Cool... My pleasure.iron2000 wrote: Tested and it works just like I wanted!
Thanks!
It is currently November 29th, 2023, 6:06 am
RainRGB 4.0
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22593
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: RainRGB 3.0
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 889
- Joined: September 6th, 2011, 6:34 am
Re: RainRGB 3.0
Since we currently have no version checking for addons when installing a .rmskin file, it happened to me that RainRGB was overwritten with an older version. I don't want the users of my skins to experience the same, so I figured I could put RainRGB into the skin suite's folder. Unfortunately, RainRGB doesn't want to be run anywhere else than in the Addons folder. I find this a little restrictive, so I'd like to hear the reason for it.
Have more fun creating skins with Sublime Text 2 and the Rainmeter Package!
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: September 6th, 2011, 4:20 am
- Location: Steinkjer, Norway
Re: RainRGB 3.0
Since I am into the Demo-Scene (Just a traine yet) at the moment, this will be the most useful Rainmeter skin for me. No need to figure out the numbers for all the programming anymore! Creds to the creator :bow2: :bow2:
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22593
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: RainRGB 3.0
It needs this as it must "know" the location of Rainmeter.exe so it can send bangs to it. It is our approach with addons of this type to put them in the Addons folder in Rainmeter, so Rainmeter.exe is ..\..\ at all times, no matter how Rainmeter was installed.MerlinTheRed wrote:Since we currently have no version checking for addons when installing a .rmskin file, it happened to me that RainRGB was overwritten with an older version. I don't want the users of my skins to experience the same, so I figured I could put RainRGB into the skin suite's folder. Unfortunately, RainRGB doesn't want to be run anywhere else than in the Addons folder. I find this a little restrictive, so I'd like to hear the reason for it.
There is no version checking for addons, nor will there ever be. There is no such thing as a "standard addon", and file dates are meaningless. If it were me, I would probably put it in \Addons\MySuiteName\RainRGB.exe, so it was at the same level in the tree under \Rainmeter\Addons, but with a unique folder name. This is not technically a "perfect" solution, as it means a user could end up with 2 or 3 copies of RainRGB.exe on their system, but really... The file is like 900 kbytes, and they are never likely to have more a couple of copies. This is in any case the same as your idea to put it in the skin's folder, but unlike that method, it will still work.
-
- Posts: 608
- Joined: February 7th, 2011, 7:27 pm
- Location: Thessaloniki, GR
Re: RainRGB 3.0
Trying to incorporate RainRGB into one of my skins for the first time, I run into one problem.
Here's the code:
The test2.ini resides inside TEST folder:
Here's the code:
Code: Select all
RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test\test2"]
The error in log is:Rainmeter/skins/test/test2.ini
The !bang works correctly, it just doesn't refresh. If I manually refresh, it works.Bang: Config "test\test2" not found
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22593
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: RainRGB 3.0
A parameter in Rainmeter needing the "Config" does not include the skin file name.
RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test\test2"]
RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test"]
RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test\test2"]
RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test"]
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22593
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: RainRGB 4.0
There is a new version 4.0 of RainRGB in the first message of this thread.
RainRGB4 no longer requires that the tool be placed in the \Addons folder in your Rainmeter home folder. It can now be run from anywhere, so you can include it in your skins folder when distributing if you desire.
In order to avoid some of the "overwrite" issues when you do distribute using the \Addons folder, The folder and executable are now "RainRGB4", not just "RainRGB", so be sure to edit your skins appropriately.
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB4\RainRGB4.exe" "VarName=MyColor1" "Alpha=255" "FileName=#ROOTCONFIGPATH#UserVariables.inc"]
RainRGB4 no longer requires that the tool be placed in the \Addons folder in your Rainmeter home folder. It can now be run from anywhere, so you can include it in your skins folder when distributing if you desire.
In order to avoid some of the "overwrite" issues when you do distribute using the \Addons folder, The folder and executable are now "RainRGB4", not just "RainRGB", so be sure to edit your skins appropriately.
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB4\RainRGB4.exe" "VarName=MyColor1" "Alpha=255" "FileName=#ROOTCONFIGPATH#UserVariables.inc"]
-
- Posts: 608
- Joined: February 7th, 2011, 7:27 pm
- Location: Thessaloniki, GR
Re: RainRGB 3.0
Thanks. Always banging my head when it comes to "config". Still, I thought I had this one correct because of the your example, JSMorley\JSClock. I thought JSClock was the .ini file. I managed to make it work, thank youjsmorley wrote:A parameter in Rainmeter needing the "Config" does not include the skin file name.
RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test\test2"]
RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test"]

-
- Developer
- Posts: 22593
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: RainRGB 3.0
Ah, no it's "C:\Users\Jeffrey Morley\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\JSMeter\JSClock\JSClockWeather.ini". All's well that ends well.KreAch3R wrote: Thanks. Always banging my head when it comes to "config". Still, I thought I had this one correct because of the your example, JSMorley\JSClock. I thought JSClock was the .ini file. I managed to make it work, thank you
http://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?p=56698#p56698
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: January 6th, 2012, 11:00 pm
Re: RainRGB 4.0
I can't get this to work.. It is incredibly hard for me to do all this when i have no experience with coding or anything that has with Rainmeter to do xD
Anyways, here comes the stupid questions!
Where should i change all this text? I have it in Documents/Rainmeter/skins/BRK/Wordclock2 and in there is the config document.. If it is that one i should change, this is what it says:
Right now it says ''LeftMouseDownAction=!Execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=color.secondary" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH#UserVariables.inc" "RefreshConfig=BRK\WordClock2"]''
Is that right? Nothing happens when i run RainRGB4..
Anyways, here comes the stupid questions!
Where should i change all this text? I have it in Documents/Rainmeter/skins/BRK/Wordclock2 and in there is the config document.. If it is that one i should change, this is what it says:
Right now it says ''LeftMouseDownAction=!Execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=color.secondary" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH#UserVariables.inc" "RefreshConfig=BRK\WordClock2"]''
Is that right? Nothing happens when i run RainRGB4..
