I'm fairly certain this was not a limitation in prior releases.
Can anyone else confirm? Latest August 8th version.
!SetWindowPosition is also a problem.
It is currently September 9th, 2024, 1:28 pm
[Bug] !SetAnchor bang doesnt work to set anchor of inactive skins
-
- Posts: 278
- Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 8052
- Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
- Location: Terra Yincognita
Re: [Bug] !SetAnchor bang doesnt work to set anchor of inactive skins
I'm currently polishing a music playing skin I wrote, so I use this 4.5.30.3783 Rainmeter version, but I don't see any obvious issues with !SetWindowPosition, neither from the same skin (the controlled one) or from another one (the controlling one) - but then I don't know exactly what to look for either...Cariboudjan wrote: ↑August 19th, 2024, 1:31 pm I'm fairly certain this was not a limitation in prior releases.
Can anyone else confirm? Latest August 8th version.
!SetWindowPosition is also a problem.
[SkinsFolder]\Test\Test.ini (the controlling skin):
Code: Select all
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1
---Meters---
[Image]
Meter=Image
W=100
H=100
SolidColor=255,0,0,255
LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetWindowPosition "(#SCREENAREAX#+#SCREENAREAWIDTH#-#CURRENTCONFIGX#)R" "(#CURRENTCONFIGY#)" "(#CURRENTCONFIGWIDTH#)R" "0" "Test2"]
RightMouseUpAction=[!SetWindowPosition "(#CURRENTCONFIGX#)" "(#CURRENTCONFIGY#)" "0" "0" "Test2"]
DynamicVariables=1
Code: Select all
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1
---Meters---
[String]
Meter=String
W=300
H=300
FontFace=Segoe UI
FontSize=11
FontColor=255,255,255,255
Text=SetAnchor test
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1
MouseScrollUpAction=[!SetOption String W ([String:W]+20)][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
MouseScrollDownAction=[!SetOption String W ([String:W]-20)][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
DynamicVariables=1
[Click]
Meter=Shape
X=([String:XW]-[Click:W])
Y=0
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,40,40,0 | Fill Color 0,200,0 | StrokeWidth 0
LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetWindowPosition "(#SCREENAREAX#+#SCREENAREAWIDTH#-#CURRENTCONFIGX#)R" "(#CURRENTCONFIGY#)" "(#CURRENTCONFIGWIDTH#)R" "0"]
RightMouseUpAction=[!SetWindowPosition "(#CURRENTCONFIGX#)" "(#CURRENTCONFIGY#)" "0" "0"]
DynamicVariables=1
P.S. Just realized that by inactive you meant unloaded skins. Yes, the controlling skin indeed doesn't seem to set the anchor on the controlled skin when the latter is unloaded. Did that really happen in previous Rainmeter versions? And is that supposed to happen since the target / controlled skin is unloaded in the first place?
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 16506
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: [Bug] !SetAnchor bang doesnt work to set anchor of inactive skins
Too vague explanation. What do you mean by "inactive skin"? I assume a not focused skin, right? But if you do, can't replicate the issue. I tried:Cariboudjan wrote: ↑August 19th, 2024, 1:31 pm I'm fairly certain this was not a limitation in prior releases.
- Setting the anchor of the current skin, using a !SetAnchor bang, delayed by a number of seconds (LeftMouseUpAction=[!Delay "5000"][!SetAnchor "100" "100"]). I unfocused the skin, clicking both, other skins and not-Rainmeter windows, in the delaying 5 seconds.
- Setting the anchor of a skin, from another skin.
What is the issue with the !SetWindowPosition?
-
- Posts: 278
- Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am
Re: [Bug] !SetAnchor bang doesnt work to set anchor of inactive skins
An unloaded skin.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 16506
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: [Bug] !SetAnchor bang doesnt work to set anchor of inactive skins
What do you mean by this, because I can't realize?
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 8052
- Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
- Location: Terra Yincognita
Re: [Bug] !SetAnchor bang doesnt work to set anchor of inactive skins
A reply earlier, you asked what does he mean by an inactive skin. Now, Cariboudjan responded to your question, that he meant an unloaded skin.
So, you can test !SetAnchor and / or !SetWindowPosition on an unloaded skin, if you want. Me, I already did that for the latter, and it didn't work, most likely because being unloaded, such a skin does not exist as a window in order to send the bang to it, if by any chance that is done through window messages. The only thing such a bang can do in this situation, if some effect is really desired, would be to write the anchor or skin window position to the current Rainmeter.ini file. It's possible that Cariboudjan referred to this when expecting a result from these bangs - just guessing here.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 16506
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: [Bug] !SetAnchor bang doesnt work to set anchor of inactive skins
Alright, makes sense this way, just couldn't get that he replied to an earlier question. Quoting would have been nice in such cases, to let us know which question have been answered. My guess, at least...Yincognito wrote: ↑August 22nd, 2024, 2:24 pm A reply earlier, you asked what does he mean by an inactive skin. Now, Cariboudjan responded to your question, that he meant an unloaded skin.
On an unloaded skin / config, it's absolutely normal to get an error message. No question about this.Yincognito wrote: ↑August 22nd, 2024, 2:24 pm So, you can test !SetAnchor and / or !SetWindowPosition on an unloaded skin, if you want. Me, I already did that for the latter, and it didn't work, most likely because being unloaded, such a skin does not exist as a window in order to send the bang to it, if by any chance that is done through window messages. The only thing such a bang can do in this situation, if some effect is really desired, would be to write the anchor or skin window position to the current Rainmeter.ini file. It's possible that Cariboudjan referred to this when expecting a result from these bangs - just guessing here.