First off, The bang you need to use is actually !CommandMeasure mTrack Pause=1
When putting mouse actions on string meters it's a good idea to add a solid color (SolidColor=0,0,0,1) otherwise the action will only fire when your mouse actually touches the text itself.
Try those two changes and see if it makes a difference.
It is currently December 7th, 2023, 9:45 am
[Script] Lua Marquee
-
- Moderator
- Posts: 1931
- Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
- Location: Willmar, MN
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: February 2nd, 2011, 3:59 am
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
Has this been implemented? If i missed the post please forgive me i an a terrible searcher.jsmorley wrote: Not for long...

-
- Posts: 1140
- Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
- Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
I've learnt a LITTLE about Rainmeter from editing other skins, but this Marquee thing has stumped me completely!
I Have edited poiru's Soita media player skin and added a ton of stuff to it so things have become complicated to say the least! I've tried copying your examples in the first post and changing where I think it's needed but I either got no text, no scroll or a '0' ?
I want the Artist, Track and Album text to scroll only on mouse over. However, I've already used MouseOverAction in the Rainmeter section. I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing, is it necessary to edit the LUA in any way?
Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Scott
EDIT: I've created a copy of my skin and deleted ALL non essential elements. I then added the code stated earlier in this post and all I get is No track name, No artist name and a '0' for Album!
I Have edited poiru's Soita media player skin and added a ton of stuff to it so things have become complicated to say the least! I've tried copying your examples in the first post and changing where I think it's needed but I either got no text, no scroll or a '0' ?
I want the Artist, Track and Album text to scroll only on mouse over. However, I've already used MouseOverAction in the Rainmeter section. I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing, is it necessary to edit the LUA in any way?
Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Scott
EDIT: I've created a copy of my skin and deleted ALL non essential elements. I then added the code stated earlier in this post and all I get is No track name, No artist name and a '0' for Album!
- MuLab -
-
- Moderator
- Posts: 1931
- Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
- Location: Willmar, MN
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
The easiest way to help you would be for you to post your skin code, or better yet an rmskin package of the skin.sl23 wrote:I've learnt a LITTLE about Rainmeter from editing other skins, but this Marquee thing has stumped me completely!
I Have edited poiru's Soita media player skin and added a ton of stuff to it so things have become complicated to say the least! I've tried copying your examples in the first post and changing where I think it's needed but I either got no text, no scroll or a '0' ?
I want the Artist, Track and Album text to scroll only on mouse over. However, I've already used MouseOverAction in the Rainmeter section. I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing, is it necessary to edit the LUA in any way?
Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Scott
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
-
- Posts: 1140
- Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
- Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
Thanks smurfier, here's the skin. As I said it's been stripped with just necessary suff in there. The order of Track details is:
Artist
Track
Album
Progress/Duration
Progress Bar
The progress Bar is in correct position and the other details appear above it LeftAligned.
Thanks again.
EDIT:
Oops! I didn't specify where I put the LUA file! It's in the Resources folder, I've added it and I still get No Artist or Track info but instead of that '0' I get Input Error.
Artist
Track
Album
Progress/Duration
Progress Bar
The progress Bar is in correct position and the other details appear above it LeftAligned.
Thanks again.
EDIT:

- MuLab -
-
- Moderator
- Posts: 1931
- Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
- Location: Willmar, MN
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
You were using a previous method of multiple measures. I updated that, as well as other bits of the skin.sl23 wrote:Thanks smurfier, here's the skin. As I said it's been stripped with just necessary suff in there. The order of Track details is:
Artist
Track
Album
Progress/Duration
Progress Bar
The progress Bar is in correct position and the other details appear above it LeftAligned.
Thanks again.
EDIT:Oops! I didn't specify where I put the LUA file! It's in the Resources folder, I've added it and I still get No Artist or Track info but instead of that '0' I get Input Error.
Code: Select all
[Rainmeter]
Author=poiru
Update=1000
MouseLeaveAction=[!ShowMeterGroup Hide][!UpdateMeterGroup Hide][!HideMeterGroup Show][!UpdateMeterGroup Show][!ShowMeterGroup HideR][!UpdateMeterGroup HideR][!HideMeterGroup ShowR][!UpdateMeterGroup ShowR][!HideFade "Soita"][!Redraw]
DynamicWindowSize=1
[Metadata]
Name=Soita
Information=Displays track information from various media players.
