It is currently March 27th, 2023, 11:28 am

CPU usage of processes

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 15069
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

CPU usage of processes

Post by balala »

Another question I couldn't find the answer to, so here I am again.
I have more UsageMonitor plugin measures, which are returning the CPU usage of different processes:

Code: Select all

[MeasureHighestCPU1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Alias=CPU
Index=1
Blacklist=_Total|Idle|Memory Compression

[MeasureHighestCPU2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Alias=CPU
Index=2
Blacklist=_Total|Idle|Memory Compression 

...
Recently I had access to a system running Windows 11. I found that what the skin using the above measures is showing is extremely different from what I can see in Windows 's Task Manager. Some smaller differences were on Windows 10 as well (which I'm using currently), however on Windows 11 the differences seem to be much higher.
My question is if anyone knows a way on how the values reported by the skin can be done to match the values shown in the Task Manager. My question is related to both systems: Windows 10 and Windows 11.
Thanks in advance to anyone having a good idea (or even better, a solution).
User avatar
xenium
Posts: 755
Joined: January 4th, 2018, 9:52 pm

Re: CPU usage of processes

Post by xenium »

balala wrote: March 14th, 2023, 6:33 pm Another question I couldn't find the answer to, so here I am again.
I have more UsageMonitor plugin measures, which are returning the CPU usage of different processes:

Code: Select all

[MeasureHighestCPU1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Alias=CPU
Index=1
Blacklist=_Total|Idle|Memory Compression

[MeasureHighestCPU2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Alias=CPU
Index=2
Blacklist=_Total|Idle|Memory Compression 

...
Recently I had access to a system running Windows 11. I found that what the skin using the above measures is showing is extremely different from what I can see in Windows 's Task Manager. Some smaller differences were on Windows 10 as well (which I'm using currently), however on Windows 11 the differences seem to be much higher.
My question is if anyone knows a way on how the values reported by the skin can be done to match the values shown in the Task Manager. My question is related to both systems: Windows 10 and Windows 11.
Thanks in advance to anyone having a good idea (or even better, a solution).
See this post by SilverAzide:
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?p=211479&sid=a3d8051a495e2e334c68648a9605329e&hilit=quote+enclose+option#p211479
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2315
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: CPU usage of processes

Post by SilverAzide »

balala wrote: March 14th, 2023, 6:33 pm Another question I couldn't find the answer to, so here I am again.
I have more UsageMonitor plugin measures, which are returning the CPU usage of different processes:

Recently I had access to a system running Windows 11. I found that what the skin using the above measures is showing is extremely different from what I can see in Windows 's Task Manager. Some smaller differences were on Windows 10 as well (which I'm using currently), however on Windows 11 the differences seem to be much higher.
My question is if anyone knows a way on how the values reported by the skin can be done to match the values shown in the Task Manager. My question is related to both systems: Windows 10 and Windows 11.
Thanks in advance to anyone having a good idea (or even better, a solution).
This is known behavior. It actually changed in Win 11 22H2; it was OK in earlier versions of Windows 11. I've posted about this extensively:

New computer on intel 13th gen W11 (CPU Usage is wrong)
[Bug] Skins show lower than actual CPU Usage in Windows 11 22H2

In summary, the old CPU measure and the UsageMonitor with the CPU alias no longer work as they used to. You will need to change any of these measures as mentioned in my posts to use the utility-based counters instead of time-based counters.

The bad news is that -- so far -- there is no way I know of to fix the "top process" type measures because these are all based on CPU time, not CPU utility. As a result, the measures return data that is not the same as what you saw before.

Welcome to Windows 11! :x
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2315
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: CPU usage of processes

Post by SilverAzide »

D'oh! You beat me to it! LOL
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 15069
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: CPU usage of processes

Post by balala »

SilverAzide wrote: March 14th, 2023, 7:55 pm This is known behavior. It actually changed in Win 11 22H2; it was OK in earlier versions of Windows 11. I've posted about this extensively:

New computer on intel 13th gen W11 (CPU Usage is wrong)
[Bug] Skins show lower than actual CPU Usage in Windows 11 22H2
I see. Good to know. Thank you both for the replies and for the links. Will have to study them a little bit closer.
SilverAzide wrote: March 14th, 2023, 7:55 pm In summary, the old CPU measure and the UsageMonitor with the CPU alias no longer work as they used to. You will need to change any of these measures as mentioned in my posts to use the utility-based counters instead of time-based counters.

The bad news is that -- so far -- there is no way I know of to fix the "top process" type measures because these are all based on CPU time, not CPU utility. As a result, the measures return data that is not the same as what you saw before.
Too bad! Damn MS...
SilverAzide wrote: March 14th, 2023, 7:55 pm Welcome to Windows 11! :x
I'm not yet on Win 11, just as said, had access recently to one. But for now, me personally will no be there too soon. However once will be needed to switch, I think...
User avatar
CodeCode
Posts: 1154
Joined: September 7th, 2020, 2:24 pm
Location: QLD, Australia

Re: CPU usage of processes

Post by CodeCode »

balala wrote: March 14th, 2023, 8:10 pm ...Damn MS...

I'm not yet on Win 11, just as said, had access recently to one. But for now, me personally will no be there too soon. However once will be needed to switch, I think...
No doubt the actual real need to change will likely be longer than the prospective release of Windows 12. --- we hope --- :confused:
ƈǟռ'ȶ ʄɨӼ ɨȶ ɨʄ ɨȶ ǟɨռ'ȶ ɮʀօӄɛ - ʊռʟɛֆֆ ɨȶ ɨֆ ɨռ ƈօɖɛ.
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4905
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: CPU usage of processes

Post by Yincognito »

Hey there - greetings from the wonderful, bug free, stable world of Windows ... 10! 8-)
As somebody who always waits around 4 years until switching to a MS product, I can safely say: "I told you so..." :twisted:
That's what you get for wanting round corners and all kinds of fancy TPM. :???:
Windows 7 will be like: wink, wink! Oh, the good ol' days...
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt Profile ◆ Suites: MYiniMeter ◆ Skins: Earth