitation, and if precipType is "snow" is it measured in @UnitsAccumulation.
That's not going to be rocket-science to deal with with an IFMatch is this is the case.
If you get this information from each day/night "forecast":
"precipPct":10,"precipAmt":0,"precipType":"rain"
Then perhaps if precipType is "rain / precip" it is measured in @UnitsPrecipitation, and if precipType is "snow" is it measured in @UnitsAccumulation.
That's not going to be rocket-science to deal with with an IFMatch is this is the case.