It is currently March 4th, 2021, 4:20 am

⭐ Weather.com

Weather skins
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3017
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

Wim wrote: May 29th, 2020, 1:22 pm I only tried IE but i can give it a try in Edge. Give me - say - half an hour. I should have some results by then ...
Ok, thanks.
Wim
Posts: 69
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 8:30 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Wim »

It's not exactly half an hour but i think it's safe to say that Edge has no effect; at least not the way i noticed it with IE. Nothing has happened so far and all weather skins are still working the way they should. I loaded and unloaded some; hit refresh a couple of times and closed Edge while deleting cookies and then again without doing so. No results. For the time being i would say only IE has this effect.
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3017
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

Wim wrote: May 29th, 2020, 1:53 pm It's not exactly half an hour but i think it's safe to say that Edge has no effect; at least not the way i noticed it with IE. Nothing has happened so far and all weather skins are still working the way they should. I loaded and unloaded some; hit refresh a couple of times and closed Edge while deleting cookies and then again without doing so. No results. For the time being i would say only IE has this effect.
Thanks - let's see if someone else thinks this is useful. The result is a bit odd (but not that much), since, as far as I know, IE and Edge use the same cookie database and (sorry, my mistake here: IE cookie records are stored in the 'WebCacheV01.dat' file, while Edge cookies are stored in the 'Cookies' SQLite database) they are related in more ways that one. :???:
Wim
Posts: 69
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 8:30 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Wim »

I'm still wondering about the fact that i only ran into this two days ago. It's being going on for just over a week - judging by some of the posts on this forum.

The point is is that i use Brave as my standard browser but some websites consider it a sort of ad-blocker and don't react very well to it so i use IE as a backup. I've been using IE every day during the entire last week without any trouble while others were posting about their weather going down.

Then suddenly two days ago i ran into the same thing and now just typing a web adress into IE almost immediately brings the weather down; but before that? Nothing.

It doesn't make much sense to me. :confused:
User avatar
gordonpm
Posts: 10
Joined: May 22nd, 2020, 9:08 am

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gordonpm »

No idea if this makes any sense at all tbh.

I have 2 profiles for LargeWeather. The default one and one which I modified slightly, but only to change font size and positions slightly.

The default one works, the modified one doesn't :confused:
gator
Posts: 8
Joined: May 29th, 2020, 3:35 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gator »

To add an extra wrinkle to this issue, I am working on a skin based on foreca.com data. While trying different approaches (and mostly failing), my skin stopped displaying any data. Not unlike what the weather.com based skin on my screen has been doing for the last week. I found that simply deleting the cookies using the IE control panel didn't work, I had to go to the next step and manually delete the cookies accessing them through the same IE control panel. This happened several times last night usually after refeshing my foreca.com skin and getting numerous errors. On one ocassion, the weather.com skin on my desktop also stopped reporting any data right after the foreca.com one failed. I'm assuming this was due to the weather.com skin's auto-refresh ocurring right after my foreca.com skin failed (although it could have been failing on its own).

When manually deleting the cookies, I only had to delete the ones that had some portion of the foreca.com URL string in its title then restart Rainmeter and both the foreca.com and weather.com skins would come back to life.

I also have a yahoo.com based skin on my desktop. It has yet to display the same issue; however, it may not have auto-refreshed prior to me exiting Rainmeter to correct the foreca.com cookie issue. If my foreca.com skin fails again, I will force a refresh on both the weather.com and yahoo.com skins prior to exiting Rainmeter to see if all three fail due to the cookies from foreca.com and report that information here.

Just wanted you all to know that the cookie issue is just affecting weather.com based skins.
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 3017
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

Yeah, whether all this makes sense or not, I may just get rid of the whole problem soon. 8-) Although largely successful, the cookie fix feels wrong to me, as one shouldn't have to (repeatedly or not) perform such fixes to get weather data anyway.

Gator, you may consider working locally when you build a weather skin, in order to avoid unnecessary polling the source site. A Debug=2 in the WebParser parent followed by temporarily setting your URL option to parse your previously downloaded page source allows you to have as many errors or other problems in the process of building the skin without affecting the actual connection to the site in any way. Once you get everything working well, it's a matter of one or two touches to restore the actual source in the URL option, especially if you commented the line previously.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4226
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by eclectic-tech »

@ gator

To follow up on Yincognito's suggestion, I always use Debug=2 when creating/editing skins that use Webparser. After running the skin with the desired URL and Debug=2 on the webparser measure, a copy of what the webparser returns is created as 'WebParserDump.txt' in the same folder as the skin.

Then I change the URL option in the skin's webparser measure to URL=file://#CurrentPath#WebparserDump.txt and remove Debug=2.
Now while testing and editing, I never read from the website, but rather read the file copy.

This can prevent being blocked by the site if you refresh too often (looks like a DenialOfService attack) and may prevent the webparser measure from 'hanging' due to rapid refresh actions. :welcome:
gator
Posts: 8
Joined: May 29th, 2020, 3:35 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gator »

Yincognito and eclectic-tech,

Thank you both for your suggestions. I will have to try that method. I was attempting to have 2 sets of identical measure names that I thought I could turn off/on using a group name and disable/enable. Apparently Rainmeter doesn't recognize the second set measure names even if the first set is disabled? So, I guess I'll have to figure out how to conditionally enable separate regex files to accomplish my task.

--------------------

Back to the point of this thread my weather.com skin was not working for over an hour despite closing the skin, exiting Rainmeter, deleting the cookies, manually deleting the files by way of the IE control panel, waiting several minutes and restarting Rainmeter. There would be one cookie from weather.com that was named the same as the 8-digit location code for my location that I had to manually delete each time.

One other little thing I've noticed - there are times when I restart Rainmeter during these issues that the Rainmeter icon fails to show up in the taskbar like it usually does during normal operations.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4226
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by eclectic-tech »

gator wrote: May 29th, 2020, 7:06 pm Yincognito and eclectic-tech,

Thank you both for your suggestions.
...
One other little thing I've noticed - there are times when I restart Rainmeter during these issues that the Rainmeter icon fails to show up in the taskbar like it usually does during normal operations.
I have had malfunctioning weather skin crash Rainmeter. You may be experiencing a crash that does not let Rainmeter load initially.

Usually, it is not necessary to manually edit Rainmeter.ini, and set Active=0 <<deactivate the config(s)>> on the faulty weather skin config sections, and save those changes, in order to get Rainmeter running again.