Page 7 of 14

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 2nd, 2010, 11:58 pm
by UNleash
Crashes my Rainmeter without any error message (expect for windows 7 saying "Rainmeter has stopped working").
Yes, I used the 32bit one.

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 1:30 am
by spx
UNleash wrote:Crashes my Rainmeter without any error message (expect for windows 7 saying "Rainmeter has stopped working").
Yes, I used the 32bit one.
Try this and check Rainmeter.log.
TemperaturePlugin_r2.zip
DEBUG: (00:00:00.094) Refreshing (Name: "TEST\Temperature" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:00.125) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.125) Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.73GHz
DEBUG: (00:00:00.125) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.125) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.140) atiatl not found
DEBUG: (00:00:00.140) TemperaturePlugin: Leave GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) Initialization successful.

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 8:29 am
by maminscris
for me only 02_Customized crashes rainmeter (XP sp 3)

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 5:08 pm
by spx
maminscris wrote:for me only 02_Customized crashes rainmeter (XP sp 3)
Please try this. I fixed some NULL pointer access violations, and added more debug logs.
TemperaturePlugin_r3.zip *deleted the dll due to the licence issue of Elestel's source.

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:00.094) Refreshing (Name: "99_TESTAREA\Temp_test" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 01
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 02
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 03
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 04
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 05
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 06
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 07
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 08
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 09
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156)         Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.73GHz
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) GpuInfo(NV): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) GpuInfo(NV): 02
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) GpuInfo(ATI): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) atiatl not found
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) TemperaturePlugin: Leave GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.219) Initialization successful.
----
Log from Unleash:
It seems to crash in the initialization of GpuInfo. Maybe, fixed in r3.

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:16.318) Refreshing (Name: "1234" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:16.739) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:17.363) InitializeOls() fail
DEBUG: (00:00:17.363) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:17.363) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 6:48 pm
by maminscris
here is the log for r3

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) CpuInfo: 01
DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) CpuInfo: 02
DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) CpuInfo: 03
DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) CpuInfo: 04
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 05
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 06
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 07
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 08
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 09
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E7300  @ 2.66GHz
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) GpuInfo(NV): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) GpuInfo(NV): 02
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) GpuInfo(NV): 03
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) NVIDIA
i refresh the skin about 10 times and everything is fine

the readings, and the cpuid hardware monitor readings
readings.JPG

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 11:46 pm
by UNleash
I guess it is / was the the fact that I have an ATi Card that crashed the plugin.

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:10.967) Initialization successful.
DEBUG: (00:00:26.442) Refreshing (Name: "temp" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) CpuInfo: 01
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) CpuInfo: 02
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) CpuInfo: 03
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) CpuInfo: 04
DEBUG: (00:00:27.440) CpuInfo: 04-1
DEBUG: (00:00:27.440) InitializeOls() fail: OLS_DLL_DRIVER_NOT_LOADED (2)
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) GpuInfo(NV): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) GpuInfo(ATI): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) GpuInfo(ATI): 02
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) atiatl interface not match
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) TemperaturePlugin: Leave GpuInfo()
Now I only get this

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 7th, 2010, 1:21 pm
by boebi
I'll also help testing ;)

Running i7-920 with dual gtx285.
Might be interesting to have someone who has 2 graphics cards to test :)


About how CPU (and probably gpu) temperatures are calculated:
Every CPU has it's own "TJ Max" (Thermal Junction Maximum). This is the theoretical maximum temperature a CPU can operate on. For most CPU's this is between 85°C and 100°C, which is way too hot for a normal CPU to run (for instance a Core2 Quad shouldn't run higher than 65°C). Now the motherboard will not report the actual temperature but the distance away from the TJ Max.
So let's see:
Core Temp = TJ Max - Distance to TJ Max
So if you have a i7 for example, which has the TJ Max at 100°C, and an application reports the temperature is 35°C (yes, I have a good cooler), the calculation is:
35°C = 100°C - 65°C
That 65°C is what the motherboard is actually reporting back.

Just some info, some might be interested :)

I'll try running it now.

EDIT: Right, how do I get the temps to show up? I copied the WinRing to a couple of places and looked around but I don't see how I can get (the skin?) to work.

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 7th, 2010, 1:41 pm
by maminscris
after you copy plugin in plugins folder, and winring in rainmeter folder, restart rainmeter

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 7th, 2010, 1:50 pm
by boebi
Nothing happens here :/

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Posted: March 15th, 2010, 8:45 pm
by MooseyDoom
Hey, has anyone gotten the 64-bit plugin working? U used the plugin from r3 and I'm fairly certain I've got winring in the right place (C:\Program Files\Rainmeter), but Rainmeter crashes with "Rainmeter has stopped working" every time I try to open the skin. This is what I got from the debug:

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:33.056) Refreshing (Name: "Custom\CoreTemp" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) CpuInfo: 01
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) WinRing0 not found
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:33.119) GpuInfo(NV): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:33.119) GpuInfo(NV): 02
DEBUG: (00:00:33.119) GpuInfo(NV): 03
Also, Intel Core 2 Duo T9300@2.5GHz and Nvidia GeForce 8600M GT if that's helpful at all. Thanks in advance!