Version=1.0.1
License=Creative Commons BY-NC-SA 3.0
[Variables]
Update=100
Player=CAD
PlayerChosen=1
;------------------------------------------------------- STYLES
[styleLeftText]
StringAlign=Left
StringStyle=Bold
FontFace=Trebuchet MS
FontColor=0,255,255,250
FontSize=10
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1
Group=HideR
[styleLeftText2]
StringAlign=Left
StringStyle=Bold
FontFace=Trebuchet MS
FontColor=0,255,255,250
FontSize=9
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1
Group=Hide
[styleBar1]
BarColor=235,170,0,255
BarOrientation=Horizontal
SolidColor=250,250,250,40
[styleBar2]
BarOrientation=Horizontal
SolidColor=250,250,250,80
;------------------------------------------------------ PLAYER MEASURES
[mPlayer]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=#Player#
[mCover]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=[mPlayer]
PlayerType=COVER
Substitute="":"#@#Default.png"
[mPosition]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=[mPlayer]
PlayerType=POSITION
Substitute="00:00":"0"
[mDuration]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=[mPlayer]
PlayerType=DURATION
Substitute="00:00":"Stopped"
[mProgress]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=[mPlayer]
PlayerType=PROGRESS
;------------------------------------------------------------- GRAPHICS
[Background]
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#Background.png
X=0
Y=0
[BackgroundCoverW]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=styleBar2
X=20
Y=18
W=91
H=91
[BackgroundCoverB]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=styleBar2
SolidColor=0,0,0,190
X=21
Y=19
W=89
H=89
[Cover]
Meter=Image
MeasureName=mCover
SolidColor=255,255,255,10
Group=HideR
X=23
Y=21
W=85
H=85
;----------------------------------------------------------- TRACK INFO
[MeasureMedia1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=[mPlayer]
PlayerType=Artist
[MeasureMedia2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=[mPlayer]
PlayerType=Title
[MeasureMedia3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=[mPlayer]
PlayerType=Album
[mLua]
Measure=Script
ScriptFile=Marquee.lua
Width=100
MeasureName=MeasureMedia1|MeasureMedia2|MeasureMedia3
Delimiter=" | "
[StringMeter]
Meter=String
MeasureName=mLua
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
;------------------------------------------------------------ PROGRESS
[Time]
Meter=String
MeasureName=mPosition
MeasureName2=mDuration
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
StringStyle=Normal
FontColor=250,250,250,150
Text="%1 / %2"
X=r
Y=15r
W=100
H=14
[ProgressBar]
Meter=BAR
MeasureName=mProgress
MeterStyle=styleBar1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!CommandMeasure "mPlayer" "SetPosition $MouseX:%$"]
X=122
Y=80
W=270
H=2
;---------------------------------------------------------------- POWER
[MeasurePower]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=PowerPlugin
PowerState=Percent
[MeterPower1]
Meter=RoundLine
MeasureName=MeasurePower
LineLength=30
LineStart=24
LineColor=128,255,0,70
StartAngle=-1.570796325
RotationAngle=6.2831853
Antialias=1
Group=HideR
X=290
Y=12
W=60
H=60
Solid=1
[MeterPower2]
Meter=RoundLine
MeasureName=MeasurePower
LineLength=28
LineStart=26
LineColor=128,255,0,255
StartAngle=-1.570796325
RotationAngle=6.2831853
Antialias=1
Group=HideR
X=r
Y=r
W=60
H=60
Solid=1
[MeasureAc]
Measure=Plugin
PlugIn=PowerPlugin
PowerState=ACLINE
IfAboveValue=0
IfAboveAction=[!SetOption MeterAcImage ImageTint 255,255,255,255]
IfBelowValue=1
IfBelowAction=[!SetOption MeterAcImage ImageTint 0,0,0,0]
[MeterAcImage]
Meter=Image
Group=HideR
ImageName=#@#AC.png
ImageTint=0,0,0,255
X=19r
Y=9r
W=20
H=20
[MeasureBatteryPercent]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=PowerPlugin
PowerState=Percent
[MeterBatteryPercent]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureBatteryPercent
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
StringAlign=Center
FontSize=8
Text=%1 %
X=12r
Y=24r
W=45
H=10
;------------------------------------------------------------ TIME / DATE
[MeasureTimeS]
Measure=Time
Format=%S
; See here for other formats - http://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/time
UpdateDivider=1
MinValue=0
MaxValue=60
[MeterTimeS1]
Meter=RoundLine
MeasureName=MeasureTimeS
LineLength=24
LineStart=18
LineColor=128,255,0,70
StartAngle=-1.570796325
RotationAngle=6.2831853
Antialias=1
Group=HideR
X=250
Y=20
W=30
H=30
Solid=1
[MeterTimeS2]
Meter=RoundLine
MeasureName=MeasureTimeS
LineLength=22
LineStart=20
LineColor=128,255,0,255
StartAngle=-1.570796325
RotationAngle=6.2831853
Antialias=1
Group=HideR
X=r
Y=r
W=30
H=30
Solid=1
[measureTimeT]
Measure=Time
Format=%#I:%#M
[meterTimeT]
Meter=String
MeasureName=measureTimeT
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
StringAlign=Center
FontSize=8
X=15r
Y=9r
W=40
H=10
;----------------------------------------------------------- LAUNCHERS
[LauncherRefreshSkin]
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#Refresh.png
LeftMouseUpAction=!Refresh
ToolTipText="Refresh"
X=370
Y=57
W=25
H=25
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
-
- Posts: 1140
- Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
- Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
This line seems to be the only difference:
MeasureName=MeasureMedia1|MeasureMedia2|MeasureMedia3
Now the Input Error has been replaced by that '0' !
MeasureName=MeasureMedia1|MeasureMedia2|MeasureMedia3
Now the Input Error has been replaced by that '0' !
- MuLab -
-
- Moderator
- Posts: 1931
- Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
- Location: Willmar, MN
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
Forgot to tell it where to look for the script.sl23 wrote:This line seems to be the only difference:
MeasureName=MeasureMedia1|MeasureMedia2|MeasureMedia3
Now the Input Error has been replaced by that '0' !
Code: Select all
[mLua]
Measure=Script
ScriptFile=#@#Marquee.lua
Width=100
MeasureName=MeasureMedia1|MeasureMedia2|MeasureMedia3
Delimiter=" | "
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
-
- Posts: 1140
- Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
- Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
Oh yeah, I'd already done that. Not sure why it's not working then?
- MuLab -
-
- Posts: 1140
- Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
- Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away
Re: [Script] Lua Marquee
Actually I used @Resources\Marquee.lua instead of #@#Marquee.lua, now I switched to the latter, it works, strange that it didn't before? I've rearranged the code a little and now it's working. I can't get the font style to work though?
Here's the latest version.
Here's the latest version.
Last edited by sl23 on May 27th, 2013, 5:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- MuLab -