It is currently April 27th, 2024, 1:25 pm

Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
User avatar
UNleash
Posts: 50
Joined: December 13th, 2009, 4:28 am
Location: North-West Germany

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by UNleash »

Crashes my Rainmeter without any error message (expect for windows 7 saying "Rainmeter has stopped working").
Yes, I used the 32bit one.
Image
User avatar
spx
Developer
Posts: 686
Joined: August 15th, 2009, 2:41 pm
Location: Osaka, JPN

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by spx »

UNleash wrote:Crashes my Rainmeter without any error message (expect for windows 7 saying "Rainmeter has stopped working").
Yes, I used the 32bit one.
Try this and check Rainmeter.log.
TemperaturePlugin_r2.zip
DEBUG: (00:00:00.094) Refreshing (Name: "TEST\Temperature" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:00.125) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.125) Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.73GHz
DEBUG: (00:00:00.125) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.125) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.140) atiatl not found
DEBUG: (00:00:00.140) TemperaturePlugin: Leave GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) Initialization successful.
Last edited by spx on March 3rd, 2010, 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 509
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by maminscris »

for me only 02_Customized crashes rainmeter (XP sp 3)
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
User avatar
spx
Developer
Posts: 686
Joined: August 15th, 2009, 2:41 pm
Location: Osaka, JPN

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by spx »

maminscris wrote:for me only 02_Customized crashes rainmeter (XP sp 3)
Please try this. I fixed some NULL pointer access violations, and added more debug logs.
TemperaturePlugin_r3.zip *deleted the dll due to the licence issue of Elestel's source.

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:00.094) Refreshing (Name: "99_TESTAREA\Temp_test" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 01
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 02
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 03
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 04
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 05
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 06
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 07
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 08
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) CpuInfo: 09
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156)         Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.73GHz
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.156) GpuInfo(NV): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) GpuInfo(NV): 02
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) GpuInfo(ATI): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) atiatl not found
DEBUG: (00:00:00.172) TemperaturePlugin: Leave GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:00.219) Initialization successful.
----
Log from Unleash:
It seems to crash in the initialization of GpuInfo. Maybe, fixed in r3.

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:16.318) Refreshing (Name: "1234" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:16.739) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:17.363) InitializeOls() fail
DEBUG: (00:00:17.363) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:17.363) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
Last edited by spx on May 19th, 2010, 12:42 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 509
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by maminscris »

here is the log for r3

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) CpuInfo: 01
DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) CpuInfo: 02
DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) CpuInfo: 03
DEBUG: (00:00:01.515) CpuInfo: 04
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 05
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 06
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 07
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 08
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) CpuInfo: 09
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E7300  @ 2.66GHz
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) GpuInfo(NV): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) GpuInfo(NV): 02
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) GpuInfo(NV): 03
DEBUG: (00:00:01.796) NVIDIA
i refresh the skin about 10 times and everything is fine

the readings, and the cpuid hardware monitor readings
readings.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
User avatar
UNleash
Posts: 50
Joined: December 13th, 2009, 4:28 am
Location: North-West Germany

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by UNleash »

I guess it is / was the the fact that I have an ATi Card that crashed the plugin.

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:10.967) Initialization successful.
DEBUG: (00:00:26.442) Refreshing (Name: "temp" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) CpuInfo: 01
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) CpuInfo: 02
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) CpuInfo: 03
DEBUG: (00:00:26.848) CpuInfo: 04
DEBUG: (00:00:27.440) CpuInfo: 04-1
DEBUG: (00:00:27.440) InitializeOls() fail: OLS_DLL_DRIVER_NOT_LOADED (2)
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) GpuInfo(NV): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) GpuInfo(ATI): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) GpuInfo(ATI): 02
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) atiatl interface not match
DEBUG: (00:00:27.456) TemperaturePlugin: Leave GpuInfo()
Now I only get this
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
boebi
Posts: 4
Joined: March 6th, 2010, 10:05 pm

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by boebi »

I'll also help testing ;)

Running i7-920 with dual gtx285.
Might be interesting to have someone who has 2 graphics cards to test :)


About how CPU (and probably gpu) temperatures are calculated:
Every CPU has it's own "TJ Max" (Thermal Junction Maximum). This is the theoretical maximum temperature a CPU can operate on. For most CPU's this is between 85°C and 100°C, which is way too hot for a normal CPU to run (for instance a Core2 Quad shouldn't run higher than 65°C). Now the motherboard will not report the actual temperature but the distance away from the TJ Max.
So let's see:
Core Temp = TJ Max - Distance to TJ Max
So if you have a i7 for example, which has the TJ Max at 100°C, and an application reports the temperature is 35°C (yes, I have a good cooler), the calculation is:
35°C = 100°C - 65°C
That 65°C is what the motherboard is actually reporting back.

Just some info, some might be interested :)

I'll try running it now.

EDIT: Right, how do I get the temps to show up? I copied the WinRing to a couple of places and looked around but I don't see how I can get (the skin?) to work.
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 509
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by maminscris »

after you copy plugin in plugins folder, and winring in rainmeter folder, restart rainmeter
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
boebi
Posts: 4
Joined: March 6th, 2010, 10:05 pm

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by boebi »

Nothing happens here :/
User avatar
MooseyDoom
Posts: 6
Joined: March 15th, 2010, 8:11 pm

Re: Call for a Coder to build a Tempurature Monitor

Post by MooseyDoom »

Hey, has anyone gotten the 64-bit plugin working? U used the plugin from r3 and I'm fairly certain I've got winring in the right place (C:\Program Files\Rainmeter), but Rainmeter crashes with "Rainmeter has stopped working" every time I try to open the skin. This is what I got from the debug:

Code: Select all

DEBUG: (00:00:33.056) Refreshing (Name: "Custom\CoreTemp" Ini: "Temperature.ini")
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) TemperaturePlugin: Enter CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) CpuInfo: 01
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) WinRing0 not found
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) TemperaturePlugin: Leave CpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:33.103) TemperaturePlugin: Enter GpuInfo()
DEBUG: (00:00:33.119) GpuInfo(NV): 01
DEBUG: (00:00:33.119) GpuInfo(NV): 02
DEBUG: (00:00:33.119) GpuInfo(NV): 03
Also, Intel Core 2 Duo T9300@2.5GHz and Nvidia GeForce 8600M GT if that's helpful at all. Thanks in advance!
[size=115][center]The worst mistake anyone can make is being too afraid to make one.[/center][/size]