It is currently April 27th, 2024, 5:27 pm

Getting ImageName not to append file extension

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
SightSpirit

Getting ImageName not to append file extension

Post by SightSpirit »

Hey, Rainmeter community! I am new to Rainmeter, even though I've been eyeing it for the better part of a decade. :confused: Please forgive me if I am missing something obvious here.

I am in the midst of modifying some existing CAD skins to display NowPlaying data from my Jellyfin server. I am using mistic100's NowPlayingJellyfin plugin, which seems to be working overall. Said plugin does not currently support media controls, so that's been a bummer, but in the meantime, what I am struggling with is getting the album art to display. According to the logs, the Image meter is failing to fetch the image from my server, and the culprit appears to be the fact that it always tacks on ".png" at the end of the request URL, while the valid URL should not include a file extension at all. I looked at the meter's official documentation and learned that this is normal behavior. Unfortunately, while said documentation explicitly mentions an exception for the undesired file extension, it stops short of offering any solutions or workarounds.

I have tried using %N syntax without ".png", but that either still passes in the file extension or doesn't even parse at all. I have also tried using both regular and regex substitution, each in the measure and in the meter, to no avail. These solutions result in identical errors in each of the skins I've modified.

Any ideas? I have navigated to the request URL without the file extension in a browser, and it works just fine, so I am 95% sure that that is the culprit.

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by SightSpirit on December 8th, 2023, 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage

Re: Getting ImageName not to append file extension

Post by Yincognito »